We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeds expectations in every dimension” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hilton Budapest
Ranked #19 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas, United States
2 reviews
“Exceeds expectations in every dimension”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

My wife, daughter and i booked a double, double room at the Hilton which was spacious, well appointed with every detail nculuding a 110V US outlet. We stayed on the executive floor and had cess to the executive lounge. the staff was curteous, helpful and ginuinably interested in helping us enjoy their beautiful city (particula;ary Tibor and George) cannot reccomend it more highly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and review.

I am most pleased to read that you have had such a great time here with us, both in relation to the level of customer service you experienced at our Executive Club Lounge as well as to our uniquely beautiful location.

Thank you very much for praising our team members, Tibor and George, both of them are outstanding professionals we are truly proud to work together with.

Thank you once again, and before you plan your return visit to us, please do e-mail either reservations.budapest@hilton.com, or myself directly at zoltan.arvai@hilton.com

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,673
    963
    212
    50
    21
See reviews for
464
1,807
193
755
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,028)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hod Hasharon, Israel
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed in the Hilton Budapest for two nights and I've enjoyed the excellent location and service the hotel had to give me.
First, the hotel is located in the heart of the castle district in Buda area. The view from the top of the mountain to the side of Pest is out of this world (like a bird in air). it can be seen also from some of the rooms (I didn't take it as it cost more) and the breakfast.
The Hotel is also situated in an old ruined church and the building just surround it very nicely.
The amenities in the room were very good and in line with the service quality of other Hilton hotels.
Breakfast was very rich and welcoming. The service at the registration was very good and all the staff had very good English.
One disadvantage of the hotel is the big parking ticket you need to pay and just with the local currency which is quite irritating.

Room Tip: If you want a view on the other side of the river you should ask for it explicitly. It cost more but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZusDud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your experience with me and other readers.

I'm glad to hear that you had an excellent stay and you were satisfied with the quality of service received.

There could be a confusion with parking as hotel offers good value for money parking in its garage and the fee can be charged to your hotel bill.
There is a fee for parking on the street which can be paid in local currency or in Euro at the parking machine

Thank you again for your time and feedback, we all look forward to welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,
Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Castle Area. Excellent room with lots of space. We were in the executive rooms and executive lounge was spacious with a view! Excellent service from all the friendly staff. We used staff to book tour and restaurants as well as taxi service. We were very pleased.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dabdabdab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and review.

I am glad to know that you enjoyed our hospitality on our Executive Floor. It seems that we have been able to impress you during this stay especially with the stunnig views and the professional attitude of our team.

Thank you very much once again for your kind words, and if you do plan a return visit please do contact us at reservations.budapest@hilton.com.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at this fine hotel in the '80's and returned last Summer (2012) to find the same quiet beauty and unique accomodations in the Hotel that is actually built into a old old Monastery of the 13th century and nestled on the grounds of Fisherman's Bastion high on Castle Buda Hill overlooking the Damube River. Breathtaking views if you request a Danube View Room, and also a lovely array of delicious food in the morning and afternoon in the Executive Lounge if you choose the Executive Room.
We did this - (not that much more expensive)and the view from our window was stunning and unforgetable. The ease of having breakfast at the Hotel,
and a quick refreshment in the afternoon there cannot be understated....it was so lovely to come back after all these years and find the same quality (albeit updated) of the room and service we so enjoyed then....truly easy on the pocketbook considering value for what is delivered.

Room Tip: RQ Danube View you won't be sorry....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wikiones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very proud to read that after almost tow decades our location was still so perfect for yourselves, and that you have spent a memorable vacation at our hotel.

Thank you very much once again, and if you do plan a return to Budapest again, please contact us either at reservations.budapest@hilton.com or myself directly at zoltan.arvai@hilton.com.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed 3 nights, weren't lucky enough to have a view over Danube just the cobbled streets, Hugh room, big bathroom, room equipped as would expect in a Hilton hotel.

Steps down to the window in the room very qurky!

Service second to none on 2 of the 3 days.

The view of Fisherman's bastion and the river with the Parliament building is spectacular whilst you eat your breakfast.

At second of our three breakfasts service wasn't as I would have expected, it was very very busy lots of tours in, but the waiter was abrupt and rude. i am sure it was because they had too many people down to breakfast!!


There are lots of restaurants to eat very close by.

Budapest is a lovely city and the Buda side is the best one, public transport makes it very easy to get around there is lots to do and see

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skellys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and your constructive feedback,

I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your second breakfast experience as the restaurant team seemed to have been overloaded.

You are definitely right, the occupancy of the hotel was almost full on that day, nevertheless,
we should always strive ourselves to exceed our guests' expectation.
I have been sure to mention this to our Food & Beverage team so that they may follow up accordingly.

Thank you very much once again for submitting your review. When you plan a return visit, please do reach out to me directly at zoltan.arvai@hilton.com.

Your sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed at Hilton Budapest, a hotel with a to die for location on the Buda side of the Danube ovelooking Pest. Rooms well appointed and spacious, cosy bed. Views across Danube from room and Exec lounge wonderful. I had the misfortune to come down with an attack of gout affecting my knee, rendering me immobile. The hotel staff were wonderful finding me crutches and medical advice as well as a wheelchair!!!! Turned a potential disaster into a v pleasant stay Recommend highly and will return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Frank O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

I trust you have recovered and you are doing well.

I am pleased to hear that you have had a wonderful stay here with us at the Hilton Budapest. It sounds like the stunning location and the comfort of your room were particularly to your satisfaction. I appreciate your kind comments regarding the professional attitude of our staff and I have forwarded your review to the appropriate members of the team.

Thank you very much once again for writing to us, and I look forward to having you with us again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We had a really great stay at this hotel. Location is amazing, so beautiful. Hotel common areas a little 'chain hotel like (ok as it is a chain hotel!) but lovely rooms. We had an amazing view, probably one of the best in all our years of traveling. The staff make this hotel. The concierge and reception staff were so helpful and pleasant.

We also did the private tour organised by the hotel which was really great.

Would 100% recommend this hotel. Suited our group which had all ages and tastes.

Room Tip: Our rooms was 524 and it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonFuninthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and words of appreciation, a great honour for our team to read. We are always very happy to find out we have managed to fullfill our guests expectations.
What we promise is to keep on working hard to make all other guests as pleased as you are.

I am also grateful for recommending our services to other tourists to stay with us. Thank you all again for your loyalty. Looking forward to your next visit with,

Best regards,

Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,546 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#23 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,173 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#17 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest

Property: Hilton Budapest
Address: Hess Andras ter 1-3., Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Budapest
#14 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#15 Business Hotel in Budapest
#17 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing