We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“proper spa at its best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
Ranked #65 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“proper spa at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We arrived on 27th December feeling frazzled from Christmas and needing some rest and relaxation and boy did we get it!!!
We were greeted by beautiful Christmas lights, a welcome sight in the dark and a warm welcome from reception who informed us they had given us an upgrade. Our room was on the 9th floor with beautiful views of the danube over to Buda. Beautifully clean and well equipped with great big bed, sofas, huge TV and fabulous bathroom. immensely hot though and we had our patio door open most of the time so we could sleep. The executive rooms have a private breakfast restaurant which was lovely with hot food cooked to order if requested by a very efficient lady who worked on her own and did everything.
The restaurant food was not the best I have ever had but as it was a buffet there was always something that you could have. The service was good in the restaurant and very polite so no complaints there.
The spa is something else. Robes provided in your room and entry is by room key card. Everything is spotless. Swimming pool, three different thermal pools of differing temperatures with loungers around the sides. A nice darkened relaxation area with sauna, steam and aromatherapy rooms. Beware the saunas are single sex which is not immediately noticeable so you could be embarrassed as I was if you go into the wrong one!!
We had massages and mud treatments which were excellent but I was disappointed with the beauty treatments which I thought were overpriced for what you got. I wished I had had another massage instead.
The bar area is lovely for the evening with an accomplished pianist who plays every night. Very attentive barman with a ready smile who made us feel very special.
The hotel is on an island which has beautiful walks and a running track all he way around. We saw lots of wildlife including red squirrels which was a treat. Some of the buildings have fallen into disrepair which is a shame but at night the views of the city are beautiful as the important buildings are lit up. We did a bus tour on our last day which the concierge booked for us and arranged a taxi to take us to the tour.
Unfortunately we had a lot of thick fog during our visit so did not see as much of the city as we would have liked. However that does give us a good excuse to go back and we would not hesitate to stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: All rooms have views over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fifi090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you very much for posting a positive review on our Hotel.
We are very happy that you were satisfied with the location of the hotel and found the staff extremely helpful. It is a pleasure for us that you could enjoy our spa and wellness facilities, and that you can recommend our hotel for relaxing.
Once again many thanks for your kind feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel.
Best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    533
    180
    55
    26
See reviews for
351
471
89
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

I have stayed here several times and had a great stay every time, the spa and thermal baths are fabulous and I always leave feeling great. The rooms are spacious with balconies and although probably not refurbished for a few years, they are very comfortable and clean.
I always find the staff very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them, overall it is a hidden gem of a hotel and whilst it is not central, the setting on the island is peaceful and a taxi to downtown is not expensive.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thenewbrunetteLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you very much for posting a positive review on our Hotel.
We are very happy that you had a great stay with us and you found the thermal baths fabulous. Once again many thanks for your kind feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at our hotel.
Best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prishtina
Level Contributor
110 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel for three nights on business. It is located in the Danube's Margarit island which makes it a quiet and relaxed location. There is a bus line that can take you to downtown Budapest and if that is not enough, you can always have the reception call for a taxi. The average taxi charge up to Vaci street in Budapest is some 10-12 euro.
Although the hotel's layout and design may seem as during the communism times, I found it to be charming and nice.
The rooms were average by all means but nothing special to complain about as they were clean enough, warm and with some basic amenities. It is such a pitty that free wi-fi is available only in a very limited zone close to the reception. The internet in rooms is available against an expensive charge (5 euro an hour or 12 euro per 24 hours).
The food was also not so great and none of the staff seem to be bothered by it...the good thing is that there is a spa in the adjacent hotel so you can enjoy thermal baths.
All in all, you may wish to visit this hotel if you crave for old time design and prefer quiteness.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Arben72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you very much for posting a positive review on our Hotel.
We are very happy that you found our location quiet and relaxed.
Once again many thanks for your kind feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel.
Best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

this was a business trip, not very much in line with the core competence of the hotel. one can tell it was built long time ago and not much changed since then. everything works, etc, however a rennovation would improve the experience much.

Room Tip: get a one close to the reception desk or you end up walking quite a lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asmigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a short comment on Tripadvisor website about your recent stay in the Danubius Hotel.
I am pleased that generally you had a good experience and a pleasant stay. You mention "the place needs refurbishment " , yes the management and the staff are looking forward to a total "facelift", which is up to our owner company -based in the U.K. We all do hope to carry out this fresh-up as soon as possible.
Once again many thanks for your kind feedback, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel.
Best regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

If you want to be in the middle of a park on an island in the middle of the danube it is a good hotel for you. Walk to bus stop, wait, board and ride to end of island. Get off and wait for another bus to get off island. repeat when returning. A real time waster. The elevators are completely pathetic. Get used to waiting ten minutes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a short comment on Tripadvisor website about your recent stay in the Danubius Hotel.
I am sorry to hear that you could not find the beauty of the island, which is adored by all of our guests. It is a fact that the nature is much more beautiful from spring to autumn, when everything is green and birds are singing, but even winter could be felicituos here.
It happens sometimes that you have to wait some minutes for the elevator, especially if the hotel is fully booked. Should it caused any inconveniences for you, we feel sorry for you and would like to call your attention that at the other end of the corridor we have other 2 elevators, which stay our guests' disposal.
Thank you again for your very kind comments and we hope we can welcome you back as our guest -maybe in summer.
Best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

The hotel is nice and quite confortable. Food ok.
But there are a lot of unpleasant details:

- you do not have slippers although they have a big spa; you need to buy some very cheap slippers for 10 euros
- we did a mistake and pressed on the tv for a payed channel; we stopped immediatly the tv but they wanted to charge us an extra 15 euro... big quarrel... they lied that they cannot cancel because its not them but the tv company... then I raised my voice in the lobby and they canceled immediately
- everybody smiles but I cannot say why I did not feel welcomed at all... from the very beginning... maybe its me... don't know

The spa is ok. And I was happy to find a brand new bath wrap in the room. Cosy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bogdan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your efforts for having taken your time for a report on TripAdvisor website, concerning your recent stay in our Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget Hotel!
It is a pleasure for us that you found the hotel nice, comfortable and the food ok.

Referring to your comments on the missing slippers we kindly draw your attention that we offer only in the high levels (executive levels) free slippers for our guests, but they usually take it with them because they know that we offer bathing facilities in our property.
Regarding the pay TV may I inform you that you have to type your room number twice in the system if you intend to join in and it runs 24 hours long and cannot be cancelled by the hotel, it will be charged automatically. It is managed by an outsider company, the hotel has to pay this amount to them. Our staff did not want to enter into a conflict therefore they rather cancelled this service and fortunately they kept smiling, it is their task.
We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to regain your trust and the next time you stay with us again!

Best regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

My husband and I want to say a huge thank you to the ladies who were serving in the coffee shop this lunchtime (1st December). As we had literally walked for miles, we decided to have a coffee there, but didn't really feel like walking the whole way back to our hotel. Thankfully, these ladies were so helpful, and we feel they deserve a special mention on TA...one even gave us bus tickets she no longer required, and made our journey into the city much better than having to walk the whole way back!! That's what we call service!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your positive feedback on our service at the hotel's Kamilla Coffee Shop and we have forwarded your kind words to the staff and management.
We trust that Budapest will occupy a very important place in your heart for a long time and you could feel the a bit of the Hungarian hospitality.
Thank you very much again for your positive comments and hope we can welcome you again in our hotel.
warm regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Margaret Island
Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget
Danubius Hotel Helia
#74 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
#123 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#99 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,228 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
Lion's Garden Hotel
#73 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget

Property: Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
Address: Margitsziget 23800, Budapest 1007, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Margaret Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#47 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#47 Family Hotel in Budapest
#71 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget 4*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget is the city’s leading spa hotel, making use of a natural thermal spring on tranquil Margaret Island. The hotel is just ten minutes from the city centre, and boasts state-of-the-art facilities (including indoor and outdoor pools, sauna, steam room, aroma cabin and thermal bath, fitness room, beauty salon) and a range of treatments to help you relax and recharge. You can cycle or play tennis on Margaret Island, take a Danube cruise or enjoy a healthy and tasty meal in the excellent hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget Hotel Budapest
Danubius Health Hotel Margitsziget
Danubius Health Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing