We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best view in Buda!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Budapest
Ranked #19 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Roma
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best view in Buda!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Hilton Budapest offers the best view on Pest ever. The hotel is in a very good position for who loves the history and the ancient palace. Rooms are very spacius and sa like any other Hilton I've been they are very friendly and helpfull. On the map can seems that is difficult from that Hilton to reach Pest with nightlife but, taxis are very cheap and during the day there is a bus that you can use to move from the top of the hill to the bottom (and viceversa). The only thing that I didn't like was that the casino and also the restaurant on the roof are now closed.

Room Tip: Ask for a City view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolasei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your feedback. We are glad that in general you were happy with your experience with us.

We are sorry to hear that you felt let down because of the lack of any casinos in the hotel, however, we would really like to take the opportunity to welcome you back to Hilton Budapest. Please contact us and we will make sure that you are looked after.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,713
    971
    214
    51
    23
See reviews for
472
1,835
197
762
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,042)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
305 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Budapest with a two night reservation at this hotel. When I emailed ahead asking for arrangements to be met at the airport, I was also offered a chance to upgrade to the exec floor and boy am I glad I did! We had a perfect view over Fisherman's Bastion of the Parliament ... And unfortunately the flood. This was completely worth the cost. Our king bed was a Real King bed rather than a split double so popular in Europe. The lounge downstairs was comfortable. The Exec Lounge on the 3rd floor offered exemplary service most of the day. And, Ikon, the restaurant provided a high end experience. Most people here speak great English and have great smiles and attitudes. I would stay here again and again. Thanks to Viking River Cruises for pointing us here!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DLemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review.

I am most pleased to hear that you have found your room comfortabe and our location unique.
It is good to know that in spite of the vis major caused by the unfortunate flooding in Central Europe your vacation turned out to be a terrific experience.
I have shared your praising with our Executive Club Lounge personnel, and I must tell you that our team was very happy to have been mantioned by name in your fantastic feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My mother and I stayed at the Executive Floor of the Hilton Budapest for a week in early May, and would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel for a stay in Budapest. You can't beat the location in the gorgeous historic Castle District next to the Mathias Church and the Fisherman's Bastion, far from the hustle and bustle of Pest. Yet it is an easy commute to downtown on the Pest side by regular bus so you don't feel isolated.
The hotel's decor is a bit dated but very well kept and I find it charmingly old fashioned. We stayed in a loft suite which was large, lovely and very comfortable. We didn't have "the view" (of the Danube and the Parliament) which may be worth it if is your first time in Budapest, but you can enjoy it from the lounge. Which was one of the best parts of the stay and well worth the cost.
There is a nice breakfast spread, coffee and snacks in the afternoon and a great evening service of hot and cold dishes with a good selection of wines and spirits. The service throughout the hotel was outstanding but I want to especially mention the great staff in the lounge. The young ladies at the concierge were all very helpful and professional, and one of the waiters, Tibor was one of the best waiters I have ever had the pleasure of encountering. Polite, friendly and very attentive, he made us truly welcome, the Hilton is lucky to have such great staff.
Bottom line, there are flashier and newer hotels in Budapest, but this is where we will be staying next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBR85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am happy to hear that you have had such a pleasant stay with us. I am glad that you have been able to experience the level of service and customer care that we pride ourselves on providing to our valued guests. Thank you for your great feedback regarding the professional attitude of our Executieve Club Lounge team, the comfort of your room just as well the stunning view of the city from our hotel.

Going forward, when you plan a return visit to us at the Hilton Budapest, please do contact us either at reservations.budapest@hilton.com, or you can reach me directly at zoltan.arvai@hilton.com.

Thank you very much once again, and I look forward to having you with us again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
235 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. I have to say that we were there courtesy of Viking Tours because our river cruise between Amsterdam and Budapest became a bus and hotel tour due to the flooding on the Rhine and Danube so I did not pay for our stay.

The hotel is located on Castle Hill on the Buda side of the Danube and is built on the remnants of a 12th century monastery that fell into disrepair over time. Parts of the old structures were integrated into the design of the new hotel so it's quite an amazing building.

The area is quiet at night but the view from the hill is one of the main tourist attractions of Budapest so there are plenty of people around during the day.

From our fourth floor room we had what can only be described as a spectacular view overlooking the Danube to the Pest side of the river more or less opposite the Parliament Building. The room itself was large and well furnished with all the trappings you would expect from a Hilton. My only complaint is that the room was very warm and the air conditioning was not very effective.

Breakfast was up to normal Hilton standards with the addition of quite a few Hungarian extras.

Wi-Fi was available in the room at a reasonable charge but free in the lobby area.

All the staff that we encountered were friendly and efficient.

If you are visiting Budapest and want to have the best view in the city then this is the place to be.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with a view over the Danube.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NSMKMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is an honour to read your valuable review, I am really grateful for your stay and time taken to share your feedback with Tripadvisor Community.

I am very glad to hear that in spite of the unfortunate flooding in Central Europe you had such and enjoyable stay with us. It is good to learn that you were so impressed by our unique architecture just as well Buda Castle District, which is part of the UNESCO World Heritage.
You are certainly right, this is the place to be to enjoy matchless panoramic views and outstanding historic attractions in Budapest.

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback regarding the air-conditioning. During our regular maintainance we will make sure to check the system in every guest room.

Thank you very much again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Mananger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Though not luxurious, nevertheless a really pleasant place to stay. Everything was very clean and the staff was extremely accommodating. Hilton is one of the chains I look for when traveling in the US and I was not surprised to find the same excellent quality and cleanliness here in Budapest. Also, very important, the location not only was great but very convenient to just about everything. We stayed only overnight because we had a river cruise scheduled to start the next day but would have been entirely satisfied to stay longer if it were necessary. I highly recommend the Hilton in Budapest.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Virginia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is an honour to read your valuable review, I am really grateful for your stay and time taken to share your feedback with Tripadvisor Community.

I am very glad to hear that in spite of the unfortunate flooding in Central Europe you had such and enjoyable stay with us. It is good to learn that you were so pleased with the cleanliness of our property just like the professional attitude of our personnel. Exactly, this is the level of service we strive ourselves to provide to our valued custormers.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Mananger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Recently two delightful nights after our river cruise was cut short due to the fooding Danube.

The room was spacious, well equipped, comfortable and quiet.

Breakfasts were ample.

The only downside would be that WiFi was a charge and not complimentary although one could go to the main floor to get courtesy access.

Thank you Hilton.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very happy to read that you have had an enjoyable stay here with us at the Hilton Budapest. I am so pleased that in spite of the vis major caused by Mother Nature modifiying your travel purpose you had such a memorable time with us.
I kindly inform you that wi-fi is provided complimentary in all public areas of the hotel including the Executive floor rooms and our Club Lounge.

Thank you again for your valuable review and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Mananger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, TX
Level Contributor
182 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We were forced to cancel our river cruise due to the flooding in Central Europe. While we were disappointed, our "room with a view" made up for it. Incredible breakfast, impeccable service, quiet nights. We plan to stay here again!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WildmanWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very happy to read that you have had an enjoyable stay here with us at the Hilton Budapest. I am so pleased that in spite of the vis major caused by Mother Nature you had such a memorable time with us.
Thank you again for your valuable review and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Mananger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#18 of 342 in Budapest
6,880 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
4,588 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#24 of 342 in Budapest
3,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest

Property: Hilton Budapest
Address: Hess Andras ter 1-3., Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#14 Family Hotel in Budapest
#15 Business Hotel in Budapest
#17 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing