We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great Hilton property.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Budapest
Ranked #19 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Rutland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Another great Hilton property.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Over in Budapest for three nights for the F1 race at the Hungaroring.
Had booked a basic room , my Hilton status entitled me to an upgrade to the executive floor but I got an email a few days before arrival asking if I wanted a suite for an additional 70 Euros a night. I accepted and was really pleased I did, for one of the best rooms and views I have experienced anywhere in the world, overlooking the Danube.
The welcome and front of house manager were excellent and set the tone for a great stay, nothing was too much trouble.
Great Executive lounge , decent fitness room. Hotel lacking in a pool or terrace to enjoy the vista but a fantastic location. Twenty minute walk down to the chain bridge or ten minutes walk and the funicular ride.
The place to stay in Budapest.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Hilton Budapest for your stay during F1 Hungarian Grand Prix.
I am happy to find out from your review you were impressed by our splendid location and service. I appreciate your extra time taken to share your positive comments
With Tripadvisor Community and let other tourists know of your feedback.
I hope we may have the pleasure again to welcome you back to our hotel.

Best regards,

Zoltan Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,668
    961
    212
    50
    21
See reviews for
464
1,802
193
754
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,027)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfiled
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel is in the Buda side(hilly) of Budapest in an excellent location in the Castle District with fabulous views over the danube to the Pest side(flat).Excellent position for the hotel and a wonderful place to stay.Budapest is an excellent city with plenty to do and see.The cricus and terror museum we also 2 excellent attractions.Take care with a visit to the Ballet which is held outside and if the weather is bad they do not offer any refund of tickets purchased if the performance is cancelled.

Room Tip: Higher floor preferable overlooking the Danube and the Pest side to view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChesterfiledTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Hilton Budapest and taking the extra time to submit your review.
I appreciate your positive feedback regarding our unique location and glad you had such a
memorable vacation.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,

Zoltan Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

First trip to Budapest, November 2010, for a Danube River Cruise so not familiar with the area. I thought about booking an airport hotel for one night so I could meet the tour group at the airport the next day but did not see the familiar chain airport hotels. The Hilton looked nice in the pictures but the rates were high when I first checked, but kept checking and found an unbelievable rate and booked it immediately. As my airport shuttle drove through Budapest it was quite a ways to the Castle District and not a very scenic ride; I thought it would be a perfect place to film old war or holocaust films. When the taxi arrived in the Castle District there was an unbelievable difference; the hotel was located on top of the hill in the most beautiful area with cobblestone streets, outdoor cafe's and right next to the beautiful Matthias Church and the Fishermens Bastalion. What a view I could not believe I had been so lucky. The hotel was very nice, my corner room was very large on the Church side and a view of the cobblestone street and fountain in front of the church. All of the staff were extremely nice; a buffet breakfast was included and the food and service was excellent. The area is very quiet at night but very crowded during the daytime with tour groups. A small shuttle bus stops within a block of the hotel and runs every 15 minutes and will take you to town to transfer to the other busy tram lines. No doubt, I would book this hotel again if I ever go to Budapest and totally recommend it.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet but the rooms at the back of the hotel with the view of the Danube are outstandi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bettygeorge4462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Hilton Budapest and taking time to share your valuable review with Tripadvisor Community. I am glad to find out that our outstanding location was beyond your expectation and making your vacation a remarkable experience. I am also pleased to see you felt well taken care of during your entire stay. My team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Best regards,

Zoltan Árvai
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed here for two nights for our wedding and our stay was simply perfect. We managed to get a room with view onto the Danube, Margaret Island, the Parliament, and it was breathtaking.
I am not a fan of air conditioning and even when turned off completely there was still some air coming out of the vents but I understand there must be some circulation of air, after all.
The wedding staff and the organisers were simply perfect, so were all the waiters, porters, bar staff - we cannot thank the Hilton enough for all they have done for us.
I thoroughly recommend the Hilton for a touristic or business stay due to it's perfect location and great service standards.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Agnes G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Book as high a room as possible overlooking the Danube, you won't regret it. The view is unbelievable looking over to the Parliament Building - both by day and also lit up at night.

It is the most photographed view of Budapest used in every report and advert for the City - and every time you see that view in magazines it will remind you of your stay at the Hilton.

Everything within the Castle district is within walking distance. In fact if you're keen like us you can walk down from the Hotel, over the Chain Bridge and into the other City attractions. It's an easy walk back up, but if you can't tackle the climb there is the Funicular to take you from River level back up to the Castle district.

Room Tip: Book a room as high as possible overlooking the Danube.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne & wear, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

A first class hotel in a beautiful location, with room at the back looking down over the Fishermans Tower, the Danube, the Houses of Parliament and the whole of Pest. Bedroom was very comfortable public sitting areas good and a good breakfast buffet. The immediate area extremely scenic and good restaurants close to hand, very busy during the day but quiet at night once the day tourists have disappeared.
Never seen so many staff in a hotel and all very attentive.
Only down point was the noise from the air conditioning in the bedroom.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back and higher up have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jasah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

An excellent hotel in an excellent location, minutes from Fisherman's Bastion, Castle, Funicular etc. Room very well appointed, ALL hotel staff helpful and attentive, the concierge was very good with advice on local tours and booked the tours I requested very efficiently. Bell desk good, stored my luggage when I had a late leaving time. The Executive Lounge was a great addition to my stay, drinks & snacks available all day, the bar was comfy and the staff did not constantly pester me to buy drinks, the also changed the TV chanel to suit me. I would thoroughly reccommend this hotel

Room Tip: upgrade to an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJJ1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,541 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#23 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,171 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#17 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest

Property: Hilton Budapest
Address: Hess Andras ter 1-3., Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Budapest
#14 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#15 Business Hotel in Budapest
#17 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hilton EMEA so you can book your Hilton Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing