We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amgally”
Review of City Hotel Pilvax

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Hotel Pilvax
Ranked #131 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“amgally”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Just stayed there 4 nights, June 2012, the hotel is simple & nothing special, but has everything you need to make a great trip to Budapest, all the staff are helpfull & will advise were they can. You can not beat the location 200 yards to the shopping street Vaci utca, not much further to the river front, underground station just around the corner, there is a small super market direct opposite & a larger spar not far away up the road at the rear.
There is no lift so you might request a low level room, we were on the 2nd floor the stairs are a bind but not too much of a problem (even after a night out in the bars) talking bars, there is one attached to the hotel & an Irish bar just at the rear, both are the cheapest drinks we had on our trip (£1.50 pint, £2 large glass of wine)
Back to the hotel, the rooms are clean & tidy & air con easy to use, note no hairdryer or drink facilities but did have a fridge where we kept drinks cool, safe deposit boxes are behind the reception (no charge) & recomended for all your valuables. We asked for extra pillows, no problem which made for a better nights sleep
Would recomend the hotel & defiantly stay there again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    262
    98
    46
    11
See reviews for
45
264
32
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I almost wrote "in the heart of VIENNA" because the atmosphere in Old City Budapesht is so reminding the Vienna special atmosphere! And City Hotel Pilvax is in the center of that atmosphere, few minutes walk from the Danuba river and the bridge with a lions "guard". There is very nice staff, which will help you with recommendation of restaurant (they just recommended us so nice one!!!) or arranging very cheap taxi to the airport. Pilvax hotel provides good Wi-Fi for free. the only problem is that I can't recommend this hotel for elderly or disabled people because if you receiving room on 2nd or 3rd floor you will prefer to sleep in the lobby, there is very interesting spiral stairs, which is good mainly for a young and strong (even if drunk) people.

Room Tip: If you don't like spiral stairs - ask for a room on 1 floor :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dima C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at the end of June. The location is suberb, a short walk from 2 major metro stations and in the middle of a pedestrian zone full of shops and bars. Vaci utca is also only a short walk away. There is a small super market right opposite the hotel which is also very useful.
Staff speak very good English and we also heard one of them speaking German. The receptionist checking us in was very helpful, they also allowed us to leave our bags behind reception before we checked in and after we checked out.
The room was basic but clean and comfortable, also the air conditioning was a godsend in the heatwave. The bed was comfy although you only get 2 pillows that did not provide enough support, however reception provided us with a couple more after we asked. A few points about the room: there is no kettle or hair dryer but they provided one of the latter on request. Also there is no lift so people with heavy luggage might want to request a room on the first floor. There a pc with internet connection for the guests use in the lobby.
Breakfast was the weakest point of our stay, for 6 euros a head it was quite expensive for what we got. The buffet consisted of a selection of breads, cheeses, ham and scrambled egg, also some fruit, yoghurt and cereal.
All in all this a very good budget hotel and a good base for exploring the city. Also a point for tourists: you can purchase the Budapest card at the hotel which gives you free travel and discounts at a number of attractions.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimeaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We picked this hotel for the great location, close to public transportation, shopping, tourist sites and the river, and we were not disappointed. We got a good deal on the rate at Hotels.com. However, I was unable to contact the hotel by email because I could not find any direct email contact....hard to believe in this day and age. I would have liked to ask a few questions before leaving for our trip, but it was just a bit of an inconvenience, no major problem. The breakfast which was included in our rate was satisfactory, although it did not compare to the much better breakfasts we had at our earlier hotel stops in Prague and Vienna. There was some fruit, cheese and meats, hot eggs, packaged yogurts and bread, but not a very impressive assortment. Food was brought out only on an as needed basis, rather than presenting a nice display. Coffee machine had problems and resulted in the need to use instant. It was enough to get us to lunch though. The hotel entrance is about a half a block from streets which have vehicular traffic. Nice for walking, but a hassle if you have to drag your luggage out to a taxi in the rain. The front desk staff were extremely nice and helpful. English was fine. Although there is no one designated to assist with luggage, the man there did offer to assist. BEWARE!...there is no elevator and even rooms on the "first floor" are 2 flights of stairs up. We were on the 2nd floor and this was a pain when moving in and moving out of the hotel. During our stay it was not bad, but carrying all that luggage was a pain. The rooms were a bit worn, and the showers were tiny. No tub and once you slid the shower stall doors closed, you could barely move your arms without knocking into the door or accidentally shutting off your water. Despite the great location and the excellent room rate, I would probably have to try a different hotel if we returned to keep my family including two teen girls satisfied.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Top location in the center of Pest. Good service, friendly staff. We were allowed to enter our rooms early in the morning on the day of arrival. On the day of departure we could leave our luggage at the reception. Clean room. Nice warm douche, although very narrow.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ans H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

After leaving the hostel we were going to stay in without arranging anywhere else to stay this place saved us from wandering the streets for hours. The staff on reception were great and very helpful and the room was really nice and clean. After we left we realized we didn't know where to get a taxi from and ended up going back in. The woman on reception didn't know we had been guests at the hotel but still booked a taxi for us and let us wait in the reception.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stace85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Great location, in the very center of the city. Staff was polite and helpful, room was clean and nice, and breakfast was good. It's not a fancy hotel, but you get more than you pay for... Great value.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expl0r3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
City Hotel Matyas
City Hotel Matyas
#136 of 334 in Budapest
731 reviews
City Hotel Ring
#124 of 334 in Budapest
397 reviews
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#76 of 334 in Budapest
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
#70 of 334 in Budapest
2,085 reviews
District V / Inner City
Leo Panzio Hotel
Leo Panzio Hotel
#126 of 334 in Budapest
196 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Orion Varkert
Hotel Orion Varkert
#44 of 334 in Budapest
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Pilvax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Pilvax

Property: City Hotel Pilvax
Address: Pilvax koez 1 - 3, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#84 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Pilvax 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Hotel Pilvax is located on a quiet side street just a few minutes walk from the heart of the downtown and the famous Vaci Street, with its most exclusive shops and restaurants. The hotel has 32 rooms and a Cafe, where the buffet breakfast is served. Traditional and international dishes are available for lunch or dinner at Pilvax Cafe. Thanks to its central location the city’s main attractions are easily accessible by walk or public transportation. The hotel is a perfect place for both business and leisure stays in Budapest. Standard room: comfortable, bright, air-conditioned standard rooms have bathroom with shower. Rooms can be requested with twin beds or a double bed. Average size of rooms: 20 m2. Room fittings: bathroom with shower, refrigerator, telephone, TV with satellite channels, pay-TV, free safe, Internet access at reception. Other services: free Internet corner, safe at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel Pilvax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing