We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel but wanted more time to enjoy the island” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
Ranked #64 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Chengdu Shi, Sichuan, China
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good hotel but wanted more time to enjoy the island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Food was really good at the hotel. They served foods that would appeals to people from the West and Europe. I had a minor issue with the housekeeping staff when they took my personal bed sheet because I find the duvets too hot. Unfortunately I never got the sheet back. The hotel is a bit dated. Pleasant sitting areas on the ground floor. Most of the personnel besides the front desk people, have very limited English, if any. The pools and spas seemed nice but due to my schedule, I didn't have time to enjoy them long enough. Make sure you walk around the island. They have a cushioned running path around the entire island. There are gardens and benches, a petting zoo area, etc. just a short walk from the hotel. Very relaxing area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGabeli, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comment: It is a pleasure for that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our services good.
Hoping next time you will have more time to enjoy our facilities and the relaxing spa we are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Danubius Hotel
Best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    531
    180
    55
    26
See reviews for
350
471
88
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed 5 days with family and friends here. Staff was friendly and rooms were clean. Bathtub leaked a little water was our only issue due to how the tub door sealed.

The dining room breakfast was very nice as well as the other meals. Room safes were large.

We really liked the island walks. We would stay again. A great place to enjoy Budapest.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGabeli, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you very much for posting a positive review on our Danubius Hotel on Margaret Island in Budapest and for recommending us to other travelers.
We are very happy that you were satisfied with our services and found our staff friendly, the rooms clean, the meals nice and the room safe large.
We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you to our Hotel in the future again.
Best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patna, India
Level Contributor
383 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

we were just at the Danubius Health Spa Resort for a week long conference. I thought it was a great place! There were plenty of food selections, facilities excellent. The room was a tad small (reminded me of the old Communist construction from Russia). I have no complaints at all.....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fozjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGabeli, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comment: It is a pleasure for that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget a great place with excellent facilities.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Danubius Hotel in Budapest.
Best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mek'ele, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights for a conference with our organization. The food was average, but the thermal pools were fantastic and it was a beautiful spot. It was very easy to get around the sites to Budapest - we caught the #26 bus to the tip of the island and then used the Hop On Hop Off service - tickets were available at the front desk. The bathrooms were a little tight and they never refilled our coffee, tea, sugar and cream each day even though they did make up the room, but otherwise the rooms were comfortable and nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGabeli, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comment: It is a pleasure for that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel a beautiful spot with fantastic thermal pools.
We hope, you will have the opportunity to return back to us.
Best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alba Iulia, Alba, Romania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

This hotel is situated on Margaret Island in Budapest, a very good choice for fitness-jogging-sports fans. The hotel is not brand new, but has a very nice spa which is included in the price of the room and which is a brilliant idea at the end of the day, after having been everywhere, visiting everything in beautiful Budapest! The rooms are big, with beautiful balconies that usually lead to the park/outside pool, tea/coffee facilities in the room, air conditioning that might not work properly in the peak season (my guess!), nasty male receptionists (the females were so much flexible and nice..!!). Not a child-friendly hotel, although the pools-both indoors and outdoors could very well entertain a child for a while. The island is beautiful!! The dancing fountain is a must see, the alleys are amidst beautiful green trees, there is a little train that takes people from one side to the other, good dinner facilities on the island.No traffic, which is relaxing and comforting. Very close to the center of Budapest, just take the 26 bus and in no time you'll be seeing the beautiful Danube, the Houses of Parliament and...all the other beauties that Budapest surely has to offer.

Room Tip: Ask about the air conditioning facilities at the reception desk. And do not be afraid to ask for a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGabeli, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for your positive note about your recent stay in our Danubius Hotel on Margaret Island. We are pleased that you had a good experience and a pleasant stay with us.
Once again many thanks for your kind feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel.
kind regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Level Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights June into July. A 7th floor room gave great views of the city. We did hear running water from the Exec floor above and it maybe that they have jacuzzis up there.
The hotel is on an island with very regular bus links to tram 4&6 then the iconic tram 2.
The wifi code changed 3 tines whilst we were there which was irritating but pleasingly the hotel went full free wifi throughout by the time we left.
The island is beautiful and a real hangout for fitness fanatics.
The beauty about the place is that we sunbathed 9am-1pm and then hit the tourist trail returning tired about 7pm. Very relaxing pools and a good gym.
Being picky I'd say the hotel could better explain things when you arrive. You can feel a little lost. The fault lays with reception who (with the exception of Janos Turai) are pretty unhelpful. It might be a cultural thing.
You can have the breakfast at £10 but we had free croissants and coffee in the Kamilla cafe and we used the fridge in the room to store nibbles and wine.
The drinks at the hotel are not cheap but the service (10% added) is good.
The hotel is a cosmetic surgery centre and it is very interesting to work out who is having a bit done. This did not affect our holiday and the attached spa is superb.
We didn't eat at the hotel but went to typical hungarian restaurants (Kehli) nearby.
The outdoor pool area is lovely and we fully intend returning.
It does seem a bit bizarre when you arrive to see people wandering around in hotel provided robes but this is a spa hotel so go with the flow.
We loved it here.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ErnieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGabeli, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for sharing your opinion about the hotel’s services.
Thank you for your comments regarding the traffic, the relaxing spa and good gym.
From the 1st of July we offer WIFI gratis to our guest in all guests rooms with an access code. Formerly our codes changed on Mondays, you arrived at the end of a week and stayed 5 nights, that is why you had to change the codes several times. Now it became easier to use and free of charge.
Hoping you will viist us again, I remain
with best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BG
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Big hotel wit outdoor teraces tobget sun, not far from the centrum. Old style hotel, slow services on Reception, not impressive room or breakfast buffet. 30 min from airport. Otherwise Budapest is extremely beautiful and deserve long visit!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maya_BG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGabeli, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for sharing your opinion about our hotel.
We are very pleased that you found Budapest extremely beautiful and suggested our capital for other travellers.
Looking forward to hearing again from you, I remain
Best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Margaret Island
Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget
Danubius Hotel Helia
#74 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
#123 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#99 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,216 reviews
Lion's Garden Hotel
#73 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget

Property: Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
Address: Margitsziget 23800, Budapest 1007, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Margaret Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#46 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#47 Family Hotel in Budapest
#71 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget 4*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget is the city’s leading spa hotel, making use of a natural thermal spring on tranquil Margaret Island. The hotel is just ten minutes from the city centre, and boasts state-of-the-art facilities (including indoor and outdoor pools, sauna, steam room, aroma cabin and thermal bath, fitness room, beauty salon) and a range of treatments to help you relax and recharge. You can cycle or play tennis on Margaret Island, take a Danube cruise or enjoy a healthy and tasty meal in the excellent hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget Hotel Budapest
Danubius Health Hotel Margitsziget
Danubius Health Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing