We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best breakfast”
Review of Hilton Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Budapest
Ranked #18 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best breakfast”
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here by accident, as the other nearby had overbooked and upgraded us to this one. Location is awesome, although we didn't choose to get city/river view rooms, which would have costed more. I expected more on the room, that was quite large, but didn't seem to be on par with all the rest.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanthuyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your time taken to submit your review.
We would be glad to welcome you again, should you wish to return to Budapest in
the future.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,766
    980
    214
    53
    23
See reviews for
477
1,867
197
772
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,057)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2012

A great Hotel within a very historical area, very clean, and the conceirge poeple are very helpful, the food is great, drinks are perfect
A great Hotel within a very historical area, very clean, and the conceirge poeple are very helpful, the food is great, drinks are perfect

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed Safwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your positive comments with Tripadvisor Community. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and you were impressed by our services.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
316 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have just stayed this week for a night, on a business' trip. I was unlucky because there was most of the time quite a lot of fog so I couldn't benefit from the amazing view over Pest all time. This (the view over Pest, the Parliament and the Danube river) and the location in the middle of the castle district, an Unesco protected area, and close to the church are the best assets of the hotel, together with the size of the rooms and the quality of the breakfast. On the bad side, I would mention the fact that Wifi is not by free, even in the common areas of the hotel (yes, they offer you the possibility of a cable, but it does not work with smart phones...) and that there is not a swimming pool in the hotel (why not offering a package of transport and entrance to one of the baths in Budapest?). A couple of tips for your transports from and to the hotel: a) there is a shuttle which bring travelers to the hotels in Budapest for a fixed and attractive rate; you can book it in advance on-line or at the airport, close to the exit where the taxis are; however, you should be aware that Hilton used to be the last one stop or the first one when you are coming back to the airport (on the positive side, you'll experience Budapest from the bus but, on the negative side, it takes longer than a taxi); b) Be aware that the underground tickets which are available at the reception desk are seriously overpriced.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view over the Danube
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astur67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,


thank you for taking the time to post review on this website.
I am glad to read that in general you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and you were impressed by our unique location.
However, I was sorry to learn that you were somewhat disappointed with certain things and apologize that you have not yet received a response to the issues raised on departure.
1. I am very glad to let you know that as of 2013 wifi will be complimentary in all public areas of the hotel meeting the latest brand standard. At this moments, our current system is undergoing a serious development work to better meet our guests's needs.
2. Because the hotel (surrounded by unique medieval architectural monuments) is located in a protected area there has been no permission to operate any spa or pool. However, the most outstanding thermal spa of the city is available within 10 minutes from our hotel by cab or car.
3. To explore the city there are countless tourist services, which are not expensive. Our Concierge is pleased to give tailor - made advise upon request.
4. Public transportation tickets are available at our Concierge Desk against the normal price and a small supllement added, which is less and 50 cents. We do hope that with this service -selling the tickets on spot- we may contribute to make our guests' stay even more comfortable.
We do hope that despite your cons on this occasion, we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel at some point in the future.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The setting for this lovely hotel is right in the Castle district on the Buda side of Budapest. The views from the room windows on the water side were spectacular both day and night, and the area for walking or jumping on and off transit was right outside your door. This city surprised us, and we will visit again. There is a pulse to the streets, restaurants and shops. We purchased a 3 day Budapest transit card on line before heading on our trip. It was worth the money, and allowed us to get everywhere we wanted to go from just outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room up a few levels on the River side so you can see the city, parliament and other views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

This is a great honour to read your valuable feedback. I wanted to thank you for your stay with us and your time taken to submit this valuable review on this site.
I am glad to read you were impressed by our services, especially our unique location and also that you felt well taken care of during your stay. I am grateful for your travel ideas shared with other valued Readers of Tripadvisor.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Please do not hesitate to contact me, if we can do anything for you.

Best regards,

Zoltan Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of days (city-trip to Budapest). Travel from the airport already was a kind of "hop-on, hop-off" experience. We booked a mini-bus at the airport (luggage area), and as a result shared the mini-bus with some other people in different hotels in Budapest. As the Hilton was the last one stop on the journey, when arriving at the hotel, we already saw half of all the things to see in Budapest. (BTW, very convenient airport transport, buy a return ticket and they pick you up at the hotel when you request for getting back to the airport)
The hotel is located in an Unesco protected area, only (small) buses, taxi's and people living in the area are allowed to enter. The hotel itself is next to one of the major attractions in the Buda part of the city (actually the whole Castle district is a major attraction), and has an astonishing view over the Donau/Danube and the Pest part of the city. Especially views at night - from the executive lounge, or the hotel restaurant, or from rooms with river view - towards the Parliament across the river, are exceptional. The area around the hotel is really nice, and the hotel also has a list with good restaurants in the area (i.e. they don't drag you into their own restaurant, if you don't feel like it).
Apart from that, just a very good consistent Hilton quality, nice rooms, good service (even though they forgot about something we asked, but they 'made up' in an apology e-mail afterwards).
Nice, but not so big fitness area and sauna, no pool, but that is something you should experience in one of the famous bathing houses in the city anyway.
Especially if you can get a promotion rate (and there usually are some - as this is a business hotel, you should be able to find something nice during weekends, or if you book in advance), very good value for money.

Room Tip: Executive floor rooms with Danube view are probably the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcG007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at Hilton Budapest and taking the time to share your positive experience on this website. I am really grateful for letting other travellers know of your inspiring impression of the unique location of our hotel, the fascinating attractions of the neighbourhood and for giving useful tips about transfer services and exciting ideas to explore the city.
I am also pleased to read that you liked your guest room and you felt taken care of by our team during your stay. Should you consider to return to Budapest in the future, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was our seventh visit to the Hilton-castle side-from Australia.What a wonderfully friendly place.On each visit we feel we are returning to home.The same staff are there year after year and exude afeeling of warmth and friendlyness.And the executive lounge-what a gem,with amazing TIBOR serving and looking after each guest.Keep up the high standard and best wishes.Many thanks.Harry Messel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Haryy,

This is a great honour to read your valuable feedback. I wanted to thank you for staying with us again and your time taken to share your positive experience with other valued Readers of Tripadvisor.

I am really grateful for praising our team members and I am very glad to hear that you
felt well taken care of during your stay. I am so proud to read that our team members do their best to make our guests' stay special and unforgettable.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Please do not hesitate to contact me, if we can do anything for you.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We booked a room on the Executive floor which gave us access to the Exec lounge on the same floor.
We arrived late in the evening and drive up to the hotel was pretty impressive. We were checked in quickly and room was large, clean and spacious even for 4 people. Liked the wooden window shutters.
View from the Executive lounge over to the Parliament buildings across the River Danube was amazing both day and night. And the hotel is located immediately beside the Fisherman's Bastion which we visited the next day where the views are even better. This hotel must have the best location in Budapest for views.
We had breakfast, with everythng we wanted and hors d'oeuvres in the Executive lounge and were well looked after by the staff. The lounge provided free WiFi access and there were pc's to use in the adjoining room but these were very very slow to load. We also booked a taxi from the hotel to the airport through the Exec lounge concierge.
There are buses that run from close by the hotel down into central Budapest.
The Buda area was very quiet at night, although this may have been exascerbated by the Beer Festival which was being held nearby at the time of our stay.
Wonderful place to stay for a few nights stay in Budapest, we would stay there again if visit in future

Room Tip: We booked our room through British Airways and got a very good deal. Would also suggest you book a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pambolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Hilton Budapest and taking the time to submit your review.
I am really pleased to hear you had such a lovely stay at Hilton Budapest.
I am grateful for your praising regarding the comfort and cleanliness our your guest room and appreciate your inspiring comments about the location of our hotel and the services of our Executive Club Lounge.
It would be an honour to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Best regards,
Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#17 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,970 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#28 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,258 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,646 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest

Property: Hilton Budapest
Address: Hess Andras ter 1-3., Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Budapest
#14 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#15 Business Hotel in Budapest
#16 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing