We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful introduction to Eastern Europe and to our Danube River cruise!”
Review of Hilton Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Budapest
Ranked #17 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Dennis Port, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a wonderful introduction to Eastern Europe and to our Danube River cruise!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

The Budapest Hilton Castle Hill was located in what is probably the most spectacular part of the hilly Buda side of the city - overlooking the Danube and the plains of the Pest side. The rooms were roomy and comfortable and the buffett brekfast was good. The service was very helpful, but a tad hard to understand directions to local retaurants; and we had to ask a few times for directions to an ATM and store for a converter. Turns out, we could have borrowed one from the business center. Location, location, location is great! We were able to explore a lot of the Castle District on our own, and truly enjoyed it!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaK4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing your positive comments with Trip Advisor Community and letting other valued readers know of your great experience.
We are happy to read that you had such a pleasant stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon to Hilton Budapest.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,850
    993
    217
    54
    24
See reviews for
497
1,912
200
790
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,081)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The Hilton Budapest is in the castle district. If you're not sure what that is, do some research and you will find that it's in the middle of the Buda side on the top of the hill overlooking the Danube. It's a spectacular sight. The hotel itself, like you will read, is a bit on the old side. However, I do not view this as a negative, instead, to me it is what gives this hotel its charm.

What I like:
Location. It's a great base for exploring Budapest. You have many sights and attractions within walking distance. The streets are not crowded with cars and there are many food options.
Cleanliness. This is a nice, clean, well run hotel, what you would expect from the Hilton.
Internet. There was no wireless in my room (507), but the wire had a speed of about 15-20 megabits - good for hotel standards.
Food. The breakfast is standard Hilton fare. The executive lounge is clean and offers free wifi.
Gym. It's good. If you like to work out, you'll have an easy time here. Plenty of machines and free weights, which I love.

What I didn't like.
I don't really have anything in this category. I suppose if I wanted to nitpick, I didn't like the halogen floor lamps in my room and the pillows were a bit overstuffed - but like I said - not a big deal.

In summary, it's a nice hotel. I think you will be satisfied. It's close to everything on both sides of the Danube and within walking distance.

Room Tip: Pay extra and get a view of the Danube. It's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AgileDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Firstly I would like to thank you personally for your recent stay at Hilton Budapest.
On behalf of my team, I am very happy to find out from your detailed review, for which we are extremely grateful, that you had a very pleasant vacation and in general you were pleased with our services.

Regarding you valuable remarks concerning the in room lighting and the pillow, I will look into this matter myself and inform the relavant department heads to take further actions so that we can further improve our service.

I hope we may welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights, 4 days. Great service in the hotel. Breakfast was nice, good selections and you can ask them to make soemthing that isnt avaiable there.
The area is lovely, great views, especially at night. However to beware that at night it is like a ghost town! However is a nice location, plenty of restuarants around. Also easy access into Pest. Just cross the road to the bus stop, and get bus 16 and get off at the last stop in Pest (opposite the Le Merriden Hotel).
Reception staff very helpful on places to go and how to get there.
(no free wifi though :-( )

Lovely place to visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Serena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for submitting your review to Trip Advisor. We are pleased to read that you
liked our services and the surroundings of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards,
Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. The rooms are large and comfortable, the staff is friendly and efficient, and the view from the hotel is the most beautiful I have ever seen, overlooking beautiful turrets and walls and the entire city's beautiful skyline to the Danube. The cost is most reasonable, especially for the excellent facilities and incomparable view. I will urge all of my friends to experience Budapest from this beautiful and convenient location, and definitely will make it my home away from home on any trip to Budapest.

Room Tip: I didn't use either the pool or any kids' activities, so can't rate those, but everythin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Longhornbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am grateful for your valuable comments and your time taken to submit your review to Trip Advisor.
I cannot tell you how happy my team members are when we receieve constructive feedback from our respected guests. It helps us to monitor if we manage to meet or exceed our guests' expectations, which is the most important for us.
We cannot wait welcoming you back to Hilton Budapest, should your future travel plans bring you back to our city.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at the Hilton-Budapest. First it is an awesome setting in the castle district with stunning views of the Fisherman's Bastion, the Danube and the Parliment building in Pest. Hotel service from check in to check out was great. Nice staff and services in the bar and dining room. The buffet breakfast offered many choices and the view continued to awe us from there. So much history to see within walking distance from the hotel and walking further to shopping areas not a problem. Great resaurants and cafes within a stone's throw of the hotel. We look forward to a return trip.

Room Tip: Ask for 'a room with a view'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rendell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for staying at Hilton Budapest and sharing your amazing travel experience with other valued Travellers. I am glad to find out that you were pleased with our services. Please be assured that I have forwarded your inspiring comment to my team, which will definitely make everybody happy and enthusiastic.

It would be an honour to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Myself and 2 friends stayed here for a long weekend. We got a great deal for bed a breakfast for 3 nights. The staff were very polite and extremely helpful. The room was spacious and clean. There was a very good selection at breakfast. The location of the hotel is excellent for exploring the castle district and there a some lovely restaurants nearby. You can catch a local bus or the hop on hop off bus from a short walk away and there is a metro station at the bottom of the hill. The views over the river Danube are amazing especially at night.

Also book wine tasting in the Faust wine cellar ( entrance is in the Hilton hotel itself) it was a great way to start our trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for sharing your positive experience on Trip Advisor this website, I would like to personally respond and thank you.

I am grateful for your comments regarding the unique features of our hotel. It is nice to know that you enjoyed the fabulous views from the Castle District to the surrounding historic monuments. Thank you for letting other valued Readers know of the professional service of our team and the comfort of your room.

I hope that we will be able to look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Budapest in the near future.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Chailey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Definitely worth paying the extra for the view, and what a view, really comes into its own at night!
Rooms well appointed, executive lounge comfortable and plenty of choice of snacks and drinks. We had our breakfast in main restaurant, plenty of choice and eggs cooked to order. All staff pleasant and willing to help. Thoroughly recommend. Beautiful walk down the castle grounds to get to Pest, takes about 30 minutes with leisurely stroll across chain bridge, and then ride the funicular back up for 900 florints each, great view of city!

Room Tip: Book a Danube view, well worth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianroyston3059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for sharing your positive experience on this website, I would like to personally respond and thank you.

I am happy to see that your impression of our staff and service was good and you felt well taken care of during your stay. I am grateful for your comments regarding the selection of our breakfast buffet and our unique location, I hope that we will be able to look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Budapest in the near future.

Best regards,


Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 334 in Budapest
3,357 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 334 in Budapest
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#20 of 334 in Budapest
7,096 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest

Property: Hilton Budapest
Address: Hess Andras ter 1-3., Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Budapest
#14 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#15 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#15 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing