We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Best Western we used to stay”
Review of Ambra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ambra Hotel
Ranked #64 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We spent 7 nights in the hotel. We got a big room (just after arriving at 10:00am) with bathroom of the size of a regular hotel room. Everything was very clean. The service is excellent, each request answered immediately and precise. The breakfast is really full breakfast, which was not so good for diet :-) TV set is a little bit small for the room of such size with only one English channel, but we came to Budapest not to watch TV. The towels are not of the highest quality, but the bedding is very good. The location is the next to the best one (only leMeridian has the best location in Budapest), but in 5min you can get to Deak Ferenc square or in 2min to Opera metro. Everything you need you can find on Kiraly str; the hotel is the first building on your left when you turn from Kiraly to Kis Diofa.
We read many complains that it is hard to find the hotel even for taxi drivers. We got very good experience with www.cheapshuttle.eu (info@cheapshuttle.eu). The driver waited for us in airport, and it costed 20 Euro (or 16 Euro if you call him after custom).
For sure we'll recommend this hotel and stay in it in the future.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 6th floor facing Kis Diofa street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmanuelFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Thank you very much for your fantastic detailled comment. It was a pleasure for us that you had a great time in our Hotel and everything met your expectations. We are going to expand out TV channels in the near future so it is not gonna be a problem any more :).
Hoping to see you next time again in Best Western Plus Hotel Ambra! Don't hesitate to choose us again!

Gabor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (698)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 698 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Ambra for two weeks, and did not want to leave, wishing I could have extended my stay. I found it to be my favorite of all the hotels I have stayed in twenty-seven countries. The hotel personnel are incredible, helpful to the max, and feel more like personal friends than merely a staff. The morning breakfast was incredible, the kitchen personnel keeping the breakfast bar fully stocked and the quality of the food did not feel institutional like so many other breakfast attempts elsewhere. The rooms were impeccable in their cleanliness and the location provided a grocery store within steps of the hotel. The Old World feel of the location added a fantastic ambiance to my stay and also was a convenient walk to the Metro and tram locations. They are extremely knowledgeable about the city and provided me with all the information I needed to make informed decisions about the sites I wanted to see in Budapest. I could write a book about how much I appreciated their help and I truly miss them. If I ever return to Budapest I would not consider staying anywhere else. Jim Miller

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear James,

Thank you for the kind comment! It was a pleasure having you here, and we sincerely hope to meet again. Thank you for the card as well, Mariann recieved it safely, and don’t worry aboute the loss of pictures. Budapest is always here to be admired and enjoyed, you’re more then welcome to return any time.
We hope the extravagant weather passed over you without significant affect. All of the staff sends you and the fourlegs warm greetings from Ambra,

Gabor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Room - nice and modern, good sized room and bathroom. Double bed WASN'T a double bed but two singles pushed together (not even zip link mattress) and two single duvets (one feather duvet and one polyester - why not both the same??). Very annoying when mattresses moved during the night and you fell down the gap! Beds however were very comfortable and we slept well for the 3 nights that we were there (as long as we remembered to stay on our own beds!).

View - terrible, overlooking a high brick wall blocking out almost all daylight (it was impossible to tell whether it was sunny in the mornings when we woke up, sky was barely visible). When you looked down you could see a small courtyard which was used as a staff smoking area. We were unable to open the window for our entire stay as the room very quickly filled with the smell of cigarette smoke.

TV stations - very poor, only English channel was a dull news channel. Not even any music channels or radio stations (I thought this was compulsary for a 4 star hotel, especially for Best Western compliancy)

Cleanliness - could have been better. Found a couple of peanuts/raisins on the floor from previous occupants. Dust on lamps, telephone and bathroom fixtures/fittings (towel rail, toilet roll holder etc). Just needs a little more attention to detail.

Facilities - no tea/coffee in room. This was available in the lobby/breakfast room for guests to help themselves to, but you weren't allowed to leave with the mugs, so still couldn't have a hot drink in your room. WiFi was quite inconsistent, didn't always work in the room.

Breakfast - great selection of breads, mini pastries, cold meats, cheeses, jams, fruit juices, yoghurts and cereals. Hot options also available, scrambled eggs were always on offer, along with either bacon or sausage and potato cakes or fried bread. Very good breakfast.

Location - excellent location (easy to find after being helped out by a very friendly bus driver) - if arriving by train, don't use a taxi from Keleti station - they will charge €20 for a 1 mile journey (don't be put off by the run down looking street with graffiti on the walls, especially if arriving at night - areas like this can be found all over the city, but Budapest is an amazing place and perfectly safe). Hotel is a few minutes walk from Opera metro station and is close to many great bars and restaurants. The location is actually the Hotel Ambra's biggest advantage, and I would certainly stay again if I chose to visit Budapest for a second time.

Overall, this is a very good hotel with friendly staff and nice rooms, however it just falls short of it's 4 star rating in my opinion (in the UK, this would be a 3 star hotel) - with a little bit of improvement it could be an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Thank you very much for your circumstantial description of our Hotel. It is good to read the things that you were satisfied and those you had lack. We are always try to improve so we need these kind of building reviews as well.
I am sure if you come back next time you will be fully satisfied with us.
Looking forward to welcome you again!

Gabor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Friendly stuff, eager to help. The shades in the room provide full darkness, the water in the shower is really hot and the stream is very strong. Having free coffee and tea in the middle of the night without having to wait or to pay for it is a very nice touch. The breakfast selection is nice and rich enough.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are qieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yaelmelamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you very much for your nice description of our Hotel and staff. It joyous for us that you had a good time here and were satisfied with our services and also the breakfast met your expectations.
If you come to Budapest next time don't hesitate to choose Best Western Plus Hotel Ambra again.

Gabor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We chose Hotel Ambra from previous experience two years ago. From before our arrival the staff have been superb in arranging transfer from the airport (though, with hindsight I would recommend using the cheaper transfers on offer at the airport arrival lounge) and taxis (including making sure the driver knew the destination).

Initially we were allocated a room we personally found to be noisy. We were moved with the minimum of fuss to a room that suited us perfectly.

I do not agree with some other reviews - yes there are some better 4 star hotels, but the Ambra is absolutely fine. Not many 4 (or even 5) star hotels offer complimentary drinks throughout the day, also a few 'nibbles'.

We came back to Budapest at short notice for a funeral, a very sad affair, but the hotel staff have made the trip so much more pleasent than it would have been otherwise.

We would recommend this hotel for its staff, location and overall convenience.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleep then do request a rear-facing room, or a much higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are all glad that you were very satisfied with our staff and services. We also would like to thank you for recommending us here on Tripadvisor.
Hoping to choose us next time again! We will warmly welcome you back!

Gabor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Hi,
We were looking for a 4 star hotel…but unfortunately what we found is a 3 star hotel, no more. The lobby and the restaurant is very small, with an old small elevator…definitely in our country the hotel does not meet the quality requirements for a 4 star hotel. In all rooms, hallway included, there is a continuous noise made by the ventilators from the cooling/heating system ….in the first night did not managed to sleep at all…second night I left the radio on with music to cover this noise..
Rooms are acceptable, of course if you do not get de 101, 201, 301, 401 ….rooms ….which are very small ones…let say are “normally” cleaned…nothing special and nothing worst with this…but again, talking about 3 star criteria not 4 start criteria’s hoe they claim that they are.
But let say something good about it – the location is Ok, 15 minutes walking from Vaci utca and the Danube river….many bistros, pubs are restaurants in the neibourhoud…but again, this is not something which the hotel offer, this is what Budapest as a city offer …
Conclusion: if you are not looking for high quality and if you are deadly tired and can sleep near a train station the hotel is acceptable…if not, please look for other options…

Room Tip: NO ROOM WITH xx1...they are very very small !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tiberiu_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you very much for sharing your review here at Tripadvisor. We are a littlebit sad that our Hotel didn't fully meet your expectations. However we would like to thank you for your full-scale description of the Hotel and the area as well.

Gabor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Hotel Ambra is in a close location to Andrassy Utca and about 10mins from St Stephens Basillica, it is also right next to a local supermarket, which was quite handy. The staff are great, speak very good english and are very helpful. There is coffee, tea and hot chocolate available all day. The breakfast provided was good, mainly cold meats, cereals, bread, fruit and salad. However, we found the housekeeping to be pretty poor. When we arrived in room No. 205 the carpet and bins has not been cleaned from the previous occupant. Our main light by the entrance to the room did not work and despite reporting this to the reception it was not looked at during our three night stay. The air conditioner did not work, the table with the telephone had obviously not been cleaned for awhile as there were crisps and crumbs all over it. When thinking of booking here, you should also be aware that the walls are paper thin and we could hear all of our neighbours bedroom activities and this woke us up when they came back singing at 2am. This is not the fault of the hotel but certainly had an impact on our stay. Overall, this is a well located hotel with excellent staff that is significantly let down by its poor housekeeping and cleanliness and I am sure there are better hotels to stay in Budapest for a similar price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. I am very happy that you were satisfied with our staff and the breakfast was sufficed your expectations. However I am definitely going to discuss the cleaning of your room with our housekeepers. We are having meetings in every month to improve in every division of the Hotel.
Hoping to see you again

Gabor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
12 Revay Hotel
#33 of 334 in Budapest
359 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Carat Boutique Hotel
Carat Boutique Hotel
#36 of 334 in Budapest
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casati Budapest Hotel
#5 of 334 in Budapest
1,213 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Regency Suites Hotel Budapest
District V / Inner City
Estilo Fashion Hotel
Estilo Fashion Hotel
#49 of 334 in Budapest
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambra Hotel

Address: Kis Diofa utca 13., Budapest 1077, Hungary (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra)
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#86 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $53 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The whole hotel is redesigned in 2016. The 37 bedrooms are in boutique style, all equipped with stylish interior, air-conditioning, safe, minibar, LCD TV, free use of wireless internet.Full hot and cold buffet breakfast is served for the guests offering delicious international and traditional Hungarian dishes. We provide free coffee, tea and snacks in our open bar all day long. Tablets are available on the Lobby area , the wireless internet is free of charge in the entire area of the hotel. Safe, underground garage is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ambra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambra Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing