We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and views, impressive hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hilton Budapest
Ranked #19 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location and views, impressive hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Fantastic hotel. On arrival greeted by friendly and helpful staff. Given a room on the 6th floor, superb views. Room very comfortable with a superking bed. Lovely birthday cake waiting for my Husband.
Breakfast was superb, the choice amazing and the staff brilliant.
Lobby services, again, brilliant.
I expected high quality throughout my stay but the service provided was above my expectations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GotMyHandsFull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

This is an honour for us to read your valuable and inspiring comments about your recent stay with us.
Thank you for the ooportunity to be your host and make your stay a memorable experience.
I hope we may welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,680
    964
    213
    50
    21
See reviews for
465
1,813
194
755
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,031)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Set on the Buda (old) side of the Danube. Converted old monastery, that can be seen from the river. Smack in the centre of old town which a little more expensive to eat and drink, than Pest, we'll worth it for the environment. More conventuals old Eastern European.
Very romantic !!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clicelillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel as a venue of your romantic city break!
We are very proud to welcome our guests to the only Hilton hotel in the world, which is
located in a UNESCO world heritage site. Real historic and truly romantic.

I hope we may welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north england
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

There are 2 Hilton hotels in Budapest, be careful which one you book...this one in the Castle district is by far the best Hilton I've stayed in and far and away the most friendly - all staff we met were happy in their work, had tremendous pride in the hotel and were extremely professionally trained. The breakfast buffet was outstanding, rivalling pousadas and paradors.
Very good transport links to the centre of the city and plenty in the area if you wanted to stay out of the hurly burly, in a World Heritage area of great beauty and safety, with a large modern shopping centre which has English films showing only 10 minutes walk away and a Michelin starred rstaurant 8 minutes walk away.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a river view but if you can't afford it, accept what you've been offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynnmml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very grateful for sharing your wonderful review on TripAdvisor and telling other valued Readers about your great experience.
I am very glad to hear that our team members did their utmost to make you feel welcome and home during your holiday.
It seems that your were really impressed by our unique location and the selection of our buffet breakfast.

It would be an honour to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great views and location! Make sure you ask for a room overlooking the river! Very good choice of restaurants and you should go to the bar selling hot wine in the tower at Fisherman's Bastion if you are there when it is cold.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank you for staying at our hotel and sharing your positive feedback with other valued Travellers.
We are happy to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and you were impressed by the stunning views from your guest room.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

just back from a great weekend in Budapest with friends ,we stayed at the hilton ,in a fabulous position right next to the Fishermans Bastion with beautiful views of the city . so much to see and do there well worth a trip ., one city i would love to go back to .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at Hilton Budapest and sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.
We are happy to hear that your Budapest city break turned out to be a memorable experience. It is great to know that we could take the opportunity to be your host and make you feel welcome during your stay.

I hope we may welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modiin, Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had a wonderful company sales conference. The location is perfect, they have all the requirements of a large business meeting. Food is served always on time and at the right amount, always a heathy chioce as well.

Room Tip: Higher floors, great view of the Danube and Parliament
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zohar O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to host your conference at our hotel and welcome you among the guests.
Thank you for sharing with other Travellers that you were pleased with our serviceces.
I hope we may take the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,


Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I think its quite nice hotel, but I am not as impressed as everyone else here seems to be.
Rather I am wondering if this really is the best Budapest has to offer?

Its a very old hotel, certainly well kept and has its style. I can see that many would find this old classic style to be charming. Just dont expect a very modern hotel.

The riverview room offer a fantastic view. However the experience on the other side is less charming. And I found the noise isolation rather poor, so if you are a light sleeper like me and dont want to get up to early by aware of this.

The location is excellent, situated in heart of the old city, with downtown just 5-10 min taxi ride away.

The breakfast buffet is really good, allthough 30 euros is pricey.
What is also pricey is internet access, and on top of that the wifi reception was very poor in my room.

Paying nearly 9 euro for 0,75 liter water is simply outrageous. It should be forbidden by law to capitalize that much on very thirsty guest that would rather stay away from the tap water!

Room Tip: Riverview rooms offer fantastic view. I think the charge is about 30 euro extra in general. Rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donthomasino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I'm pleased to read that you liked the unqiue location and the selection of the buffet breakfast.
Yes this a traditional hotel focusing on good value and great customer experience.

I'd like to inform you and other readers as well that guests may book a bed & breakfast rate which offers good selection of breakfast for affordable price.

Please note that we will change our internet system very soon and will offer free public area WIFI and better prices.

Yours sincerely,
Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,550 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#22 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,178 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#17 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest

Property: Hilton Budapest
Address: Hess Andras ter 1-3., Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Budapest
#14 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#15 Business Hotel in Budapest
#17 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hilton EMEA so you can book your Hilton Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing