We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Views and Location”
Review of Hilton Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Budapest
Ranked #18 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views and Location”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This hotel is located next to St. Matthias Church. The view from the huge picture window was spectacular! Our room overlooked Fishermen's Bastion and beyond deep into the Pest section of town across the river. The room itself was large and well equipped. Hotel staff were friendly - although the Concierge seemed a bit irritated when we had him sell us tickets for the "Hop On Hop Off" bus. We checked out of the hotel at 5am due to an early morning flight. Since we left before breakfast was served; the hotel prepared 'breakfast bags' with fruit, water, sandwiches, and pastries for the road - very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Fishermen's Bastion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gnarly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to let us know you had a fantastic visit to our hotel recently. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your comfortable bedroom and stunning views to the Fishermen's Bastion and the Pest side of the city.
Glad you found the breakfast box a nice guesture and our personnel friendly. I really appreciate your attention to the Concierge and I will use this information to improve the overall experience for our guests.

Thanks again and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,764
    979
    214
    53
    23
See reviews for
476
1,867
197
771
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,056)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I was in this hotel for a working meeting last May. The hotel is well placed in the midle of the old Buda district and you can acces to Pest easily by public transport (bus No.14 pass every 10 min).The Danube view rooms have a wonderful vision of Budapest and are comfortable. The restaurant and room service is of high quality. Atention in the reception desk was good and helpful in contracting external services like a massage in the Gellert baths. Despite the hotel is a quite old-fashioned (70's style) all services are well maintained. Recommendable for a stay in this beautiful city.

Room Tip: Danube view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valfaro1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and review.

I am very pleased to read that you have had a great stay with us. Our Buda Castle location is perfectly suited for visiting our beautiful capital as you have mentioned, and I am happy to read that the service from our team members was also excellent.

Thank you very much once again, and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

My wife and recently stopped at the Hilton in Budapest. The hotel is very well placed on the castle district of Budapest, the Fisherman's Bastion, Castle and lovely churches being a short walk away. There are excellent views of the Danube and the Pest side of the river.
The room was large, clean, very quite and well equipped. Unfortunately it was also very dark, even in the middle of the day. It overlooked a small courtyard and the side of other buildings. The room definitely looked tired, the paintwork requiring redecoration and the furniture covered in marks and scratches.
Was a little surprised to find Adult pay to view TV and leaflets advertising adult services - I thought this was a family hotel?
We found the both reception and catering staff to be abrupt and unfriendly although the concierge and porters were both very helpful.
A good selection of food was available for breakfast.
There is currently extensive road works right outside the hotel and all around the local area - the cobblestones are being re-laid. We did think that this spoiled the appearance of the sites and forced the crowds of tourist into narrow pathways. (Yes we were warned about this - after we had paid for the holiday).

We expected a little more from the Hilton and will probably use a different hotel chain, the next time we travel abroad.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThatOne65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to share your recent experience.

I'm pleased to hear that you liked the location of the hotel and found the room large, clean and quiet. I also note, that you were satisfied with the variety of breakfast and found the concierge and porter team very helpful.
I've discussed the points you raised with the reception and catering team to make sure that they will be more attentive and alert of guest needs in the future.

I would also like to inform you that we offer a range of pay TV films - including but not limited to adult movies - for our guests. We don't have any flyers promoting adult channels in the guest rooms. We checked the rooms and realized that the Where Magazin (a monthly published English speaking guide of the city) contains a night life part and you may have read that content.

I apologize if the public road works around the hotel spoiled the appearence of the area. We have a confirmation that works will finish soon and the area is getting nicer and nicer every day. I would like to assure you that we informed our partners and guests in advance and regret if this information was provided to you too late.

Hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,
Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is where you need to be .... its all about location location location and the Hilton Budapest has it all wrapped up !
This amazing building, part of the original medieval castle has been built into the facade of the hotel and it is just beautiful.
You are literally steps away from Fisherman's Bastion, Buda Castle, Matthias Church and the warren of streets which cover Buda Hill and which hold so much to see and do,
The 16 bus will take you down the hill to the old Moscow Square transport hub where you can hop on the metro or tram or bus to continue your adventure through this beautiful City .....

Room Tip: If you can book a room with a view of the Danube looking over the the Parliament Building ... breath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluelady60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review and sharing your positive feedback on Tripadvisor.
I am very happy to read that our UNESCO World Heritage Castle Hill location, the matchless view to nearby tourist attractions have been so impressive.
Thank you very much once again, and if you plan a return, we would love to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights after finishing our Avalon river cruise. The location says it all. We lucked out with a river view room and even though the weather was not the best, it did not detract from our enjoyment of the hotel and the city. This area is very walkable and very interesting, with many historic locations and many shopping and dining opportunities. There was a significant amount of street reconstruction going on but that only means improved accessibility down the road! The prices are generally higher in this area than on the Pest side, but public transport is easy and affordable. (Be sure to validate your ticket when you get on the bus or tram.)
As far as the hotel goes, the rooms were large, the beds were comfortable and the breakfast buffet was great. We would have used a swimming pool or hot tub if there had been one.

Room Tip: Views from the river side are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertaCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review.


I am very pleased to read that you have had such a great time and it has been a wonderful end to your holiday. You have specifically mentioned our beautiful location, the comfortable rooms and the great breakfast you had. I will be sure to advise the team of how much you have enjoyed your stay,

Thank you very much once again, and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is a great hotel based in the castle district. It is quite busy daytime with lots of tourists visting the attractions in this area of the city but at evening it really is peaceful perfect for a stroll after dinner and to admire the view of the city by night from the Fisherman 's Bastion
An excellent place for a breakfast/coffee is the Coffee shop above the CBA grocery store on the opposite side of the square by the bus stop. For a great meal try the Cafe Miro just five minutes walk from the hotel, great food and service also free wifi here.
Just two wee moans free wifi is only available in the public places of the hotel and do not go into the bar directly opposite the hotel Fortuna Passage, the beer is terrible and it cost us 3300HF for two small beers nearly £10GBP !!!!
You must visit St Matthias Church next to the hotel best time is soon as they open 09.00am !!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 450 which overlooks the square , although there is building work going in at the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review.

I am very happy to read that you have had a fabulous stay with us, and that you were impressed with your stay overall. It sounds our location in Buda Castle district perfectly suited to your needs.
Thank you very much once again and when you plan a return visit to Budapest, we would be more than happy to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited Budapest recently and stayed at yhe Hilton. What a wonderful hotel. The staff took excellent care of us and our room overlooking the Danube was the highlight of our trip. Loved this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Carol V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with other Travelers. Let me start by saying that we are truly touched by your five star review! It’s great that you and you husband had a memorable stay and we are happy that our attentive staff made you feel taken care of during your stay.

We hope that we will get a chance to welcome you back one day to Hilton Budapest.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#19 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,965 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#28 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,255 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,642 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest

Property: Hilton Budapest
Address: Hess Andras ter 1-3., Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#14 Family Hotel in Budapest
#15 Business Hotel in Budapest
#16 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing