We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat this location!”
Review of Hilton Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Budapest
Ranked #18 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Trenton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Can't beat this location!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The first time we visited Budapest, we stayed in one of the old spa hotels on the island, thinking that would be different. It was, but once we visited the Castle District, I knew this was the place. We returned to Hungary last year, with family in tow, and just loved staying here. It's on the edge of the Bastion, an architectural folly that's great fun, and just a stone's throw from St. Matthias and the museums and government buildings. Even the hotel food is quite good and the staff couldn't be more helpful. A winner!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cvb1793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to inform me and Tripadvisor readers about your recent stay.
It's great to hear that you loved the unique location of our hotel in the UNESCO World Heritage site.
I've forwarded your review to the team as well as you also detail your satisfaction about the service and the quality of the food.

Look forward to welcoming you back again.

Your sincerely,
Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,842
    992
    217
    54
    24
See reviews for
495
1,907
200
788
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,079)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Overall a very nice experience staying here. We visited for a long weekend along with the Hungarian Grand Prix.

Massive room. Location is nice, as long as you understand how far away it is from a lot of the stuff. Just do a bit of research first. If you don't mind a walk up the hill (and across the bridge), or getting a taxi, there's no problem at all and you get the benefits of a fantastic view.

Regarding the view, I've seen pretty much everyone say it's worth paying the extra 30 euros for a view of the river.... Yeah, kinda. There weren't any available when we stayed but in hindsight I don't think you really need it. You can walk along the wall of the Fisherman's Bastion right in front of the rooms and just look from there. As long as it's not raining, then I don't think you need to spend the extra - just get the view with some fresh air instead.

A couple of little issues. Our room smelled of smoke when we got there but they sorted that quickly. Other little gripes - the toilet dripped so we had to keep the bathroom door shut at night. Also the shower curtain smelled and needed a wash and the shower head wouldn't stay in place on the rail and kept sliding down. We sorted that by shoving a flannel under the showerhead behind the rail. Note for management, we stayed on the coridoor with the gym on, right at the end on the left, if you want to check this is fixed or not. All minor stuff but should be getting spotted by the cleaners, really.

One other general comment about higher quality hotels in general, not just Hilton.... I find it very frustrating that all high quality hotels still charge for internet in the rooms. I think we should have moved past this by now. Yes it is free in the lobby but I personally think when you get free internet in the rooms in nearly all cheap hotels, expensive hotels need to catch up and move out of the early 2000s when this was an acceptable practice.

I'd like to quickly mention that the staff were all very nice.

In general, we really liked Budapest and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: If it's nice weather you don't need to pay extra for the river view - view it from the Basti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeynesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Customer,

thank you for your review, I'm pleased to read that in general you liked our hotel and you enjoyed your time in our beautiful capital.

Thank you for mentioning the service of our team, I've passed your comments to them.

I do apologize for the inconvenience you suffered due to certain misfunctions in your bathroom. We will contact you in a separate message to obtain further details of your stay to be able to check which room you stayed.

Thank you again for your contact and for your valuable feedback as it enables us to make improvements of our service.

Yours sincerely,
Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here for two nights with a friend and we both agree it was the most amazing hotel! As soon as we arrived we were greeted by a friendly man on reception who was so helpful and answered all our questions and we were straight up to our room. The room was perfect, lovely bathroom and really comfy beds. The actual hotel itself is amazing, we spent ages walking round it and finding different places to sit. The bar was lovely to sit and have a drink in, amazing views over the river to the parliament. They do nice snacks in the bar area and the cocktails were lovely. Breakfast was really good, had pancakes freshly made for me and they were delicious!! It was an amazing stay, so much to do and see, and I will definitely return!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and your valuable feedback.

I am happy to hear that you were completely satisfied with your journey from check in to departure. It is good to know that we were able to exceed your expectation and make you feel at home.

I have mentioned your positive comments to our Food & Beverage team, sure you can imagine how thrilled they are.

Thank you very much once again for submitting your review. When you plan a return visit, please do reach out to us at reservations.budapest@hilton.com.


Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a four night stay at this excellent hotel on b&b basis. Room was very comfortable in this beautiful historic building. We enjoyed an excellent breakfast in the lovely restaurant with stunning views of the Danube river and Parliament building.The service of the staff was first class.

Room Tip: Rooms with view of Danube can be expensive instead enjoy view from restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boybilly06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Geust,

Thank you very much for your recent review.

I am so pleased to hear that you have had such a pleasant stay with us here at the HIlton Budapest. Your kind comments regarding our services have been forwarded to the appropriate management. They are happy to hear that you have felt taken care of during your whole stay.

Thank you very much once again for your feedback, and if you do plan a future stay with us please do contact reservations.budapest@hilton.com for assistance.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Was taken here for my 50th Birthday and all I can say was Wow!
The hotel is in a fantastic location. It is skilfully incorporated into the remains of an old Seminary (Priests Training College) the integration of the old and new is just perfect. There isn't an aspect of this hotel I could find fault with. Everything a out it was, as you might expect first rate.

If you can get a good deal to stay here all the better. Would return here tomorrow.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bosco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a great honour for us to hear you had a memorable stay with us on the occasion of your 50th birhtday. We appreciate your kind comments and your time taken to share your valuable review with Tripadvisor Community.

It is good to hear you are impressed by our location making this Hilton hotel one of the most unique one in the world. On behalf of my team I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel during your next visit in Budapest.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel in February 2013. As soon as we arrived at the hotel, we were welcomed by the hotels excellent staff at reception who couldn't do enough for us. We had booked a room with a river view, but the view from our room was just amazing - overlooking the bastion, the river and the parliament building. Due to the time of year, it was snowing heavily so the view from our window looked like it was from a fairytale. The rooms were very comfortable and there was no noise at night whatsoever. The restaurant where you were served breakfast was lovely also overlooking the river. The breakfast was amazing, there was such a large selection and the staff were on hand to cater to your every need.

The location of the hotel is beautiful overlooking Pest in the Castle District. The hotel is also built around the ruins of a old church, which makes the hotel very unique. The surrounding streets are lovely, with a few restaurants and shops nearby. In the evening the area was quite deserted and there wasn't loads of restaurants to choose from but this may have been due to the time of year we decided to visit Budapest. The hotel organised our transfer to the airport on our departure and we were extremely pleased with the chauffeur that arrived. I would highly recommend staying at the Hilton as this hotel is just beautiful and we would definitely stay here again if we ever return to Budapest.

Room Tip: A river view room is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank destinys32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is an honour to read your valuable review, I am really grateful for your stay and time taken to share your feedback with Tripadvisor Community.

I am very glad to hear that in spite of the snowy weather you had such and enjoyable stay with us. It is good to learn that you were so impressed by our unique architecture just as well Buda Castle District, which is part of the UNESCO World Heritage.
You are certainly right, this is the place to be to enjoy matchless panoramic views and outstanding historic attractions in Budapest.

Thank you very much for your kind feedback regarding the breakfast service. Thank you very much again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in an executive room with the best view of the River Danube.
A truly brilliant stay with attention to detail.
The location is wonderful! Full of history and beautiful buildings.

Room Tip: Choose a river view - worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ESSINGTONBEAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very grateful for your wonderful comments and your recent stay with us.
I hope we may have the honour to welcome you back in the future.
If you need assistance, please reach out to us at reservations.budapest@hilton.com,
we will be happy to stay at your help.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 334 in Budapest
3,353 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#20 of 334 in Budapest
7,080 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest

Property: Hilton Budapest
Address: Hess Andras ter 1-3., Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Budapest
#14 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#15 Business Hotel in Budapest
#16 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing