We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend in budapest”
Review of Hilton Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Budapest
Ranked #16 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2011

I spent a weekend in Budapest at the Hilton castle District: the position is one of the best of the city, on the hill just above the river.
We received an upgraded room with river view: excellent. I suggest to ask for a river view anyhow: it is costing a little bit more but it is making the stay wonderful.
The breakfast was great either for the food selation and quality and for the breakfast room.
The personell was extremely kind and able to help for every request.
I will return for sure.
I suggest to take a taxi from the irport: it is about 20 - 25 euro and, if done with the official loccal company, it is granting a discount on the return ride to the airport.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cassandracrossing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,083 - 3,089 of 4,351 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2011

We were booked into the St. George Residence and got bumped to the Hilton due to a supposed over booking. Are we ever glad that we did. The Hilton is not only your typical 5 star hotel but we also enjoyed a view of the Danube river and Pest on the other side of it. From the Hilton one can explore the entire castle district on foot. The number 16 bus takes you to all that Pest has to offer on the other side of the river. You can also take a cab for a very reasonable price. The hotel has a fabulous buffet breakfast and great restaurants to choose from. Our room was very well apppointed and had hard wired internet service. Very comfortable and quiet room on Executive Floor. Bed was comfortable, and the air conditioned room was a perfect temperature. Servicewas excellent and well staffed with professional and timely service. Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Executive tower overlooking the Danube.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timberbank26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

This hotel is ideally placed for exploring Buda and the Castle area – convenient for the 'hop on hop off bus tours around the city. Some rooms overlook Danube across to the Parliament building - others overlook the old town. Comfortable and quient rooms, good restaurants nearby and excellect in house executive lounge with free internet access. Staff very helpful and informed. Hhotel offers pick up and return service to the airport which is very convenient - email the concierge to book.

Room Tip: As for a room overlooking the Danube if you want a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMarpleInc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a trip to Budapest including a four night stay at the Budapest Castle Hilton.
Our comments:
Pros:
Very comfortable and quiet room on Executive Floor. Dynamite view of the Parliament Building across the Danube. Big wow factor when we first entered our room at night. Looking out our window was like a picture from National Geographic
Bed was comfortable (important to us) and Air Con kept the room at a perfect temperature.

Service: Top notch- hotel well staffed with professional and timely service. Our main contact in the Guest Relations Dept, Jolina, helped greatly in our pre-trip planning with dining and sightseeing recommendations, reservations and ticketing. 5 Stars for Jolina!

Food: We had both the extended Continental Breakfast on the Executive Floor and the more expansive Buffett on the ground floor. The convenience of the Executive Floor - including hot items- was just right when we had to get moving earlier.

Workout Room: Well equipped and clean. Treadmills, Elliptical, Stair stepper, weights, sauna, tanning enclosure, rooms for rest and nap

Cons:
Only con is that no attendant on duty at the gym but since it was completely viewable through glass walls felt that help, if needed, was nearby

Sorry that I did not book Hiltons for our other stays this trip and will rectify that next time.

Could not find anything to complain about and of course this Budapest Hilton is inside the Castle and one of the major tourist stops, just outside our door!

Room Tip: Worth extra cost for view room on Executive Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magicmat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience after staying with us here at the Hilton Budapest. We appreciate your amazing comments and glad to read you had such a pleasant stay.

I am pleased to find out you were impressed of the professional, welcoming service of our personnel, especially our Guest Relations Manager, Jolina and her super team.

Your kind remarks on the fascinating views of the city skyline and the medieval historic sights are also much appreciated.

Thank you very much for staying with us. I do hope we may have the pleasure again to host you at the Hilton Budapest, should your future travel plans bring you back to our city.

Best regards,
Zoltan Arvai
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Outstanding service. Pay the extra for the Executive Level, it is worth it as the meals and drinks are included and outstanding.
Kind of out of the way... the "tourist" section it is in can be completed in less than one day. However, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank appletonWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We thought the location of this hotel was fantastic as our room on the 5th floor had beautiful views of the city and the river Danube. The castle district has plenty to keep you occupied for a day or two, supplemented by many good restaurants. All the staff were polite, friendly and efficient and we felt well looked after. The concierge was very helpful when asked for assistance about some tourist sites we wanted to visit and offered his own ideas and recommendations too. We enjoyed our stay so much we will definitely plan a return visit one day. The staff at this hotel are an example to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor with a view of the Danube
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We had a most memorable visit to Budapest and staying at the Hilton was most certainly one of the highlights. The location is, I think, unbeatable. I've stayed in other areas of the city but being in the castle district is very special. The atmosphere of the medieval district is wonderful, its very quiet in the evening and the views from the hotel are absolutely spectacular. We had a room with a Danube view and were simply mesmerized by it. The hotel staff are all wonderful -- they clearly all enjoy their jobs -- and we were made to feel incredibly welcome and cared for. Its a large hotel but the staff make it very friendly and it feels more intimate than the usual chain hotel. With its stunning views (and how many other hotels can boast a Dominican Cloister in its grounds. The buffet breakfast offers a huge variety of items and is included in the room rate. Its especially good value if you have access to the executive lounge as well. We had a fantastic trip and the Hilton staff made it particularly memorable. I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: The view of the Fisherman's Bastion, Danube and Parliament building are spectacular. Its especia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#28 of 334 in Budapest
3,482 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#15 of 334 in Budapest
7,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest

Address: Hess Andras ter 1, Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#14 Family Hotel in Budapest
#15 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#15 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $139 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing