We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Ambra Budapest”
Review of Ambra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ambra Hotel
Ranked #64 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Our stay in beautiful Budapest was shadowed by our suite in Best Western Ambra, where in suite 603 we could not close the door between our bathroom and bedroom (it was broken!!!), the babycot was broken on one size, though usable. The sleep sofa in the livingroom where our older son was supposed to sleep was completely broken. The kitchen had some amenities, but unfortunately all the glasses and plates (in the cuoboard!) were dirty, and no soap or sponge was available to wash them. All in all, not a good hotel.
Breakfast was fine, not exquisite but edible.
I can not imagine how this hotel was rated by Trip Advisor with a 1st place 2012. :-(

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hajni-and-Geerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Hajni and Geerd,
Thank you very much for taking time to write your review. We are extremely sad about you didn't enjoy your stay in our Hotel! Thank you for mention the problems you had in the room we will definitely fix them.
Best regards,

Gergely Hnatyszyn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
There are newer reviews for Ambra Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 673 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

Lovely small hotel in very convenient location. Very friendly and helpful reception staff. Medium-sized room for 2 with very good spacious walk-in shower. Clean and well-maintained inside although as mentioned by others the district does look a little suspect! Breakfast was buffet style in a nice bright room, with hot drinks & water available all the time. If, like me, you like a cup of English tea remember to take some with you! There are lots of fruit teas available but very few places served "English breakfast" tea.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Sue,
Thank you very much for taking time to post your excellent comment here at Tripadvisor.
Your detailed review could help in choosing us for other guests. We are glad that you enjoyed our free coffee&tea facilities in the Open Bar.
Don't hesitate to choose us again!
See you next time!

Gergely Hnatyszyn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We've spent three days in Budapest, in your downtown hotel. The reception, service was perfect, fast, and they spoke fluently in english and german. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The location of your hotel is very convinient, because it's close the big intersections, and most of the famous sites are easily reached by public transport, not to mention all the little restaurants around the place. The breakfast was various, everyone could choose by one's choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laszlo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Laszlo,
Thank you very much for posting your kind comment of your excellent stay in our Hotel. We are very happy that everything in the Hotel fully met your expectations including our staff and services.
We hope to welcome you next time of your visit in Budapest!
See you!

Gergely Hnatyszyn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for 4 nights on a city break.Its about a 25 minute ride from the airport.The reception staff where very friendly and helpful,and spoke very good english.The breakfast was basic but ample,and there was something for everyone.There is always free tea,coffee and water available 24hrs in the dining area.The hotel is clean and the beds are comfortable.There is a great bakery at the end of the road,which is ideal to stock up for day trips!.Overall i would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a cheap and comfortable stay in Budapest!

Room Tip: We were at the back facing a wall,but it was quiet and you don't go to Budapest to stay in your...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear Alison,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your experiences about your previous stay in our Hotel. We are glad that you had a great holiday in Budapest and were satisfied with our staff and services. I also would like to thank you for recommending us to other guests.
Hope to welcome you next time if you visit Budapest again!
Best regards.

Gergely Hnatyszyn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great location near Opera metro but easy walking distance to Deak metro if you are going to the airport or main line stations. Don't panic as you approach as it might look abit dodgy on first sight as there is quite a lot of graffiti around which is deceptive. Very helpful reception staff with perfect English. Great breakfast and free coffee available all day in the reception which was very convenient. You can have coffee in the room if you wish as there was a kettle provided. Good bars and cafes on the same street - cheaper than the main drag nearer St Stephen's Church. The Spa shop across the road is very handy and there is a bakery across the road with slices of pizza and stuff if you need a snack late at night. Good air con as it was 37C outside.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, internal room - very quiet and handy to nip down for a coffee.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Been-to-spain-alot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Madame/Sir,

Let me thank you for posting your nice detailed review about us on Tripadvisor. I was glad to read that you were pleased with our staff and services. Also thank you for describing the location and the neighborhood of the Hotel. All the informations you shared might be useful for other guests in the near future.
We would like to welcome you back again in our Hotel if you visit Budapest next time!

Best regards,

Gergely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Very good location and excellent value for money. The staff is remarkably friendly and the breakfast was abundant and good. As Italian I was also impressed by the quality of coffee served. Overall EXCELLENT.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giuseppe p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Giuseppe,

I would like to thank you for posting your kind review about our Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here and you had a great time. Thank you for mentioning the quality of our coffee and the friendliness of our staff.
I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at Best Western Plus Hotel Ambra.

Best regards,

Gergely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed here for one night with my girlfriend. Location is ok. About a 10 to 15 minute walk from the city centre although in a pretty cool district itself. Pricing is decent and quite reasonable for Budapest. However reception staff were friendly but quite poor. On check in it took numerous attempts to take my card payment and then 3 attempts to get in our room. The room was ok but a little "brown" and quite small but very habitable. The Wi-Fi was terrible and not up to the standards of a modern day hotel. However this could have been as I was on the 4th floor as was better in reception. Breakfast was your average feed and common surroundings decent. As a sum up I would say you will not be horrified by this hotel but there are much better about.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank vinnie1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Vinnie,
Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your reply here at Tripadvisor.
We are a littlebit sorry that the overall service didn't met fully your expectations. Thank you for your building comment about the room and services we are working hardly to be better and better.
Hope to see you again next time!

Best regards,

Gergely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
12 Revay Hotel
#35 of 333 in Budapest
332 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Carat Boutique Hotel
Carat Boutique Hotel
#37 of 333 in Budapest
1,216 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Exe Danube Budapest
Exe Danube Budapest
#22 of 333 in Budapest
193 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Regency Suites Hotel Budapest
District V / Inner City
Starlight Suiten Hotel
Starlight Suiten Hotel
#34 of 333 in Budapest
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambra Hotel

Address: Kis Diofa utca 13., Budapest 1077, Hungary (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra)
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#86 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $54 - $566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The whole hotel is redesigned in 2016. The 37 bedrooms are in boutique style, all equipped with stylish interior, air-conditioning, safe, minibar, LCD TV, free use of wireless internet.Full hot and cold buffet breakfast is served for the guests offering delicious international and traditional Hungarian dishes. We provide free coffee, tea and snacks in our open bar all day long. Tablets are available on the Lobby area , the wireless internet is free of charge in the entire area of the hotel. Safe, underground garage is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambra Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing