We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short visit in Budapest”
Review of Ambra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambra Hotel
Ranked #56 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Small but cozy and clean hotel in the city center. Very good location for walking around the city. All staff, especially reception staff are extremely helpful. All queries can be dealt with immediately. Breakfast is adequate if you are not very fond of English breakfast. Coffee, tea, water and snacks are available throughout the day, free of charge, as there is no bar or restaurant in the hotel.
Would go back again!

Room Tip: Avoid single rooms as they are interconnecting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank africa313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you very much for taking time and effort to post your kind review about our Hotel here at Tripadvisor. We are happy that everything fully met your expectations especially our staff and breakfast. It is very nice from you for recommending us to other guests!
We are waiting for your return!

Best regards,

Gergely Hnatyszyn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (725)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 725 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were so happy to have stayed at Hotel Ambra, which is a small hotel with helpful and friendly staff always with smile. Staff helped us plan trips, reserve restaurants and taxis. We've never had such good service before. Breakfast was amazing and the location is excellent, easy to walk to the main street, the Parlamient and the Opera. Our room was always extremely clean with delicious sweets.

Very good value!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Alexandra,
I would like to thank you for leaving your positive thoughts about our Hotel. It was a pleasure to read your kind words about our staff and services. We are delighted that everything fully met your expectations including the breakfast and the cleanliness of the room.
I hope you will choose Best Western Plus Hotel Ambra when you visit our beautiful city again!

Best regards,

Gergely Hnatyszyn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Very nice hotel really close to the city centre. We had a great holiday there with our little ones (a 3 year old and a 5 year old) due to the friendly and competent staff, the good organisation, and the helpful receptionists. They provided us with useful information about cultural programs, museums to visit and things not to miss with the kids. They always found a fast and efficient solution to our problems.

The rooms are spacious and clean, including the bathroom and the wc.

The breakfast is not expensive at all, with quality products and a great choice of food to satisfy all appetites!

Thanks eveyone working there to have made our holiday unforgettable. I can truly reccomend this hotel to everybody!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Isabelle,
Thank you very much for your fantastic review and rating here at Tripadvisor. On behalf of the whole staff I can say that we are extremely happy that you had a wonderful holiday in Budapest and in our Hotel as well. Also thank you for mentioning the hospitability of our staff.
Don't hesitate to choose us again if you are in Budapest!

Best regards,

Gergely Hnatyszyn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We spent three nights in room 104. Initial impressions were excellent - really convenient location which was out of the way enough to be quiet, but very handy - only a few minutes walk from the main Metro station or the opera. However things went downhill:
1. There is a door on the first floor to a balcony overlooking restaurant area. This means that any noise travels straight up to the first floor. As a result we were kept awake most of the first night by people in the restaurant area (which has a complimentary coffee machine) talking. I asked to be moved to a room not on the first floor but this was not possible, as the hotel was full.

2. There was no milk for the tea either in the room or in the complimentary drinks area in the restaurant area. We therefore ended up buying our own from the Spar supermarket opposite, which was fine but...

3. The minibar fridge didn't work at all. We reported this twice on the second day (after we had put our milk in it), but it still wasn't fixed by the end of our stay. What was worse was that the fan at the back of it was really noisy constantly, so we had the noise (which drowned out some of the noise from the voices on the first night), but no fridge!

4. The hotel offers complimentary bathrobes. We asked for these after our first night, and before the second night but they did not materialise. We asked again after our second night and before the third night and they FINALLY came just before we retired for bed on the third night.

5. Shower pressure was excellent. However, the water seemed to have lots of little black bits (probably from the pipes in it), which covered the shower tray (and presumably us), which wasn't very nice.

6. Water pressure in the basin was virtually non existent. It was impossible to fill the basin, as the water drained out, even when the plug was closed, as soon as it filled. I had to wash my face in running water rather than the basin.

7. The toilet continually refilled, which meant that as well as the noise from the fridge fan, and (on the first night) the people in the restaurant area, we also had the trickling from the loo 24 hours per day.

On the plus side the staff were friendly, though they didn't manage to arrange for the maintenance issues to be fixed, so not sure how effective they were. There was also a really nice drinks machine (coffee and hot chocolate and tea, but no milk) in the restaurant area which was complimentary, and complimentary snacks (crisps etc) there too, which we had before going out for dinner. The bed was also large and very comfy (one of the best I have stayed in for a long time). Breakfast was OK with a good selection of food, but very limited selection of cereal if you like cereal.

The hotel could be fantastic - it's location really is perfect (despite the area looking a bit dodgy, it isn't), and the decor is modern and smart. However, the maintenance issues and having to continually ask (in vain) that they be fixed really weren't good enough. I don't know how it can justify a four star rating.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are likely to be noisy at night if there are people in the restaurant area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Squrrel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Squrrel,
Thank you very much for taking time to write your long and fully detailed review of your stay in Budapest and about our Hotel! This will definitely help to other travelers. We are terrible sorry that you had complaints in the room and we couldn't fix it in time. We had a fully booked house during the whole week. We can promise if you choose us next time you will get higher floor room without any problems.
Best regards,

Gergely Hnatyszyn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Our stay in beautiful Budapest was shadowed by our suite in Best Western Ambra, where in suite 603 we could not close the door between our bathroom and bedroom (it was broken!!!), the babycot was broken on one size, though usable. The sleep sofa in the livingroom where our older son was supposed to sleep was completely broken. The kitchen had some amenities, but unfortunately all the glasses and plates (in the cuoboard!) were dirty, and no soap or sponge was available to wash them. All in all, not a good hotel.
Breakfast was fine, not exquisite but edible.
I can not imagine how this hotel was rated by Trip Advisor with a 1st place 2012. :-(

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hajni-and-Geerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Hajni and Geerd,
Thank you very much for taking time to write your review. We are extremely sad about you didn't enjoy your stay in our Hotel! Thank you for mention the problems you had in the room we will definitely fix them.
Best regards,

Gergely Hnatyszyn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Lovely small hotel in very convenient location. Very friendly and helpful reception staff. Medium-sized room for 2 with very good spacious walk-in shower. Clean and well-maintained inside although as mentioned by others the district does look a little suspect! Breakfast was buffet style in a nice bright room, with hot drinks & water available all the time. If, like me, you like a cup of English tea remember to take some with you! There are lots of fruit teas available but very few places served "English breakfast" tea.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Sue,
Thank you very much for taking time to post your excellent comment here at Tripadvisor.
Your detailed review could help in choosing us for other guests. We are glad that you enjoyed our free coffee&tea facilities in the Open Bar.
Don't hesitate to choose us again!
See you next time!

Gergely Hnatyszyn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We've spent three days in Budapest, in your downtown hotel. The reception, service was perfect, fast, and they spoke fluently in english and german. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The location of your hotel is very convinient, because it's close the big intersections, and most of the famous sites are easily reached by public transport, not to mention all the little restaurants around the place. The breakfast was various, everyone could choose by one's choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laszlo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Laszlo,
Thank you very much for posting your kind comment of your excellent stay in our Hotel. We are very happy that everything in the Hotel fully met your expectations including our staff and services.
We hope to welcome you next time of your visit in Budapest!
See you!

Gergely Hnatyszyn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
12 Revay Hotel
#35 of 336 in Budapest
372 reviews
Casati Budapest Hotel
#6 of 336 in Budapest
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Carat Boutique Hotel
Carat Boutique Hotel
#39 of 336 in Budapest
1,343 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Regency Suites Hotel Budapest
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Exe Danube Budapest
Exe Danube Budapest
#29 of 336 in Budapest
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambra Hotel

Address: Kis Diofa utca 13., Budapest 1077, Hungary (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra)
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#86 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $75 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The whole hotel is redesigned in 2016. The 37 bedrooms are in boutique style, all equipped with stylish interior, air-conditioning, safe, minibar, LCD TV, free use of wireless internet.Full hot and cold buffet breakfast is served for the guests offering delicious international and traditional Hungarian dishes. We provide free coffee, tea and snacks in our open bar all day long. Tablets are available on the Lobby area , the wireless internet is free of charge in the entire area of the hotel. Safe, underground garage is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ambra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambra Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing