We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of City Hotel Pilvax

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Hotel Pilvax
Ranked #138 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed July 20, 2010

I stayed here for 4 nights in July on a last minute break. I booked through BA and got flights and accommodation for £350 inc breakfast.

Despite the fact that I arrived at 1am, the woman on reception was very helpful and bubbly, as were all the staff throughout my stay. They were always eagre to help, greeted you with a smile :)

As for the hotel itself, the location is fantastic. It's a 2min walk to the nearest metro, which is on the line you need to get to Budapest from the airport. Despite being in the centre of town it's very quiet at night, even with the windows open. It's not a luxury hotel, but the beds were comfy, the showers were hot and powerful, the rooms got cleaned every day and the aircon worked (a must for Budapest in July!)

The only slight downside was the breakfast. You get the usual bread, cereal, cheese, ham and can ask for eggs if you want, but I was craving proper fruit juice rather than flourescent squash by the end of the week. However, this being the only downside, I would definitely return here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 219 of 555 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2010

This hotel was one of the best that I stayed in while in Europe. It was very reasonably priced and the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, especially that nice young man in the breakfast room!
Brent Egan
Sydney, AUSTRALIA

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank athanasius_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

The location of Pilvax hotel is simply great. It's within a very short walking distance of the main metro station, the tram and busses and Budapests oldest coffeehouse.
The staff is friendly en helpfull. They have a wifi connection although the rooms far from the lobby don't have reception (at least our room didn't) so you will have to go to the lobby if you want to internet. But all together I would definately recommend this place!

P.s what we liked as well it that you don't get fooled with fancy photo's of rooms and finally end up it a crappy room! The photo's are genuine.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElDutchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

We stayed in Hotel Pilvax from 16/20 february and had a great couple of days in Budapest. The hotel is located at a central spot in the city with the metro within walking distance. The friendly staff at the reception is speaking English pretty good so communication is no problem. The rooms are clean and I can not think of something negative on this. Two negative points though 1) the breakfast was a bit too basic, the bread and the jam was there but some more standard elements should be added to have a good start of the day, 2) there was probably something wrong with the heating system of our room. Apart from the fact that the temperature was very high in the Hotel itself this was also the case in our room. We were not able to lower this so it was pretty uncomfortable. We did report this at the reception but obviously nothing had been done about it..The only option was thus to sleep with open windows..

Overall I would recommend this Hotel because of the perfect location, the good quality rooms and the price. I would not advice to pay extra for the breakfast though, I would rather find a seperate restaurant/bar for breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eelco_Kuijper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

Stayed here for three nights while in Budapest. The staff was friendly and my twin room was clean. You can't beat the location. It is within walking distance to many of the Budapest attractions and public transportation. The typical European breakfast of bread and jam was included. Also, the room had free WIFI internet.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danimal2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

This is a gem in the rough, located two blocks from Vaci street, it can be hard to find because it is on a pedestiran only street (our taxi driver had trouble finding a good place to drop us off as Petofi Sandor Street was under construction). However, once you are there it is perfect for the price. Directly across from a small grocery and a bank with fast free wireless. Close to the subway, three blocks from the river, such a find! All of the people working the front desk spoke very good english and were very helpful in directing us to reputable tour companies. The only thing I would say negative is the breakfast was a little sparse, I could have used something a bit heartier. But, it is only a six block walk to Cafe Gerbeaud so you can always have breakfast there!

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank CT_treeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2009

I stayed for 4 nights to co-incide with the start of the christmas market. The hotel is in a great location. Only a 8-10 minute stroll south along Vaci Utca to the Great Market Hall and a 5 minute stroll north to Vörösmarty tér. The double room was a decent size, clean, apart from the odd bit of scale on the bathroom tiles, but this didn't bother me. The room was quite warm, which I didn't seem to be able to control, but the windows can be opened to regulate any problem with temperature. The room also has an empty fridge - the only item I would have loved would be a kettle. Breakfast was adequate and served from 7-10am. It included bacon, eggs, cheese, ham, tomato etc, and a large selection of bread rolls, croissants but the cereal was limited to muesli or corn flakes. Still, a great set up for a day walking around this wonderfully historical city. And there is 1 computer in the lobby which is free for use with internet. I would definitely stay here again if I could get a good internet rate.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Budapest Panorama Central
Budapest Panorama Central
#105 of 336 in Budapest
495 reviews
District V / Inner City
City Hotel Matyas
City Hotel Matyas
#137 of 336 in Budapest
798 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
#71 of 336 in Budapest
2,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hotel Orion Varkert
Hotel Orion Varkert
#39 of 336 in Budapest
593 reviews
Central Hotel 21
#72 of 336 in Budapest
622 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Museum Central
Budapest Museum Central
#115 of 336 in Budapest
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Pilvax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Pilvax

Address: Pilvax koez 1 - 3, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#84 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $48 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Pilvax 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Hotel Pilvax is located on a quiet side street just a few minutes walk from the heart of the downtown and the famous Vaci Street, with its most exclusive shops and restaurants. The hotel has 32 rooms and a Cafe, where the buffet breakfast is served. Traditional and international dishes are available for lunch or dinner at Pilvax Cafe. Thanks to its central location the city’s main attractions are easily accessible by walk or public transportation. The hotel is a perfect place for both business and leisure stays in Budapest. Standard room: comfortable, bright, air-conditioned standard rooms have bathroom with shower. Rooms can be requested with twin beds or a double bed. Average size of rooms: 20 m2. Room fittings: bathroom with shower, refrigerator, telephone, TV with satellite channels, pay-TV, free safe, Internet access at reception. Other services: free Internet corner, safe at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your City Hotel Pilvax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing