We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent Hotel!”
Review of Hilton Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Budapest
Ranked #16 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This hotel is amazing and in a beatiful area.We had a magnificent view from our room.Hotel staff was friendly with good english and every request was looked after straight away.Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Lukas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and review.

I am most pleased to read that you have had such a great time here with us, both in relation to the level of customer service you experienced as well as to our uniquely beautiful location, Thank you very much once again, and before you plan your return visit to us, please e-mail to reservations.budapest@hilton.com, we will be happy to assist you.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,343 - 2,349 of 4,436 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

I stayed in Hilton Budapest 5 nights and I only have great memories related to this vacation. Everything was perfect and I was served on a very high level. This property is definitely one of those I would recommend anyone anytime. I can't find something I would emphasis more since everything was really great;location, breakfast staff, front office staff, room service, concierge (very useful and helpful answers to all my questions). Excellent hotel on perfect location with extremely professional STAFF in the nice town such as Budapest.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antony727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.
It sounds like you really made the right decision coming to stay with us. I am very happy that your vacation was most enjoyable here at the Hilton Budapest and that we were able to be part of your memorable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed at the Hilton on a city break with three friends. This a wonderful location with views to die for - we were on the end on the hotel near St Mattyas church so could see the Danube & the beautiful church roof from our room. But the view came at a price. The church bells are rung every morning at 7am so forget the lie-in. On Sundays there are extra bells calling the good people of Budapest to mass. Other than this location in the heart of the Castle district was ideal. We used the 2 day Budapest card and got great value for it as we visited several free museums, got discounts in others and used the public transport system extensively. 2 of the party tried out the free spa bath entry on the pass (Lukacs) while the others preferred to sample one of the more historic ones (Rudas). We all went to the famed Gellert spa also which was the high point. Also thoroughly enjoyed the Hospital in the Rock which a short walk from the hotel which has a fascinating tour and gives a great overview of Hungary's history since World War 1.

The hotel breakfast was excellent with just about everything you could want on the hot & cold buffet and the option of freshly prepared eggs, omelettes, pancakes, waffles & French toast. They only lose a star for rather flustered trainee waitress on Sunday morning who started like a rabbit caught in the headlights every time asked her for something and could have done with a little more customer service training. That and the fact that we just could not reduce the heat in the room to a manageable level. This might have been to do with the unseasonably mild weather for early Jan but it was a little inconvenient in what was otherwise an excellent stay.

The 16 bus goes right past the door every 3-5 minutes.

The staff in the tourist information office just beyond the church could not have been more helpful & friendly. But then virtually every Hungarian we met along the way was similarly welcoming.

A great spot for a city break.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank TravellingKIttyIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to hear that your experience has exceeded your expectations, both in regards to the beautiful views from your guest room and our unique location in Buda Castle. As for the bells of the 700 hundred year old Church of Our Lady, better known as the Matthias Church, please allow me to explain that the historic bells are also of significant symbolic value to the Hungarians as they toll every day at noon to commemorate the victory of Christian Hungarian troops against the Ottoman invasion in 1456. Because of this it is part of the UNESCO world heritage, and the Church is considered one of the most important shrines for Catholic Hungarians.

I have made sure to advise the technical team of your feedback about the room temperature, as well as our restaurant manager of your constructive comments about the service during your breakfast. Thank you for your feedback, we will place the training of our young trainees and apprentices even more in focus.

All in all, we are very pleased that you have had such a great stay.
I hope we may have the pleasure soon to welcome you back to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,


Zoltán Árvai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

High standards evident at this hotel. I liked how the bathroom was set off from the room by the wardrobe creating a feeling of being in a larger place. It's in a fantastic location, just a skip from the castle with amazing views. We used the 3 day public transport ticket and it was easy to use the bus to get to the other side of the river as well as the tram to the Gillert Spa. The staff had a high level of service and met our needs. I did however feel that Wi-Fi access should have been included in the rooms at no extra cost especially at the price of these rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and review.

I am so happy to read that our team has been accommodating during your stay, and that the service throughout was first class. You have made special mention of the comfort of your room, and the nice location of our hotel, thank you for your kind words.

Regarding wifi service in our hotel, we need to meet the Hilton Brand Standard requirements.
Wifi is provided free of charge in all public areas (Lobby, Business Center, F&B outlets) of our hotel, including the Executive Club Lounge and all Guest rooms on the Executive Floor. Follwing a massive system development we have been able to decrease the fee of wifi connection recently with almost 50%.

Thank you very much once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to us soon.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

What can I say? Beautiful hotel, amazing location, staff brilliant, breakfast v good and views stunning. We were also upgraded to an executive suite which gave us access to the exec lounge ooh lovely! The stAff cannot do enough for you here. If you want a romantic scene then stay here on the buda side, if you are on a lads or girly holiday then stay on the pest side. Lovely walk to the pest side but suggest getting a cab back as long walk up hill prob 25 mins.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claudine305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

I am so pleased to read that you have had such an enjoyable stay here with us.
It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests that you have had such an excellent stay, and I am most happy that everything has gone so well starting from your upgrade to the Executive floor to the attentive customer service.

When you plan a return, please contact us at reservations.budapest@hilton.com and we will make sure that your next stay is as positive as this one.

Thank you very much once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I stayed here over a month ago with a small group of friends. The area is amazing, great views from around the Hotel. The Hotel over all was great, decor is slightly dated. However, i thought this suited the hotel. Staff wise front of house staff and restaurant staff were friendly and were on hand easily for any questions. The room was clean, nice size,no complaints. Overall my experience was a pleasant stay. The only thing that lets the hotel down is having no free Wi Fi in the rooms. In my opinion this is a tad greedy in this day and age to charge for this service.

Room Tip: Top Tip : views from the area are amazing. Get up early before the tourists arrive and experience th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paolo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

I am pleased to hear that you have had a wonderful stay here with us at the Hilton Budapest. It sounds like the stunning location and the comfort of your room were particularly to your satisfaction.

I appreciate your feedback regarding the wi-fi service, which I will forward to our owning company for further review. However, please allow me to let Tripadvisor Community know that
in accordance with the Hilton Brand standard, we provide free wi-fi service in the public areas of the hotel as well as on the Executive floor. Following a massive system development we could decrease our fees with almost 50% percent in all other areas.

I am glad that you liked our hotel and trust that we may welcome you back very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We just spent 3 wonderful days in Budapest staying in the Hilton Castle District Hotel. The setting
and view from this hotel are incredible and walking around the Castle Hill area is enjoyable.
Public transportation from this hotel is easy if you purchase the 24, 48 or 72 hour pass from the Post office near the hotel which gives you unlimited access to the bus, metro and tram system. Bus 16 takes you to downtown (Pest side) and returns back up near the Hilton. From downtown you can catch the Red, Yellow, or Blue metro. The Yellow, above ground Tram, is also available. Finding a map of the transportation system is difficult so print a colored map before you arrive . We enjoyed the Parliament building tour, Opera House tour, Saint Stephens Church, St Matthias Church and the Public Market. A must is a bowl of delicious Hungarian soup!
The Hotel staff was gracious upon arrival however, they rarely engaged simple service curtsies that so easily greet and make guests feel genuinely welcomed. The executive lounge staff was pretty much detached from any contact/conversation with guests which surprised us because we have had excellent experiences in Hilton executive lounges in Prague, Munich, Berlin, Dubrovnik, London, Paris, Seattle and Los Angeles.

We look forward to returning to Budapest in the future and hope the Hilton will live up to the great customer service we have experienced elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a great view! There is no swimming pool at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KRJUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

I am so pleased to read that our location was so to your liking after all.
Thank you so much for staying with us during your holiday and sharing your kind feedback on Tripadvisor.

You are definitely right, the Pest side of the city can be easily accessed from the Castle District by bus Nr 16 or Nr 16A, both of which stops almost in front of the hotel. The ride to the opposite side of the river (downtown of Pest) takes only ten minutes. Nevertheless, it is so soothing to return home to the tranquility and the safe neighbourhood of the Castle Hill from the hussle of the city.

I am sad to hear, however, that my team could have been more helpful during your stay. Thank you for your constructive comments in this regard, please be assured it will help us in a tremendous way to make it much better.

If you do plan a return in the future, please do reach out to us reservations.budapest@hilton.com, we will be more than happy to assist you further.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#29 of 336 in Budapest
3,567 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 336 in Budapest
5,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#19 of 336 in Budapest
7,621 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#33 of 336 in Budapest
3,173 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest

Address: Hess Andras ter 1, Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Budapest
#14 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#15 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#15 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $114 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing