We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of City Hotel Ring

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Hotel Ring
Ranked #124 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We spend two night at the City Ring Hotel, the room was large and clean. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. It is well located, not at the city centre, but nearby most of the attractions in a short walk away. One of Budapest's largest shopping centres is just down the road.
The breakfast is good and is served in a lovely pub at the hotel first floor.
Hotel City Ring is very good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matias C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    192
    98
    21
    10
See reviews for
39
196
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin,Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I spent 4 nights here last week as I was visiting my daughter.I arrived at 1 30 in the morning which was no problem at all.I was in Room 123 which was very clean and cosy.There is a fridge which was brilliant for storing drinks and snacks.The location is fantastic with train station a few minutes walk away and trams nearby.You can take the trams 4 or 6 at McDonalds to go across to Buda. You can also walk across Margit Bridge ,turn right and you will find Margit Island, a haven of peace where people walk,jog, cycle or simply sit watching the traffic on the Danube.Across the bridge in Buda is a restaurant called La Trofea where you can eat and drink all you want for about 13 euros.The House of Parliament is a short walkfrom the hotel as well. The city of Pest is about 25 mins walk or you can take the Metro.What struck me about the hotel was the kindness and friendliness of the staff at reception. They were also very helpful with directions etc. Do not expect a fancy hotel.However I would stay there again no hesitation as what it lacks in plushness is made up for in warmth, cosiness and a homely feel.

Room Tip: Ask for non smoking room at back as trams can be heard at the front.This may not bother you however.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elenaDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Our family just spent a week at the City Ring Hotel. We had room 111, which can accommodate 4 people. The room was large and spotlessly clean, and the staff kept it that way despite the best endeavours of a 3 year old and a 2 year old.
The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. They provided good recommendations for restaurants (but you must try Zeller) and they also heated milk for us in the evening.
The hotel is well situated for transport and attractions. Be aware that you can hear the trams in rooms that are facing the road, however this did not disturb our sleep.

Our inlays had room 116 down the corridor. That room was smaller, and the trams could not be heard there.

The hotel is really very good value.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side are quieter. There is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NyonAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

My wife and I spent four nights at this hotel in March for our wedding anniversary. The hotel is very conveniently placed for the Metro, and for Trams and buses, and for the attractions of Margaret Island. There is also a river bus stop very near as well. The Parliament building and the Danube waterfront are a short walk away, and public transport links to the Buda side as well as into central Pest are excellent.

The hotel itself was basic, which for the price we paid was to be expected, but the bed was comfy, the bathroom clean, and the room came with a fridge, which was a bonus. Despite being on the main ring road, the room we had was quiet, warm, and comfy. I'll admit that we mainly use any hotel simply as somewhere to store our stuff while we explore, and to sleep in, and so for us this hotel was more than adequate. There are a good number of shops and supermarkets nearby (one of Budapest's largest shopping centres is just down the road).

The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, especially Gabor who welcomed us on our arrival. They were polite, smiley, and spoke excellent English, and even managed not to laugh at my awful Magyar! The young lady running the bar was also very helpful. The bar, attached to the side of the hotel, is cosy, with a good selection of reasonably priced drinks. My wife and I tend to avoid hotel bars, but we made an exception with this one, as it was so nice. Service was great too; this is so far the only hotel I've ever stayed in that actually had a hairdryer that my wife could borrow (others tend to tell us that "another guest already has it...") and on our last day they allowed us to leave our bags there from checkout until mid afternoon, which saved us having to carry them around all day.

There are a lot posher, more luxurious places to stay in Budapest, but if all you want is a basic, no fuss no nonsense place to sleep, in a convenient location, the Hotel City Ring is very good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KirkWisebeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zsuzsanna C, General Manager at City Hotel Ring, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear KirkWisebeard,

Thank you very much for sharing your very detailed and positive opinion about your recent stay at the City Hotel Ring! In the name of the hotel management let me congratulate for your wedding anniversary.

We are glad to hear that you could discover all major attractions easily around the hotel and you were also satisfied with the comfort of the room.

Delighted to read your praising words about the friendliness of our colleagues at the reception and the in the bar as well.

There are several hairdryers available – complimentary - at the reception for our kind guests, therefore these needs could be satisfied at all time without any difficulties.

Appreciate for recommending City Hotel Ring to the Tripadvisor community.

Sincerely hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon, I am sure it would be a also good chance to improve your Magyar –which is not awful, I am quite sure.

Very best regards,
Zsuzsanna K. Csapone
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights on a long weekend visit. It's very central & there are lots of supermarkets & eateries in walking distance, as well as being close to main attractions such as Parliament. The room was clean & comfortable with a fridge, tv & wifi. It was basic, but you only really sleep there, so it doesn't need to be more. Staff were friendly & helpful, I would recommend.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaQ43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

My friend and I have just returned from a short stay in this beautiful city. This hotel is ideally placed for access to public transport. Railway station is within short walking distance from hotel and tram stops are also very short distance on street. Our room was overlooking a side street and the only criticism is that the noise of traffic can be quite loud with windows open,
Room was basic but perfectly adequate for our needs. Clean and comfortable with bedding and towels changed daily.
Breakfast was plentiful with a good range of choices and set me up for a long days sightseeing. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would certainly recommend as a base for a holiday. Not a hotel for those who want lots of facilities available without leaving the hotel but a perfect choice for a base from which to discover Budapest.

Room Tip: There are no ground floor rooms and no lift, so not for those who have difficulty climbing stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RuthW486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Just got back from a three night stay at City Ring Hotel and can say we were very impressed. The location is fantastic, walking distance from a lot of sights, and it is wonderful to walk on the bridge (on the same road) over The Danube at night for absolute fantastic view of Budapest.

As soon as we arrived there was a lovely guy ready to give us loads of useful information and to discuss options of trips worth booking on, In fact all the reception staff were very helpful and ready with directions.

The rooms were large and clean with plenty of cupboard space and also a fridge, great for a late night drink back in the room. No coffee and tea facilities in the room...but who needs that when you can keep beer cool!!! The shower was also brilliant, and there is one English channel on the telly which is CNN (never kept up so well with world news).

Breakfast was also spot on, with various cereals, cheeses, ham and jam. There was also a hot selection with scrambled eggs and cocktail sausages. Drinks included a variety of teas inc green tea, and a selection of fruit juices.

My parents want to come to Budapest with us and we are planning to book into this hotel again.

Tips if you come out of the hotel and turn left and left again, there is a restaurant further down the road called The Trofea Grill, It's an all-inclusive restaurant...you pay 6000huf and you can eat and drink what you like for two hours inc champagne and cocktails, and other named brands. Its a great value buffet restaurant with an open grill, you just choose from a massive selection of meat and fish and they cook it in front of you. I had sirloin steak, Salmon and fajita chicken proper bargain 10 mins from hotel!!

It is also worth emailing booking@airportshuttle.hu, We got a taxi from airport to City Hotel Ring and it cost 8000 huf, The hotel recommend this shuttle service back to airport and it was 2500 per person back so it was almost half price for the two of us.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
City Hotel Pilvax
City Hotel Pilvax
#129 of 334 in Budapest
519 reviews
Terézváros
Six Inn Hotel Budapest
Six Inn Hotel Budapest
#66 of 334 in Budapest
461 reviews
District V / Inner City
City Hotel Matyas
City Hotel Matyas
#134 of 334 in Budapest
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Benczur Hotel
#162 of 334 in Budapest
467 reviews
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#131 of 334 in Budapest
669 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#196 of 334 in Budapest
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Ring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Ring

Property: City Hotel Ring
Address: Szent Istvan korut 22., Budapest 1137, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Ring 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMPLETELY RENEWED IN 2017! The City Hotel Ring is centrally located on the Pest side of the city, in the Szent Istvan Korut. The hotel is within walking distance to Budapest's downtown business district, the Margaret Island, the Western railway station, the largest shopping mall of Budapest (Westend City Center) and the city's major tourist attractions. Buffet breakfast is served in the hotel's dining room. Free internet terminal is available in the lobby area. The hotel ensures a pleasant vacation for individual guests and also for groups arriving to Budapest. The Hotel has 39 comfortably furnished rooms, individually air conditioned, telephone, complimentary Internet access, SAT TV, fridge, work desk, radio, hair dryer (upon request). Other services: free Internet corner, safe at the reception, conference room for up to 50 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel Ring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing