We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in good location”
Review of Hilton Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Budapest
Ranked #14 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2008

We have just returned from a 3-nights stay at the Hilton. We agree with all the good things said about this hotel by previous reporters - an excellent location, good-sized rooms and excellent staff. The breakfast buffet was the best I have seen outside the US.
We dined at 3 different outside restaurants (all close to the hotel) and others may find it useful to learn of our opinions of those establishments. Apitito, directly across from the Hilton’s front door, was relaxed and efficient with a good standard of food. Wines were all from Hungary (a feature of all 3 restaurants) and a reasonable choice was available. We enjoyed our experience here.
Alabardos is to found on the next street over. It is just on the corner of the square where St Mathias church is to found. This was a formal experience in formal surroundings, which included an accomplished classical guitarist playing “easy listening” music. The food was fussy and the staff were a little too attentive. We struggled to find a wine that stayed within our usual budget. Overall the prices being charged were fairly high and we didn’t enjoy the experience very much.
Our “best” experience was at Pierrots. This can be found about 300m down the same street that Apititos sits on and on the same side of the street. We liked it because, for us, everything seemed to work so well. There was an interesting menu, delicious food, friendly and helpful staff, calm atmosphere with soft piano music and a reasonable price when the bill came.
As one would expect, English was widely spoken and credit cards universally accepted.
Our less formal eating and drinking in the environs of the Hotel were at Russwarm coffee & cake shop and Café Miro, just a little further along from the coffee shop. Both are definitely worth a visit. There seemed to be a lack of simple bars for beer or wine drinking and Café Miro fulfilled that requirement for us. They serve draught Hungarian beer and a small selection of Hungarian wines at reasonable prices. The goulash soup was excellent, as we found one cold January afternoon.
I can confirm the benefits mentioned by others regarding the use of City Taxis. We used them on both the airport trips and they are efficient and offer a fixed price – the same each way. You can get their phone number from the Tourist Information desk at the airport baggage hall.
One final word of warning regarding Budapest public transport: if you elect to use tickets that need to be punched (“validated”) at the start of your journey then make sure you use a fresh ticket for each leg of your journey. A single ticket is insufficient for a journey using more than one vehicle and this even applies to a change of Metro line. There is no zoning as you may expect from other city’s Metro systems.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tripper31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,408 - 3,414 of 4,292 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2008

Stayed 3 nights in an Executive room with spectacular Danube view.All staff were courteous and efficient.Although I had free use of Executive lounge for breakfast I preferred the Corvina buffet which had a greater selection and I was not charged
extra.Dined out at the Pierrot Cafe and restaurant and the Rivalda
-preferred the latter for ambience,service and food.

A note of warning if you use the Metro.After you purchase a ticket you then need to get it validated in a separate orange machine.
If you do not do this and they have inspectors at your exiting
end you will be fined-my 186HUF journey turned into a 6000
HUF fine.They will make no exception for tourists-in fact they
seem to take great pleasure in tripping you up.My inspectors
did start by saying that it would be 5000HUF without a receipt!
(I have their numbers if by chance anybody in authority is
interested!).Although I had no problem with taxi drivers I
understand they will rip tourists off given the chance.The taxis that stand outside the hotel can be trusted as they
seem to have an arrangement with the Hilton.
.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MICKMAT22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2008

The staff seemed to think they were more special than us lowly guests as they workat the hilton - i think apart from being next door to the st mattias church and having a view over the river to parliament (at extra cost) that this hotel didnt have much going for it - they were inflexible and uninterested in helping us with breakfast as we had an early departure and they didnt care at all about getting us something for our journey -note to staff- neither you or your hotel are that great so get over yourselves. do yourselves a favour and stay on the pest side - we wish we had got in at the corinthia grand.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank airylegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2007

I stayed from Friday until Sunday in the Hilton Hotel in Budapest, booked online with a travel agent for a rather reaonable price.

Staff/Reception
All reception staff were friendly and helpfull. All of them spoke either English and/or German (and Hungarian, of course). The reception was 24 hrs occupied, so coming home at night was no problem.

Location/Shopping
The hotel is next to the Budapest castle, on a hill, overlooking the city. Easy access to the hotel by public transportation during the day time. There is a bus which takes you within a couple of minutes from Moskva ter to the hotel. At night, however, there is no public transportation which makes it somewhat inconvinient for people who want to go to the city. On the other hand, one can have a walk in the castle district which is extremely romantic at night. Convinient and safe area. No shopping around, though. Restaurants and pubs within walking distance.

Rooms
I was in a suite with a sleeping room, a living room and a second separate area and a working desk. Complimentary bottle of watter given. Perfect view from my room over the city, the river, the parliament and the castle (below my room window).

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank MichaelTantini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights prior to our river cruise. It is located on the Buda side of the city in the historic palace district. Many local restaurants within walking distance of hotel. We stayed on the executive floor with a spectacular view of the Danube river and the Pest side of the river including the spectacular parliament building and the chain bridge. Advantages for booking an executive room includes the executive lounge where you get free breakfast, lunch and dinner(some hot hors dourves, sandwiches and drinks). Hotel is walking distance to the palace and its spectacular grounds. Back of the hotel is the historic Fishermen's Bastien. Our room was large sized and comfortable for the two of us.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2007

This was my second stay at the Budapest Hilton, and like the first time around I was a happy guest. Hiltons do vary from one another, but this is one of their best hotels in many ways. The rooms are large, comfortable and well appointed - ours had a superb panoramic view of the Danube and Pest; I think I spent more time gazing out of the window than exploring the city! Budapest is one of the world's most beautiful cities, and I would rate it a top 10 city break.

Also, prices have still not crept up to western European levels, so it represents relatively good value for money. In addition, service is excellent - polite and attentive but not over-the-top. The breakfast is OK, and room service meals are good.

My final comments are about location. The Castle District is beautiful, romantic and very quiet, but also high up and remote from the rest of Budapest - a bit like a Hungarian acropolis. This means it is not in a "happening" area, especially at night. However, it is not a million miles away from all the other wonderful things to see and do in Budapest, and with either the funicular or the bus to Moszkva Ter station (or even lots of walking up and down the hill!) it is possible to get away without a taxi.

On balance, provided you can cope with not being on the Pest side of town, this is a very nice hotel and one that I would gladly stay in again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Cypsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2007

This is a great hotel. The service is amazing and the view is stunning. I am a diamond Hilton honors member and found this hotel to be a top notch Hilton. The area around the hotel is beautiful. I would return to this hotel anytime I am in Budapest.

Stayed: November 2007
2  Thank nychellzkitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 334 in Budapest
3,443 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest

Address: Hess Andras ter 1-3, Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#14 Family Hotel in Budapest
#14 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#15 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $115 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing