We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but Dated Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
Ranked #64 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good, but Dated Hotel”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Danubius hotel is a great place to stay for a business or pleasure trip to Budapest, mainly due to the peaceful setting and facilities on-site. This was my fourth visit to the hotel and I will certainly stay again. The rooms are dated, but always clean and comfortable, although too hot in the summer for my personal tastes due to the poor/lack of in-room air conditioning.

The on-site dining is a little lacklustre, with the buffet at the connecting Grand Hotel very poor. The breakfast is good, but expensive for Hungary so you should be prepared for this. The only other issue for me is the in-room WiFi is very expensive, which for the business traveller is a big issue. This being said, the hotel is normally reasonably priced so as long as you are not expecting a modern, central hotel you should be pleased with the accomodation.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank NotRuthWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time for a short review on tripAdvisor website over your fourth stay at the Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget. and it is a pleasure for us that you found our hotel a great place to stay for business and leisure as well. We highly appreciate your comments on the rooms' cleanness and comfort despite of the relative dated (12 years old) furniture. We do our best to provide our guests as much as we can afford in order to ensure them a pleasant stay with us.
Regarding the WIFI I kindly inform you that use can use Internet in the lobby free of charge, only in the rooms is WIFI chargeable.
We really do hope to welcome you at our hotel back again and again.

Best regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    598
    200
    64
    27
See reviews for
394
534
93
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

We only stayed here for 2 nights, but this is a very clean, well-managed hotel with a reputation spanning a few decades.
The rooms are clean, service is good and the spa facilities are above average.
One can also use the fitness centre. This is also complimentary.
.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelcheto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for sharing your opinion about the hotel and found our hotel well-managed, the rooms clean, the service good and the spa facilities above average. Looking forward to hearing again from you, I remain
with best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Hi!After many failed attempts to visit the famous baths/Spas, we went to this hotel, located on the Margitsziget Island on the Danube, connected to the Margaret Bridge.Took the Bus after alighting from the tram, all the way to the Hotel and used their thermal baths, after a great massage around the end of our tour.Very clean surroundings.5 star service.We loved it.You can see the traditional baths as well, but do not miss the surroundings here.On our trip back to the bridge we just walked the 4,5 km stretch taking our own time,rather than taking a bus which was always crowded.Beautiful botanical gardens, and a musical fountain, steered by the musical rythem of Beethoven for instance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raminder J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you very much for posting a positive review on our Hotel.
We are very happy that you were satisfied with the location of the hotel and you could enjoy a great massage and you found the surroundings very clean and like a 5star service.
We do very much hope that we can welcome you again at our hotel.
Best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The hotel is away from the hustle and bustle, which is great. The reception staff were very friendly, helpful and patient, they gave us some tips to travel in the city center. They even allowed us to use their spa freely for the whole day upon our check out, which we initially thought it wouldn't happen!

Washroom was clean, bed was comfortable, everything was functioning, no complaints. We didn't need aircond as the air outside was fresh and just nice.

The spa center is bigger than we thought it would be, but you have to pay for other services like massage and salt therapy.

Free parking (who doesn't like free stuff?)! However we would advice the guests to park in front of the hotel where the CCTVs are.

We didn't have breakfast there as it wasn't included, so no comment on that.
We had a nice stay in this hotel and will definitely go back again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for your positive note on TripAdvisor website about your recent stay in our Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget. We are pleased that you had a good experience and a pleasant stay and found the room comfortable and clean and found the staff very friendly.
Once again many thanks for your kind feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel.
kind regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

lovely room in a wonderful location no need to leave the hotel or the island if a relaxing break is what is needed. spa facilities are excellent. however our room was missing an information booklet telling us basics like what time and where breakfast was served transport links laundry ect. when mentioned to reception the answer was to ask them as they are always there, however there is often a queue and people sometimes want to check thing out in their rooms. Dinner in the grand was an experience the food was good but found we had a la carte and it was distracting and with an air if the canteen about it with people getting up and down to the buffet and the mad musicians. It would be better if the buffet was in the plantain restaurant and a la carte in the Grand to allow diners a better choice of environment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karngalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We hope you had a safe trip back home and first of all we would like to thank you for having chosen the Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget for your last stay in Budapest. We are pleased that you had a memorable stay with us and you found our spa excellent and you liked the dinner at the restaurant.
Thank you very much for your positive comments and hope we can welcome you back next time too.
kind regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Location is great, peaceful, but not far from the centre of Budapest. Spa is also very nice.

We didn't take the breakfast, because it's very expensive. Same goes for the restaurant next door, but there are a few restaurants on the southern part of the island which are excellent (and a lot cheaper).

Bed was quite uncomfortable, airco not very good. Housekeeping was going in and out during the whole day, starting at 8:30, which was quite annoying. And they also had the annoying habit of taking our towels and bathrobes away early in the morning, and returning clean ones late in the afternoon, so we constantly had to go to the reception to ask for new ones when we wanted to use the spa facilities or take a shower during the day.

Helpful?
Thank cjb1983
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for posting a positive review on our Hotel.
We are very happy that you were satisfied with the location of the hotel and you found it peaceful.
Thank you for your useful comments on the housekeeping service.
There is a continuous effort to improve our services.
We do very much hope you will find the time to return back to our hotel.
Best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We have been visiting this hotel every year since 2005 because we like the excellent spa facilities and its location on Margaret Island. All these years our permanent complain has been the indifferent attitude of the reception staff. This year two young ladies (one at the reception and the other in the small shop from where we bought the bus tickets) made the exception. The management must work hard on improving the front desk. The housekeeping has been greatly improved and the cleaning ladies are efficient and polite. A minor complain is the condition of the mattresses (dated and hard, they clearly indicate their age).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nina_auth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for sharing your opinion about the hotel and it is a special pleasure for us that you are a regular guest of our hotel because of our spa facilities.
Thank you for your comments on the housekeeping staff and we are pleased that you have noticed the improvement and hard work of them and you appreciate their work and politeness.
We do hope to be able better and better from year to year and that you will test this improvement the next time as well.
Looking forward to hearing again from you, I remain
with best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Margaret Island
Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget
Danubius Hotel Helia
#69 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
#125 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#96 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,542 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
Lion's Garden Hotel
#75 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget

Property: Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
Address: Margitsziget 23800, Budapest 1007, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Margaret Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#46 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#47 Family Hotel in Budapest
#71 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget 4*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you live in Budapest or have come from further afield, you are sure to fall in love with the atmosphere of this quiet island in the centre of the vibrant capital. It’s no coincidence that the Margaret Island wellness hotel, with its thermal water springs, has been the choice of generations! The hotel caters to visitors seeking medical treatments or wellness pampering, as well as those looking for a venue for their business event or wedding. Outside the hotel, guests can take part in various sporting activities (from running and rowing to tennis and cycling), while the footpaths connecting the historical sites of Margaret Island are perfect for a stroll. You may not want to return to everyday life after a visit to the island of peace! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget Hotel Budapest
Danubius Health Hotel Margitsziget
Danubius Health Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing