We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place for a relaxing spa break.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
Ranked #64 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place for a relaxing spa break.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just spent 4 nights here on a very good package that gave me one night free + a massage and discount other treatments.This was actually my second visit to this hotel so I knew what I wanted in terms of position of my room [ high up as possible , with a river view] and was given exactly that!
Particularly enjoyed the thermal pools, steam room and sauna and hope to return here again next year!

Room Tip: high up and on the Buda side for best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pennmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

We hope you had a safe trip back home and first of all we would like to thank you for having chosen the Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget for your last stay again in Budapest. We are pleased that you had a memorable stay with us and you enjoyed our facilities.
Thank you very much for your positive comments and hope we can welcome you back next time too.
kind regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    530
    178
    54
    26
See reviews for
348
468
88
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have just stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and had a fantastic break. The hotel is very spacious, clean and friendly. I noted some people say it is dated, it is not a modern hotel, but it is no way old fashioned it is a hotel that suits all tastes for a spa break. The rooms are very clean, light and airy, the bed was very comfortable, all the usual toiletries in the bathroom, bathrobes and slippers, if I had to make a critisicm it would be the towels could have been a little fluffier!! The service throughout the hotel is excellent, everyone was helpful and friendly. My husband and I had some treatments, facials and massage whilst we were there and they were excellent, again the staff were very nice infact they went out of their way to be extra helpful. The spa facilities again where very good, a good size indoor swimming pool, thermal bath jacuzzi, hydro pool, steam room and sauna one for men and one for women. also a fitness suite which we didn't use. If I wanted a spa break again I would certainly visit here again.
The location of the hotel is good, there is a bus (no 16) which takes you from outside the hotel into the city, you can then pick up other buses, trams or metro for various locations. The only disappointment with this is that the last bus back to the hotel is around 10pm otherwise you need to use taxis or walk (probably too far though). We ate out in the evening in the city and then got the last bus back at 10pm and then had a drink back at the hotel.
Breakfast was good, I've had better, but certainly adequate, if you couldn't find enough for breakfast here then you would have to be very fussy. Cold meats,cheese, hot food, cereals, toast, jams, fruit, yoghurts, pastries and more.

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra go for an executive room. A room away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for posting a positive review on our Hotel.
We are very happy that you were satisfied with our services and for your comment: "the hotel suites all tastes for a spa break". It is a pleasure for us that you found the service excellent, the staff friendly and helpful.
Thank you for your useful comments on the traffic on the Margaret Island too.
Once again many thanks for your kind feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel.
Best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hotel is set in a nice setting on an island. The decoration is frankly very outdated and it feels very run down. The rooms are good size but quite dirty - the sofas had all stains and I had to put a towel on them to sit. The service is like back during the communism - you barely get acknowledged when you get to the reception, you always have to wait until someone gets interested in you. The treatments and spa facilities are quite nice but rather expensive. What is the biggest rip off however is the hotel bar and the taxis in front of the hotel (you should always call your own). All in all I would not go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks from the management for taking time for a short review on tripAdvisor website,over your stay in our Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget.
We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our hotel and your feedback helps us to improve our services..
We really appreciate your comments like "The hotel is set in a nice setting on an island". We hope you could enjoy this beautiful surroundings.
We completely agree with your that the rooms are a bit tired,and could use a bit of a facelift.
We all sincerely hope that our owners -a Real Estate company based in the U.K - will soon raise the funds necessary for a small facelift of the rooms.
Regarding your comments on the prices in our spa I can assure you that all of our prices suit a 4star hotel category. Of course if you buy a bound of treatments we can offer you different discounts. Comparing these rates to other hotels's prices abroad we can state that our guests come to a good service at a very good price.
Thank you again for your kind feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again at DHSRM.
Best regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Danubius hotel is a great place to stay for a business or pleasure trip to Budapest, mainly due to the peaceful setting and facilities on-site. This was my fourth visit to the hotel and I will certainly stay again. The rooms are dated, but always clean and comfortable, although too hot in the summer for my personal tastes due to the poor/lack of in-room air conditioning.

The on-site dining is a little lacklustre, with the buffet at the connecting Grand Hotel very poor. The breakfast is good, but expensive for Hungary so you should be prepared for this. The only other issue for me is the in-room WiFi is very expensive, which for the business traveller is a big issue. This being said, the hotel is normally reasonably priced so as long as you are not expecting a modern, central hotel you should be pleased with the accomodation.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank NotRuthWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time for a short review on tripAdvisor website over your fourth stay at the Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget. and it is a pleasure for us that you found our hotel a great place to stay for business and leisure as well. We highly appreciate your comments on the rooms' cleanness and comfort despite of the relative dated (12 years old) furniture. We do our best to provide our guests as much as we can afford in order to ensure them a pleasant stay with us.
Regarding the WIFI I kindly inform you that use can use Internet in the lobby free of charge, only in the rooms is WIFI chargeable.
We really do hope to welcome you at our hotel back again and again.

Best regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

We only stayed here for 2 nights, but this is a very clean, well-managed hotel with a reputation spanning a few decades.
The rooms are clean, service is good and the spa facilities are above average.
One can also use the fitness centre. This is also complimentary.
.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelcheto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for sharing your opinion about the hotel and found our hotel well-managed, the rooms clean, the service good and the spa facilities above average. Looking forward to hearing again from you, I remain
with best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Hi!After many failed attempts to visit the famous baths/Spas, we went to this hotel, located on the Margitsziget Island on the Danube, connected to the Margaret Bridge.Took the Bus after alighting from the tram, all the way to the Hotel and used their thermal baths, after a great massage around the end of our tour.Very clean surroundings.5 star service.We loved it.You can see the traditional baths as well, but do not miss the surroundings here.On our trip back to the bridge we just walked the 4,5 km stretch taking our own time,rather than taking a bus which was always crowded.Beautiful botanical gardens, and a musical fountain, steered by the musical rythem of Beethoven for instance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raminder J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you very much for posting a positive review on our Hotel.
We are very happy that you were satisfied with the location of the hotel and you could enjoy a great massage and you found the surroundings very clean and like a 5star service.
We do very much hope that we can welcome you again at our hotel.
Best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

The hotel is away from the hustle and bustle, which is great. The reception staff were very friendly, helpful and patient, they gave us some tips to travel in the city center. They even allowed us to use their spa freely for the whole day upon our check out, which we initially thought it wouldn't happen!

Washroom was clean, bed was comfortable, everything was functioning, no complaints. We didn't need aircond as the air outside was fresh and just nice.

The spa center is bigger than we thought it would be, but you have to pay for other services like massage and salt therapy.

Free parking (who doesn't like free stuff?)! However we would advice the guests to park in front of the hotel where the CCTVs are.

We didn't have breakfast there as it wasn't included, so no comment on that.
We had a nice stay in this hotel and will definitely go back again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for your positive note on TripAdvisor website about your recent stay in our Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget. We are pleased that you had a good experience and a pleasant stay and found the room comfortable and clean and found the staff very friendly.
Once again many thanks for your kind feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel.
kind regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Margaret Island
Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget
Danubius Hotel Helia
#73 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
#124 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#99 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,201 reviews
Lion's Garden Hotel
#74 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget

Property: Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
Address: Margitsziget 23800, Budapest 1007, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Margaret Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#46 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#47 Family Hotel in Budapest
#71 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget 4*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget is the city’s leading spa hotel, making use of a natural thermal spring on tranquil Margaret Island. The hotel is just ten minutes from the city centre, and boasts state-of-the-art facilities (including indoor and outdoor pools, sauna, steam room, aroma cabin and thermal bath, fitness room, beauty salon) and a range of treatments to help you relax and recharge. You can cycle or play tennis on Margaret Island, take a Danube cruise or enjoy a healthy and tasty meal in the excellent hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget Hotel Budapest
Danubius Health Hotel Margitsziget
Danubius Health Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing