We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and perfectly located.”
Review of Ambra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ambra Hotel
Ranked #64 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2012

the hotel was very clean and the location was perfect. I can strongly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a not too expensive but fine hotel. We enjoyed our stay very much. One thing was that the city tax was not included in the booking price.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank musslon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you very much for your comment of your recent stay in Best Western Plus Hotel Ambra.
In the name of the staff I would like to say that we are absolutely delighted that you had a great time here. The local tax is always excluded from the price and it has to paid upon departure.
Hoping to see you next time again!

Gabor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
There are newer reviews for Ambra Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 673 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

The hotel fulfilled all expectations that I had based on the information found online when booking.
Good service, clean and modern rooms and a good breakfast.
One thing that I didn't notice when booking the rooms was the local tax that was not included in the price.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m_laitala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you for posting your kind review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read that you were satisfied with our Hotel and services. The local tax is always excluded of the price maybe you was missed to read it.
But apart from that we are hoping that you choose us again if you come back to Budapest again!

Gabor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Great hotel with very good service. Centric, clean and confortable. Maybe i'll repeat. Thank you to bórbala korom for you atención !
I'll recomend everyone this beatiful and lovely hotel off Budapest .

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielColl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Thank you very much for taking time to write your positive feedback. In the name of Borbala I can thank your kind words, and the recommendation of the Hotel to everyone.
Looking forward to welcome you again.
See you!

Gabor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Located in the Jewish quarter, it is close to nice bars and restaurants and shops.
I payed around 70 euros for a bedroom with the breakfast
Nice bedroom, big, clean and with central heating
If I come back to Budapest I will come back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahoralucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. We are very glad that you were fully satisfied with our Hotel.
Looking forward to welcome next time in Best Western Plus Hotel Ambra.
See you again!

Gabor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I chose this hotel because I was treating my mom to a trip to Budapest and wanted to wow her with the hotel. Unfortunately the hotel was less than impressive and did not wow anyone. It is not a four star hotel (even though it rates itself as such) and therefore not the bargain that we thought we had bagged. The rooms were clean enough, but lacking in character and and that extra something that you expect from a 4 star hotel (there were barely any guest supplies - only soap next to the basin and in the shower). These are just tiny gripes - our biggest problem was the awful beds! They were dreadfully uncomfortable and noisy and the pillows were too soft. Even a full day's sightseeing in 30 degree heat did not ensure a good night's sleep! Also, our bathroom (and toilet) was not cleaned on day two and the bins were not emptied. Staff were very friendly and we were handed a very useful pack of brochures on arrival. Breakfast was also very good, with a nice variety on offer, so no complaints there. The hotel is also is a very trendy and central area with lots of restaurants and bars all around, but as always, this does means a lot of street noise. Overall a good experience, once you get over the initial disappointment!

Room Tip: Try to book a room away from the street - your view may be a brick wall, but you'll get a better...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairmoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

I would like to thank you for taking time to post your review. We are a littlebit sad that you didn't sleep well. Also sorry for the cleaning default in your room we were discussed this with the housekeepers. I would like to thank you for your positive reactions from you as well.
If you come next time we can guarantee a more silent room for you.
See you again!

Gabor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We recently stayed for 4 nights and loved the location. Its not a big flashy touristy hotel with all the trimmings but is a great base for exploring the city and experiencing the real atmosphere of the Hungarian capital. Our room was clean, a good size and the air-conditioning worked! The view out of our window was onto the back of some apartments but we wanted to be out exploring not sat in the room for hours looking out of a window. One downside was that you could hear the bedroom doors opening and closing on the floor but as there were only 7 rooms on our floor, that didnt happen very often.The buffet breakfast had a good choice and was kept well stocked and the 24 hour help yourself to coffee/tea etc was a real bonus.The staff were very helpful with recommendations for restaurants, booking taxis etc .The buildings opposite do have some graffiti but dont let that put you off, we walked everywhere and felt very safe even at 2 in the morning. Dont stay here if you want the artificial fussing and pampering of a large 5 star chain hotel BUT Do stay here if you want a clean, convenient, friendly and inexpensive hotel whilst exploring the city. If in Budapest, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodie186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

I would like to thank you for sharing your positive feedback . We are pleased that you got what you expected for your money. Hoping to meet next time in the near future.
Don't hesitate to choose us again!

Gabor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We booked this hotel with a very good discount and we really liked its location and staff.This is a very nice pleasant hotel , right in the heart of the city. Easy access to attractions. Very helpful and friendly receptionist, which speaks several languages, quickly solved all the issues and gave a lot of useful info about the city. Additionally impressed with perfectly clean room and bathroom. As well as great breakfast! Which were very tasty and varied, suit to every taste. Especially small puff patty with different fillings. Everything was fine! We were very pleased with the hotel and its staff. We will recommend it and certainly stop there in our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalaStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind review. The whole staff is very pleased that you had a great time in our Hotel. We always trying to do our best for the guest's happy stay here.
If you visit Budapest next time don't hesitate to choose us again.
We are waiting for you!

Gabor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
12 Revay Hotel
#35 of 333 in Budapest
331 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Carat Boutique Hotel
Carat Boutique Hotel
#37 of 333 in Budapest
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Starlight Suiten Hotel
Starlight Suiten Hotel
#34 of 333 in Budapest
1,190 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Exe Danube Budapest
Exe Danube Budapest
#22 of 333 in Budapest
193 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Regency Suites Hotel Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambra Hotel

Address: Kis Diofa utca 13., Budapest 1077, Hungary (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra)
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#86 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $54 - $566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The whole hotel is redesigned in 2016. The 37 bedrooms are in boutique style, all equipped with stylish interior, air-conditioning, safe, minibar, LCD TV, free use of wireless internet.Full hot and cold buffet breakfast is served for the guests offering delicious international and traditional Hungarian dishes. We provide free coffee, tea and snacks in our open bar all day long. Tablets are available on the Lobby area , the wireless internet is free of charge in the entire area of the hotel. Safe, underground garage is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambra Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing