We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Ambra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambra Hotel
Ranked #58 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Comfortable room; very clean. Well-located -- within walking distance of the Opera House, for example. Very good breakfast buffet with free coffee and tea available all day long. Garage parking for a decent price.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review here at Tripadvisor. We are glad that you were satisfied with our staff, services, and prices.
If you visit Budapest next time please choose us again!

Gabor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 724 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012

Probably the best about this hotel is its location; that does not mean all the other things are bad - they aren't - but being just 5 min away from Opera and cuty center is indeed a great value. As all Best Westerns, it keeps the chain quality, the breakfast is rich and tasty. The other good option is open bar where one can enjoy complimentary drinks all day long (this is to compencate abnsence of tea try in the room perhaps).
The rooms are not big but convenient; the only problem we've got was heating: too hot, although in December it is a plus rather than a minus, but still to be considered.
If the windows of your room are facing the street there may be problems with loud people throughout the night (it is bar district), so if possible please ask for the other side.
Overall quite a decent place to stay at!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
Thank V0lta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you very much for your detailed review of our Hotel. We are all glad that everything in the hotel met your expectations. Answering the overheating problem maybe you didn't find the index
on the heating system to turn it lower. I am also happy that you find our breakfast very tasty and liked our open-bar.
Thank you for recommending us and hope to see you soon again!
Don't hesitate to choose us next time as well!

Gabor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Centrally located hotel, near opera and sight seeings. Walking distance to train and tram lines. Friendly personnel. The hotel is not that big and the breakfast area is small. The quality of breakfast was not good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hansbonito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you had a good time in our Hotel and also were satisfied with the price and service.
Hoping to welcome next time as well if you come to Budapest again!

Gabor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is a clean, functional, conveniently located hotel. I enjoyed the delicious breakfast and i loved the complimentary drinks and snack bar round the clock set up at the dining area. Staff were helpful and attentive. Our first visit we were put in a bigger room which was nice with a balcony (that faced other balconies). We were able to leave our luggages behind for safekeeping when we left for a 4 day trip. Upon return got their standard rooms which was a little small but nevertheless adequate for our needs. Budapest is a beautiful city and we found this hotel ideally located for exploring.

Room Tip: I would go for the bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimberlyGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you very much for taking time to share your observations about our Hotel here at Tripadvisor. We are very happy that you were fully satisfied with our staff and services. It is always a pleasure for me to read these kind replies for the Hotel.
We would love to see you again!

Gabor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We spent 7 nights in the hotel. We got a big room (just after arriving at 10:00am) with bathroom of the size of a regular hotel room. Everything was very clean. The service is excellent, each request answered immediately and precise. The breakfast is really full breakfast, which was not so good for diet :-) TV set is a little bit small for the room of such size with only one English channel, but we came to Budapest not to watch TV. The towels are not of the highest quality, but the bedding is very good. The location is the next to the best one (only leMeridian has the best location in Budapest), but in 5min you can get to Deak Ferenc square or in 2min to Opera metro. Everything you need you can find on Kiraly str; the hotel is the first building on your left when you turn from Kiraly to Kis Diofa.
We read many complains that it is hard to find the hotel even for taxi drivers. We got very good experience with www.cheapshuttle.eu (info@cheapshuttle.eu). The driver waited for us in airport, and it costed 20 Euro (or 16 Euro if you call him after custom).
For sure we'll recommend this hotel and stay in it in the future.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 6th floor facing Kis Diofa street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmanuelFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Thank you very much for your fantastic detailled comment. It was a pleasure for us that you had a great time in our Hotel and everything met your expectations. We are going to expand out TV channels in the near future so it is not gonna be a problem any more :).
Hoping to see you next time again in Best Western Plus Hotel Ambra! Don't hesitate to choose us again!

Gabor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Ambra for two weeks, and did not want to leave, wishing I could have extended my stay. I found it to be my favorite of all the hotels I have stayed in twenty-seven countries. The hotel personnel are incredible, helpful to the max, and feel more like personal friends than merely a staff. The morning breakfast was incredible, the kitchen personnel keeping the breakfast bar fully stocked and the quality of the food did not feel institutional like so many other breakfast attempts elsewhere. The rooms were impeccable in their cleanliness and the location provided a grocery store within steps of the hotel. The Old World feel of the location added a fantastic ambiance to my stay and also was a convenient walk to the Metro and tram locations. They are extremely knowledgeable about the city and provided me with all the information I needed to make informed decisions about the sites I wanted to see in Budapest. I could write a book about how much I appreciated their help and I truly miss them. If I ever return to Budapest I would not consider staying anywhere else. Jim Miller

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear James,

Thank you for the kind comment! It was a pleasure having you here, and we sincerely hope to meet again. Thank you for the card as well, Mariann recieved it safely, and don’t worry aboute the loss of pictures. Budapest is always here to be admired and enjoyed, you’re more then welcome to return any time.
We hope the extravagant weather passed over you without significant affect. All of the staff sends you and the fourlegs warm greetings from Ambra,

Gabor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Room - nice and modern, good sized room and bathroom. Double bed WASN'T a double bed but two singles pushed together (not even zip link mattress) and two single duvets (one feather duvet and one polyester - why not both the same??). Very annoying when mattresses moved during the night and you fell down the gap! Beds however were very comfortable and we slept well for the 3 nights that we were there (as long as we remembered to stay on our own beds!).

View - terrible, overlooking a high brick wall blocking out almost all daylight (it was impossible to tell whether it was sunny in the mornings when we woke up, sky was barely visible). When you looked down you could see a small courtyard which was used as a staff smoking area. We were unable to open the window for our entire stay as the room very quickly filled with the smell of cigarette smoke.

TV stations - very poor, only English channel was a dull news channel. Not even any music channels or radio stations (I thought this was compulsary for a 4 star hotel, especially for Best Western compliancy)

Cleanliness - could have been better. Found a couple of peanuts/raisins on the floor from previous occupants. Dust on lamps, telephone and bathroom fixtures/fittings (towel rail, toilet roll holder etc). Just needs a little more attention to detail.

Facilities - no tea/coffee in room. This was available in the lobby/breakfast room for guests to help themselves to, but you weren't allowed to leave with the mugs, so still couldn't have a hot drink in your room. WiFi was quite inconsistent, didn't always work in the room.

Breakfast - great selection of breads, mini pastries, cold meats, cheeses, jams, fruit juices, yoghurts and cereals. Hot options also available, scrambled eggs were always on offer, along with either bacon or sausage and potato cakes or fried bread. Very good breakfast.

Location - excellent location (easy to find after being helped out by a very friendly bus driver) - if arriving by train, don't use a taxi from Keleti station - they will charge €20 for a 1 mile journey (don't be put off by the run down looking street with graffiti on the walls, especially if arriving at night - areas like this can be found all over the city, but Budapest is an amazing place and perfectly safe). Hotel is a few minutes walk from Opera metro station and is close to many great bars and restaurants. The location is actually the Hotel Ambra's biggest advantage, and I would certainly stay again if I chose to visit Budapest for a second time.

Overall, this is a very good hotel with friendly staff and nice rooms, however it just falls short of it's 4 star rating in my opinion (in the UK, this would be a 3 star hotel) - with a little bit of improvement it could be an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Thank you very much for your circumstantial description of our Hotel. It is good to read the things that you were satisfied and those you had lack. We are always try to improve so we need these kind of building reviews as well.
I am sure if you come back next time you will be fully satisfied with us.
Looking forward to welcome you again!

Gabor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
12 Revay Hotel
#35 of 336 in Budapest
370 reviews
Casati Budapest Hotel
#6 of 336 in Budapest
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Carat Boutique Hotel
Carat Boutique Hotel
#39 of 336 in Budapest
1,341 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Regency Suites Hotel Budapest
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Exe Danube Budapest
Exe Danube Budapest
#30 of 336 in Budapest
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambra Hotel

Address: Kis Diofa utca 13., Budapest 1077, Hungary (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra)
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#86 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $73 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The whole hotel is redesigned in 2016. The 37 bedrooms are in boutique style, all equipped with stylish interior, air-conditioning, safe, minibar, LCD TV, free use of wireless internet.Full hot and cold buffet breakfast is served for the guests offering delicious international and traditional Hungarian dishes. We provide free coffee, tea and snacks in our open bar all day long. Tablets are available on the Lobby area , the wireless internet is free of charge in the entire area of the hotel. Safe, underground garage is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ambra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambra Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing