We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“do not be concerned about the neighbourhood”
Review of Ambra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ambra Hotel
Ranked #64 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Yes, the neighborhood seems sketchy, but in reality, that's Budapest.
The people hanging around are not "gangs", just smokers to which Budapest has a monopoly on them.The hotel is ideally situated with many great restaurants nea by and one which the hotel recommended has a FREE pick up and drop off.
The place is spotless, the breakfast overwhelming, and the parking in their garage an adventure. The staff are top drawer and very gracious and helpful in everything from dinner spots to tours. Andrea however deserves a raise as the owner parked his car in the elevator and we could not get out. She had to tactfully interrupt his meeting so the guest could get their car out. He should know better!!!!!!!
If we go back, this is the place for us.

Room Tip: Open the window at once as they are warm and t was only 5 C when we were there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carnarvon50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Dear Bedrule,

Thank you very much for taking time to write and post your kind review to Tripadvisor. We are absolutely delighted that you were fully satisfied with our services and staff during your holiday at Best Western Plus Hotel Ambra. Also thank you for highlighting to our friendliness and helpfull of our staff. It is very pleasent for us that you will choose us again when you visit Budapest next time.
Waiting you back!

Best regards,

Judit Kiss
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (696)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 697 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on a city break to Budapest. We choose it based on previous Trip Advisor reviews. We were not disappointed. The staff were friendly, the room although basic was clean and comfortable. Our request for a particular room was met without problem. The breakfast is basic, but fresh. There is also 24 hour tea/coffee and water available in reception. The staff can give you suggestions for dinner or sight seeing.
The hotel is located within a short walk of the main sights, shops and some lovely restaurants.
We would definitely recommend it.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank MandP13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Mand,
Thank you very much for your detailed description of our Hotel. It is always good to read such a comprehensive and detail oriented review. It was my pleasure to read how much you liked our central location and the neighbouring area. I will let the staff know that you were fully satisfied with them and their suggestions of restaurants and sightseeing trips were suitable for you! Also thank you for pointing to the freshness of our breakfast and to our popular open-bar.
In case you would like to visit Budapest again do not hesitate to choose Best Western Hotel Ambra again!

Best regards,

Judit Kiss
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I was in this hotel last week and had an amazing time.Great location, the rooms are large and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a problem with the payment with Smart-box and helped us to solve it. I recommend it

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank Alda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Alda,
Let me thank you for leaving your excellent five star review here at Tripadvisor. It is a pleasure to read that you found our staff very helpful. We always do our best to solve the problems. Thank you for describing our room large and comfortable.
I'm sure that these kind of nice comment will be helpful for other travelers to choose our Hotel!
Hope to see you again one day!

Best regards,

Judit Kiss
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Good hotel. Room was spacious and well equiped. Breakfast was good, fresh products each day. Location is excellent near the Andrassy Ut and the hotel staff was very friendly and helpfull. Would recommend for a City trip.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank TomV9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Tom,
Thank you very much for your nice words about us here at Tripadvisor. It was very kind of you for highlighting to our breakfast service and the appearance of the staff. Also thank you for mentioning our location in the downtown area.
In case if you come to Budapest next time please choose us again!

Best regards,

Judit Kiss
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

we stayed there for one night and cannot say anything bad...reception staff very friendly and helpful.location in the centre so it was close to get anywhere we want...nice,clean hotel,breakfast very nice aswell.definately recommended ....

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fedo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Fedo,
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is a pleasure to read that everything met your expectations from services to staff in our Hotel. Also thanks for mentioning our center location.
I hope your recommendation will be important for other travelers whom would like to choose us!
Waiting you back!

Best regards,

Judit Kiss
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Very friendly helpful staff; comfortable rooms; excellent breakfast! Location is close to the city center, though a bit hard to find the first time you drive there. Great value for the price if you plan ahead.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back if you desire a really quiet stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RUFUS W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Rufus,
Let me thank you for taking time to post your review here at Tripadvisor as well. As one of the most time returner guest of us it is a real pleasure for me to read that you always satisfied with our staff and services. Maybe now you know our names from faces :). Thank you for pointing to our valuable price!
I'm sure that we will welcome you back again in the near future!
See you soon!

Best regards,

Judit Kiss
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Hotel Ambra in Budapest is ideally situated hotel near the Opera metro station. Lobby small but very nicely decorated. Service delightfully. Room large, clean, with basic things. The room LCD TV. Bathroom large, clean. The restaurant downstairs available 24 coffee, chocolate, mineral - great stuff. Both check in and out fast without problems. Breakfast basic but very tasty. WiFi in the rooms walking steadily and without problems. Hotel guard command.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPopiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Mr Popiel,
I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time to post your reply of your previous stay in our Hotel, Best Western Plus Hotel Ambra. It was a pleasure for me to read your kind description about our staff and services. Thank you very much for highlighting everything from our open-bar to the room equipments, as well including the professionality of our staff. I am also happy that our breakfast acclaimed your pleasure.
On behalf of the whole staff I can say that we would be very happy if we can welcome you back next time!

Best regards,

Judit Kiss
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
12 Revay Hotel
#34 of 334 in Budapest
357 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Carat Boutique Hotel
Carat Boutique Hotel
#36 of 334 in Budapest
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casati Budapest Hotel
#5 of 334 in Budapest
1,209 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Regency Suites Hotel Budapest
District V / Inner City
Estilo Fashion Hotel
Estilo Fashion Hotel
#49 of 334 in Budapest
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambra Hotel

Address: Kis Diofa utca 13., Budapest 1077, Hungary (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra)
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#86 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $74 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The whole hotel is redesigned in 2016. The 37 bedrooms are in boutique style, all equipped with stylish interior, air-conditioning, safe, minibar, LCD TV, free use of wireless internet.Full hot and cold buffet breakfast is served for the guests offering delicious international and traditional Hungarian dishes. We provide free coffee, tea and snacks in our open bar all day long. Tablets are available on the Lobby area , the wireless internet is free of charge in the entire area of the hotel. Safe, underground garage is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Splitty, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ambra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambra Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing