We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You don't need to leave this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
Ranked #64 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Pecs, Hungary
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“You don't need to leave this hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

If you want a wellness holiday with a little bit city tour, you will get everything what you want. For example a lot of pools, aroma theraphy, steam, etc etc. The hotel is in the Margit-Island and little bit hard to reach, because the Island and the center of the city and have a district zone to not enter any car or transport.

You will like the sight from your room and not hear from the city noise.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterbago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We hope you had a safe trip back home and first of all we would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel your last stay again in Budapest. We are pleased that you had a memorable stay with us and you enjoyed our facilities.
Thank you very much for your positive comments and hope we can welcome you back next time too.
kind regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    558
    190
    58
    26
See reviews for
370
500
91
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Spent 3 nights here during extremely hot weather. Air conditioning in the large nicely decorated rooms worked well.Indoor spa facilities are very good and well maintained. The outdoor pool is smaller than it appears on the website but a welcome addition during the hot weather. Unfortunately,both the pool and deck area were made uncomfortable by several groups of beer drinkers (probably attending the Sziget Music Festival which was on during the same week). This seemed totally out of character for the more relaxed clientele.
The breakfast was first class with a good variety for all tastes. Didn't try the evening buffet, though did have the a la carte in the adjoining Grand Hotel on one evening which was very good.
It was disappointing that it was not possible to order a drink (even water) from the bar/reception staff @ 11.50pm, having returned from a walk around the lovely island.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas Gerald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for sharing your opinion about the hotel.
Thank you for your positive comments on the spa facilities and breakfast, which you found first class with a good variety for all tastes.
Looking forward to hearing again from you, I remain
with best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

First of all: the hotel is located on the North side of Margaret Island and the only access to downtown is a taxi - which was like 9-10 euros.

When you enter the hotel you step into time machine for Soviet Union back in the 80's. It was very dreary. Check in wasn't friendly but we managed to get our upgraded room. The room was way out dated, although the balcony was nice. Everything was the original stuff from the 80's. The hotel room is clean, so kudos to the cleaners.

We stayed in the 8th floor so the views of the city were great at night.

Wireless Internet wasn't free, that was a bummer.

We had some problems with air conditioning, went to the receptionist to complain and at the end they didn't do nothing. You could imagine sleeping without A/C when there is 33 degrees celsius at night. And the elevator didn't work as well.

Swimming pool was very crowded.

The parking is free. That's the only good thing about this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tommypee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for sharing your opinion about our hotel. ,
I completely agree with you when you say " you step into time machine for Soviet Union back in the 80's – Yes, it was built in the end of the 70th years, from outside it will not gain the Oscar but we all try to do our best for our kind guests and convince them to visit us again.
We kindly inform you that we have a public bus travelling to the city in every 10-15 minutes at a rate of EUR 1,-, which is very cheap compared to travelling fees in other European countries and we have a city shuttle bus at EUR 3,-/ way as well.
Thank you for your comments regarding the cleanliness of the rooms and the view, which you found great at night.
Once again many thanks for your several positive points and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel.
Best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for a week for a conference. The lobby area is nice, but the rooms were shabby and poorly decorated. Every time after my room was cleaned, the bathroom smelled like several people had been smoking in it which was very unpleasant. Our air conditioning system had to be fixed twice and our room was usually way too hot. The facilities and the island were nice though and the location was pretty good. Overall it was simply just ok.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guinness304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
We hope you had a safe trip back home and first of all we would like to thank you for having chosen the Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget for your last stay in Budapest. We are pleased that you had a nice stay with us and you found the location pretty good.
Thank you very much for your positive comments and hope we can welcome you back next time too.
kind regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
112 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Have been at Danubius for a "dental holiday" at the clinic that is inside the hotel so I chose Danubius for a matter of proximity.
It is not my first time either.
Unless you want to take advantage of one of the clinics or the spa of the hotel or you just want to spend some quiet days on this lovely island you should choose other hotels in Budapest that offer higher standards at similar prices and are in a better position to explore the city and above all for dining options.

€15 euro for a breakfast of this standard is simply a steal and I've never found on any website a package inclusive of it.
I feel the hotel takes advantage of the fact that it is in the middle of nowhere so it's not like you can walk out to have breakfast elsewhere unless you're willing to wait 20/30 minutes.

My trick is ordering the breakfast in the room for one person and for €15 two people can eat plenty.

The room is spacious and comfortable my only complaint would be the bathroom where the shower foldable glass will not even stay open and above all does not seal the tub so the water goes everywhere and also the hook of the shower is set in a way that you cannot leave it while you shower yourself or the water will go over the glass and everywhere so you have to close the water or hold it in your hand - weird.

My second major complaint which I have never experienced in my life - and I visit maybe 30 hotels a year for work and pleasure - in 4 nights of staying the sheets were changed... NEVER.

Going to downtown is no drama, there is a bus outside the hotel that takes you to the metro and in 5 stops you are there.
Slightly over €1 for the bus and again slightly over €1 for the metro because you must use individual tickets (beware of frequent checks and €50 fines if you don't have the ticket)

So you have to consider than in a day you will at least spend an additional €5 each for transportation from/to the island.
Or as I do, go by bus and metro one way and walk 5km back to the island which helps keep the weight from the great Hungarian food and gerbaud sweets off.

It is a rather coldly managed hotel lacking individual service (my mother has been here 7 times and no one's ever welcomed her back for example) and its catering to senior guests who are up at 6am doing the spa and off to bed at 9 - in fact at 9 the bar downstairs and the restaurant are pretty dead if not closed already.

Bottom line: you wanna visit Budapest? Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmv80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for sharing your opinion about our hotel, and it is a pleasure for us that you and your mother are regular guests of us.
We kindly inform you that we have several special packages including breakfast at very cheap prices. Ordering breakfast in the room belongs to our services but we charge a room service fee for this service.
Of course there are several more modern, newer hotels in Budapest, but they do not offer the same services and same prices as we do.

Thank you for your comments regarding the transport to the city. Should you spend more nights in Budapest, I would suggest to buy a 3 days ticket, which is very cheap and is valid for all means of transportation within the capital.

You are completely right when you say that senior guests are up at 6 am and go to bed at 9 pm but our restaurant awaits you until 11 pm and our bar until midnight hoping to be at your service.

We do very much hope you will find the time to return back to our hotel and that we can regain your confidence.IBest regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Hotel location is a bonus, the island is lovely to walk around. Hotel restaurant was closed so eat in the sister Grand hotel buffet one night and it was fine. Pools in the spa are a real bonus, great place to relax after some very hot days at the GP.
The fountain at the other end of the island is well worth a visit after dark to see the light show. Room was comfortable if a bit dated decor, but everything worked fine.
There are not many restaurants near the hotel, a couple at the other end of the island, we got took by mistake by a taxi driver to an all you can eat and drink Troffergrill that is only ten minutes walk from the hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bernard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you very much for posting a positive review on our Hotel.
We are very happy that you were satisfied with the location and services of the hotel and you mentioned that "the hotel location is bonus". It is a pleasure for us that you found the buffet dinner fine and could relax during the hot days.
We do very much hope you will find the time to return back to our hotel.
Best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife and I have been here twice: 2007 and just recently in May, 2013. The room we stayed in was large and comfortable and the balcony looks out over the Danube. Amazing views. The staff is always pleasant and helpful. The buffet is extensive for both breakfast and dinner. You might want to research a package which includes meals.

Of course, for us, the best part is the amazing spa. There are multiple pools of varying temperatures for swimming or just soaking. There are three types of saunas. And their staff of massage therapists and other health practitioners are very well trained and pleasant.

We will go there again on our next trip to Budapest!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a view room. One side is Buda, the other Pest. Also if you stay on the Executive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sander F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for your positive note on TripAdvisor website about your recent stay in our Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget. We are pleased that you had a good experience and a pleasant stay and found the room comfortable, the view amazing, the staff helpful. Thank you for your comments "you might want to research a package which indludes meals" - yes, the more meals and treatments you take, the cheaper your accommodation is calculated. You are absolutely right when you say that our massage therapists and other health practitioners are very well trained. In Hungary a strong emphasis is layed on training in health.
Once again many thanks for your kind feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel.
kind regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Margaret Island
Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget
Danubius Hotel Helia
#71 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
#125 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#96 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,364 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
Lion's Garden Hotel
#75 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget

Property: Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
Address: Margitsziget 23800, Budapest 1007, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Margaret Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#46 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#47 Family Hotel in Budapest
#71 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget 4*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you live in Budapest or have come from further afield, you are sure to fall in love with the atmosphere of this quiet island in the centre of the vibrant capital. It’s no coincidence that the Margaret Island wellness hotel, with its thermal water springs, has been the choice of generations! The hotel caters to visitors seeking medical treatments or wellness pampering, as well as those looking for a venue for their business event or wedding. Outside the hotel, guests can take part in various sporting activities (from running and rowing to tennis and cycling), while the footpaths connecting the historical sites of Margaret Island are perfect for a stroll. You may not want to return to everyday life after a visit to the island of peace! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget Hotel Budapest
Danubius Health Hotel Margitsziget
Danubius Health Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing