We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ambra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambra Hotel
Ranked #66 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Staff”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I had a short visit in Budapest and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. the staff were really helpful and lovely, especially reception staff. We had an amazing breakfast and there was a huge variety of food. The location of the hotel is good, it is close to some good restaurants and bars and the city centre. In summary I think that was a good decision to stay here and I'm sure I will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank szabolcs b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Szabolcs,
Thank you very much for your fabulous review. On behalf of the whole staff I can say that we are extremely delighted that you had a great time in our Hotel. Also thank you for mentioning the helpfulness and the professional service of the reception staff and the variety of the breakfast.
I am sure that you won't hesitate to choose us again if you come to Budapest!

Best regards,

Gergely Hnatyszyn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    289
    90
    33
    11
See reviews for
101
265
33
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I stayed here in this hotel for two nights and booked the double deluxe room!! Here is my review!!

Positive

1) The ability to check in early honored at 10AM.. Even though the official check in time is 2PM..

2) The Room is huge, spotless and clean!! Very comfortable!!

3) The location is good!! just two minutes walk from the Opera house.. Though the location has its negative side as well

4) The breakfast is comprehensive, though I won't complain because of the price!!

5) The price is extremely affordable for a nice room!!

Negatives..

1) The location also has its negative side, it is located in quite an undesirable neighborhood.. there are many graffitis everywhere.. Furthermore, the place is quite difficult to find especially when its dark, the streets around this area is pretty dark!!

2) The toilet is actually quite smelly, otherwise, everything else is fine!!

Overall, this hotel exceeds my expectation and I will be back!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Stef,
Thank you very much for taking time to leave your positive feedback of your last stay in our Hotel.
Your detailed description could be very helpful for other future guests. I am pleased to read that you were fully satisfied with your room and with our breakfast service. You described the location excellently, the surrounding area is busy in the weekends because of its centre location.
I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back next time!

Best regards,
Gergely Hnatyszyn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This is a relatively small hotel and we found our room, which was on the top with 2 dorma windows to be small and hot - the air conditioner struggled to keep up. The staff however, were lovely and helpful and the breakfast was good. The hotel does not have any good view, in fact, we walked out onto a small street with graffiti cover walls. There were some lovely quaint bars/easting places down the road and the hotel is very well situated with regards to a short walk to the centre of the town and the hop on hop off bus, which we also enjoyed. All in all I would not rate this as a 4 star hotel, but it was comfortable and clean and we enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANNE K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Anne,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your thoughts about your previous stay in Best Western Plus Hotel Ambra. I am a littlebit sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your room. The heating works centrally in the hotel however you can rule the temperature in your room on the radiator. Thank you for mentioning the friendliness of our staff and your satisfaction of the breakfast. Aside from the little incident of the room I hope we can welcome you again next time if you visit Budapest again!
Best regards
Gergely Hnatyszyn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This hotel was very nice and neat. It wasn't fancy, but was very modern with a nice breakfast area. Breakfast was included in the price and it was very nice, with enough to choose from. It was also great to have coffee/hot chocolate, cold drinks and snacks available in the breakfast room 24 hrs!
.
Although it was in an area with a lot of demolition (graffiti/abandoned buildings), it was in a great location. Only walking distance to restaurants, bars, sight seeing and shopping, with a supermarket across the road and a small bakery.
.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and assisted with each enquiry..
.
Negatives:
The internet site for this hotel failed to inform customers that they turn the air conditioner off in winter! Our room was so hot (full length windows) that it felt like a sauna! I informed the staff and they were going to move us, but that wouldn't have solved the problem because we needed a cool room! In saying this, the staff handled my complaint very well. So be prepared for no air con if you are travelling in the autumn/winter months.
.
It was also quite noisy at times because the patrons from the local bars would walk past the hotel late at night.
.
Overall, I would stay here again and recommend this hotel.
.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Simone,
I am very happy that we have such a guests like you who take their valuable time to post a detailed description of your previous holiday. Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and staff. We are clearly delighted that you enjoyed your stay here and you were fully satisfied with our services. Also thank you for the building critics, we are trying to improve from day to day.
Hope to welcome you again!

Gergely Hnatyszyn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed there fore 2 nights together with our little one and it was a nice experience.
- friendly people at the reception
- rich breakfast
- new factility
- close to subway & hop/on of bus
Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterF-Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Peter,
Let me thank you for taking your valuable time for posting your review about Best Western Plus Hotel Ambra. It is very kind from you for highlighting your positive experiences to other travellers.
I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back of your next stay in Budapest!

Best regards,

Gergely Hnatyszyn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Excellent location for walking into the city, and very close to numerous restaurants & bars. St Stephens Basilica is only 5 minutes' walk. We had some minor issues with our 1st floor room, and were quickly moved to another room on the 5th floor, without any fuss. The rooms at the front of the hotel seem quite noisy from outdoor noise, as the doubleglazing isn't 100% effective, but for the price of the rooms, this is a minor criticism, and overall, this hotel offers excellent value for money. The reception staff were extremely helpful and friendly, in particular Andrea.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear John,
Thank you very much for posting your review and sharing your experiences about your previous stay in our Hotel. We are happy that you were satisfied with the price of the room. Also thank you for mentioning the professionality of our staff we always try to do our best.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you again in the near future!

Best regards,

Gergely Hnatyszyn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This was a terrific, clean and friendly small, modern hotel in Budapest. The location was wonderful since you could walk around the city quite easily. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast, especially the scrambled eggs. All of the reception staff were outstanding, with special kudos to Bernadett. The advice she provided concerning recommendations for sightseeing was great and no matter how many questions we asked, she always responded professionally and with such patience. I felt by the end of our week-long stay that we had made a friend. My husband and I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Anita,
I would like to thank you for leaving this fantastic comment about us here at Tripadvisor. It is great to see that you were pleased with the location. Also it is a pleasure for us that the breakfast facilities fully met your expectations and you were totally satisfied with our staff. In the name of Bernadett I send you the greetings from her.
I hope we can welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Gergely Hnatyszyn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Regency Suites Hotel Budapest
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Carat Boutique Hotel
Carat Boutique Hotel
#41 of 342 in Budapest
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Soho Boutique Hotel
Soho Boutique Hotel
#82 of 342 in Budapest
1,370 reviews
12 Revay Hotel
#34 of 342 in Budapest
269 reviews
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambra Hotel

Property: Ambra Hotel
Address: Kis Diofa utca 13., Budapest 1077, Hungary (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra)
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#86 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The whole hotel is redesigned in 2016. The 37 bedrooms are in boutique style, all equipped with stylish interior, air-conditioning, safe, minibar, LCD TV, free use of wireless internet.Full hot and cold buffet breakfast is served for the guests offering delicious international and traditional Hungarian dishes. We provide free coffee, tea and snacks in our open bar all day long. Tablets are available on the Lobby area , the wireless internet is free of charge in the entire area of the hotel. Safe, underground garage is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambra Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing