We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”
Review of Hilton Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Budapest
Ranked #17 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel is located on the Buda side in the historic castle district, next to the St.Matthias church and short walk from the castle. Excellent view from the rooms facing the river. Not the most convenient if one has business downtown in Pest but ideal if you are on vacation. Notwithstanding there is a frequent bus connection to the other side with a stop near the hotel. Numerous restaurants within short stroll. Try concierge floor with lounge access, great view.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBR85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for spending your vacation at our hotel, it seems you had a great stay,
I appreciate your time taken to submit your positive review, thank you very much for sharing your experience with other respective readers.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,850
    993
    217
    54
    24
See reviews for
497
1,912
200
790
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,081)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I chose this hotel because of its location, trip advisor review, and the simple fact that I like Hilton's.
I wasn't disappointed.

The location is indeed fantastic, and the view from my room was superb too.
It was a good sized room with a comfy bed and a bathroom that had a bath and a separate shower.

It was a quiet room too - a big plus point for me....

The staff were helpful & knowledgeable.

The area around the hotel is fantastic. There is plenty to see and do.
I ate at some lovely restaurants, rode the funicular railway, visited some museums, and did plenty of walking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Scot_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Customer,

thank you for your review, I'm pleased to hear that you liked our property and that you had the chance to explore the beauty of our capital.

I've taken the liberty to forward you comments to the team, so they can be aware of your experience as well.

Yours sincerely,
Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed overnight here prior to departing on a river cruise up to Nuremberg. At first we were concerned because it seemed to be very far from the shopping district and way atop the hill, but the walk to town was pleasant and only about 20 minutes. Maybe 30 minutes on the way back because it is all up hill. Our room overlooked the Danube and the view was fantastic. We couldn't have asked for better. There are restaurants and shops near the hotel too, but we found those shops quite expensive. Taking a cab down to the shopping district was only about US$10 but be aware that the Hilton owns it's own cabs. We were told that the Hilton cabs cost significantly more so we requested a City Taxi. Budapest Taxi is also cheaper than Hilton taxis.

Room Tip: We asked for a nice view and got an excellent one. Being there in off-season probably helped but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to inform me and other readers of your experience at our Hilton Budapest. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Would you please note that beside taking a taxi, there is also the opportunity to take a bus to get to the other part of the city. The stop is just one block away from the hotel.

We had contracted with one taxi company in order to provide our guests a consistent, reliable and quality experience (English speaking driver, clean, new Mercedes car).

One of the largest shopping mall is situated a comfortable 10 minute walk from us in case one finds the variaty of the nearby shops limited or too high.

Thank you again for your contact and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,
Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Spent four nights here in November. Was upgraded to a room on the sixth floor with the most amazing view of the Danube, parliament and fishermans bastion directly outside. The room was large and very comfortable, breakfast was lovely and the service at both dinner and generally was impeccable. All in all a wonderful stay and a great hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anders37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write review after your recent visit.

Thank you very much for your positive comments on this website, and sharing your wonderful experience with other Readers. I hope that we will be able to look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Budapest.
Thank you for staying with us.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Could not be better located to explore the major tourist sites and streets of Buda which by any standards are spectacular, especially at dusk as the floodlights light up the Castle, the Chain Bridge and the Parliament Building in Pest. Truly magical.
Bus service into Pest from outside hotel every few minutes until after 11 pm so hotel is not cut off from the more bustling Pest side but it is a wonderful walk across the Chain Bridge to gain a true impression of what a huge river the Danube is.
The hotel is spotless, the standard rooms a good size with excellent facilities. All staff we encountered were very friendly and could not do enough to help if you had a query.
Breakfast was as you would expect at a Hilton and the dinner menu is good with Hungarian dishes as well as standard fare. Would recommend this hotel without qualification

Room Tip: standard king bedrooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive comments on this website, I wanted to personally respond and thank you.

Your observations are appreciated. It is particularly pleasing to see that your impression of our staff and service was good and that you felt well taken care of during your stay.

I hope that we will be able to look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Budapest.
Thank you for staying with us.

Best regards,
Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Arriving at the hotel at the end of a Viking river cruise, our first impression was one of beauty. The building outside was obviously an older building that had been renovated and updated. Once inside, it only gets better. After we checked in, we went up to our room 416. We opened the door and were initially impressed with the size of the room, and then we looked out the very large picture window. Directly below the window was the Fisherman's Bastion, then the Danube, and then across the river the beautiful Parliament building. The hotel location is superb, and within easy walking distance are several great restaurants. We ate dinner one night at the 21 restaurant, a five minute walk away and had an outstanding meal with great service. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sk8teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for submitting review on this site.
I am glad to read that you were impressed by our location as well as the oomfort of your room.
It is good to hear also that you liked the picturesque view to the surrounding historic monuments of our city.
We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I had heard some great things about the Hilton in Budapest and was very dissapointed when i got the chance to experience for myself. I'm a diamond card holder with Hilton and got upgraded to the exec floor and was really surprised by the rooms as they are in a desperate need of a re-vamp. They are very large but with the furnitiure that they have in the room it just doesn't work. The bathrooms look really old with no seperate shower which i would have expected on the exec-floor. Breakfast was nothing to right home about either as it looked as if most of the cut fruit had been out for a while and i had to make my own coffee which i wouldn't expect in the exec-lounge

The only good thing that i have to say is the location as this is a massive plus point for the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMaddox1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post review on this website.
I am very sorry to learn that you were somewhat disappointed with your recent stay at our hotel and would apologize for the fact that you have not received a response to the issues you raised on departure.
We always endevour to offer the highest level of service and it appears that on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations. Your comments will of course be forwarded to the relevant management for their attention.
We do hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, we may have the opportunity to keep in contact with you and look into your complaint in more detail. Please do not hesitate to contact me in person, whenever I can stay at your disposal.

Best regards,
Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 334 in Budapest
3,357 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 334 in Budapest
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#20 of 334 in Budapest
7,096 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest

Property: Hilton Budapest
Address: Hess Andras ter 1-3., Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#14 Family Hotel in Budapest
#15 Business Hotel in Budapest
#15 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing