We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic, friendly, central location”
Review of City Hotel Ring

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Hotel Ring
Ranked #127 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic, friendly, central location”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

This was a lovely hotel very near key central sights. The room was nice, although no hairdryer (thankfully I had my hair straighteners). The room was clean, complete with a small fridge which came in handy for drinks. The staff were very polite and helped when needed to book the airport shuttle back. The hotel also has one computer with free Internet downstairs in the lobby. It was always free when I wanted to use it. The hotel is also very close to the metro and also some great restaurants -okay italia and szeraj (if on a budget).

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Faifai2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pilvax, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ring, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

we would like to thank you for your recent visit to City Hotel Ring and your positive comments about our hotel.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and you were satifsfied with our services. You missed the hairdryer in the room, but please be informed that hairdryers are available at free of charge at the front desk.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Renata Hupuczi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    189
    97
    20
    10
See reviews for
36
192
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

This hotel is located 5 minuttes walk from the metro. Shops and restaurants are also just round the corner. The rooms we got were very nice and spacious. The aircondition and internet worked very well, but the small tv was not so good, and we didn't like the channels. The service was very good. Both at the reception and the cleaning was nice too. In all we were very pleased and would love to be back another time.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the first floor as there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimChr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pilvax, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ring, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear Valued, Guest,

We would like to thank you for your recent visit to City Hotel Ring and your positive feedback about our hotel.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and found excellent our location.

We hope to have the opportunity welcoming you in the future.
Best regards,

Renata Hupuczi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Small but clean rooms similar to the tiny hotel rooms in Japan.
Everything works and good shower with hard but comfortable beds.
Very basic food in restaurant but helpful check-in staff.
Great location and you walk out the front door and Budapest is laid out before you

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsebire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pilvax, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ring, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your visit to City Hotel Ring and your positive comments about our hotel.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards,

Renata Hupuczi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Very close to Nyugati Train Station - it was convenient from the airport. If you have a train connection, most likely you will not be using this train station though. I found out late. Originally, I booked this hotel believing I'd be close to my connecting train but I had to go to Keleti Pu. Anyway, the hotel was a good value. Breakfast was above average, the front desk were courteous and very helpful. This is a value hotel, nothing luxurious, but it gets the budget traveler a nice choice. Location is close to alot of things if you take the tram/subway. Only down side, the room was a little dark. For public transit, get the all day passes (or multi), it's worth it, especially the family ticket with multipass. Not all machines take paper money, so I had to get it at the bigger station.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanHwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pilvax, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ring, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your recent visit to City Hotel Ring and your positive feedback about our hotel.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards,

Renata Hupuczi
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Before we arrived this hotel, I already felt like I knew them well. They responded all my e-mails, I've never waited their reply more than a day. That was great start.
The hotel is located short walk from the west station which is ideal for us. Our room was pretty spacious. Very basic, nothing fancy, but we've got everything we need.
Some people mentioned they need a little TLC, for example carpet in the corridor / stairs, or bath room. OK, maybe yes, a little TLC is needed. However, the receptionists ( day / night ) were friendly, location is good, room is cleaned and provide fresh towels everyday, it's good enough for what you paid for. Actually, it's great value.
This hotel is not for honeymooners, but if you're not on your honeymoon, visit here for explore this wonderful city, you'll get everything you need at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pilvax, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ring, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback about City Hotel Ring on Tripadvisor.
I am glad to hear that you were satisfied with our services and you found a good price-value relationship by choosing our hotel. I am happy to inform you that we will do some renovation this year and carpets will be changed next month (June 2011).
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Renata Hupuczi
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno
Level Contributor
546 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

This hotel offers spacious double bed rooms. Our room would need some cleaning, there was a lot of dust.
The 2 lights were not enough for the room, we felt like in a cementery, terrible darkness.
Bathroom was clean. We couldnt hear the tram during the night (as we had double glass windows).
This hotel should have a free wifi internet. It has not. They offer only a computer with internet connection by the reception. The breakfest was really poor, f.e. gum pastry and biscuits.
The best thing on this hotel is the location in the city center, polite receptionist and adequate price. You get what you payed.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbbrno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pilvax, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ring, responded to this review, February 24, 2011
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your visit at City Hotel Ring and your feedback about our hotel. We regret that you were not completely satisfied with our services.

Firstly, I would like to ask you helping us to improve the lighting of this room. For that I kindly ask to give the number of the room you stayed in.

Secondly, until now we have not received any complaint about the cleaning; however I have forwarded your comments to our housekeeping manager. We will do our best to keep the highest standards of the cleanliness.

Next, the quality of the breakfast was not convenient during your stay. You mentioned that was only “gum pastry and biscuits”. I have to highlight that we provide every mornings the same food and beverages for our guests, such as 2 kinds of ham or salami, omelette, 2 kinds of cheese, butter, vegetable butter, honey, jam, different kind of cereals, morning, yoghurt, vegetables (e.g. tomato), fruits, bread (also wholemeal bread), bread rolls, bread crescent (also wholemeal crescent), breakfast drink (2 kind of juice, coffee, tea, milk etc. ).
In addition, we have also different kind of pastry to satisfy breakfast needs of guests (e.g. Italian guests) preferring sweet breakfast. As we keep this variety of breakfast items and we do control it on a daily basis, therefore I have to suppose that your feedback was not completely free of subjective opinion.

Finally, 19 of the rooms have LAN internet connection. Upon request our front desk staff provides these rooms without any surcharge. Nevertheless, we will consider your suggestion of WIFI internet connection.

If you would like to add anything new to your review or you have additional comments, then you can contact me at salesdirector@cityhotel.hu.

Best regards,

Renata Hupuczi
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

Nice hotel within easy distance of centre. Rooms basic but clean. Towels changed daily. No kettle etc but fridge in room. Breakfast was ok but egg was the only hot dish on the menu. Staff very pleasant and helpful. No public areas apart from breakfast room.
Word of warning if travelling on public transport. We bought 2x£1.00 tickets for the underground and were fined £38.00 for not having them validated. We didn't know we had to.Ticket inspector allowed no leeway and we really felt that we had been caught in a tourist con. She did point out it stated rules on back of ticket in very small writing but thought that a little come and go would have been more appropriate for the goodwill. Left a bad taste and will not return for this reason. I don't think Budapest is really interested in tourists.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DMcM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pilvax, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ring, responded to this review, November 22, 2010
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your recent visit at City Hotel Ring and your positive feedback about our hotel.
We regret that you had an unpleasant experience using public transportation. We hope that this occurrence will not affect your general opinion about Budapest.

Nevertheless, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Renata Hupuczi
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Papillon
#115 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#123 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
District V / Inner City
City Hotel Pilvax
City Hotel Pilvax
#121 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
City Hotel Matyas
City Hotel Matyas
#131 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
City Hotel Unio
City Hotel Unio
#206 of 333 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Ring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Ring

Property: City Hotel Ring
Address: Szent Istvan koerut 22, Budapest 1137, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Ring 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Hotel Ring is centrally located on the Pest side of the city, in the Szent Istvan Korut. The hotel is within walking distance to Budapest's downtown business district, the Margaret Island, the Western railway station, the largest shopping mall of Budapest (Westend City Center) and the city's major tourist attractions. Buffet breakfast is served in the hotel's dining room. Free internet terminal is available in the lobby area. The hotel ensures a pleasant vacation for individual guests and also for groups arriving to Budapest. The Hotel has 39 comfortably furnished rooms, individually air conditioned, telephone, complimentary Internet access, SAT TV, fridge, work desk, radio, hair dryer (upon request). Other services: free Internet corner, safe at the reception, conference room for up to 50 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your City Hotel Ring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing