We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good modest hotel in a very good location”
Review of City Hotel Pilvax

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Hotel Pilvax
Ranked #131 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Järvenpää
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good modest hotel in a very good location”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Pilvax is in a very good location, and staff is friendly and professional. The room we were was quite small and a bit shabby, but very clean. Bed was a bit hard-ish, but suited me very well. The room was quiet enough, there's always some city life around. The restaurant was closed (wintertime ?), and breakfast was served in a pub in the same building. Breakfast was quite poor, coffee was bad and bread not worth mentioning. Cheese and sausages were ok. But there were plenty of good places nearby to get a decent breakfast.

Anyhow, Pilvax was very good value for the price, and all the important things were good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ok-59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zsuzsanna C, General Manager at City Hotel Pilvax, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Dear Guest,


We would like to thank you for your recent visit at City Hotel Pilvax and your positive feedback about our hotel.

Concerning the breakfast having seen some defects of the earlier outsourced management since the first of April the hotel itself has run the breakfast again. We sincerely hope and we do our best to meet the satisfaction of our valued Guests. We relocated the breakfast from the pub back to the restaurant however beyond breakfast the restaurant will be still closed for a while. Being 5 minutes walk from the pedestrian Váci street our Guests can select from offers of several restaurants in the nearby.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    262
    98
    46
    11
See reviews for
45
264
32
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
carlisle
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

stopped for 4 nights perfect location hotel clean and warm staff good only a couple of snags no tea , coffee facilities in room which would be good and breakfast is a bit well not a lot to choose from but plenty of cafes and eating places nearby

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

The hotel is nothing fancy but the location can't be beat. If you're on a budget and don't plan on spending much time in your room, this is an excellent choice. I got a great rate (around $40) on Hotels.com but have since looked and the rate is usually higher. I don't think I'd stay here if the rate was much more than $40 ish - I think you can do better in that case. But no complaints here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kakebeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I just came back from a weekend break to Budapest. We got a very good deal with our airline including the City Hotel Pilvax. The main positive for this hotel is the location. It is <5 min from the Danube, alot of restaurants / cafes and the main shopping street. Apart from the location the hotel is clean and comfortable. The downsides are that I could not get the internet to work in my room and the only English station on tv was CNN. We chose not to have our breakfast included which was a great decision as there are so many amazing cafes to choose from and our breakfast experiences were a real highlight for us (cafe New York, cafe Central and Gerloczy).

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ljor11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zsuzsanna C, General Manager at City Hotel Pilvax, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback concerning your stay at City Hotel Pilvax.
We are happy that you liked the location and the cleanliness of the hotel.

We regret that you couldn't reached the wifi internet in your room. We aware of the fact that rarely in some of our rooms wifi operates poorly. We 're about to take steps in the near future to improve the internet access. It's worth mentioning at arrival or even at booking if someone needs internet. The hotel has an internet corner in the lobby.

The improvement of selection of TV channels is just proceeding in this April.

We are very happy that you generally enjoyed your stay and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

This hotel is an excellent choice. It is clean, comfortable, very well-located and really good value for money. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. For anyone looking for a 3 star hotel this should be on your list.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AntonyT80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

My self and two friends stayed in this hotel from 21/12/11 to 23/12/11. The hotel provided everything we wanted for the price we paid. The rooms were nice and comfortable, staff very friendly and a perfect location. If and when I return to Budapest I will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blackcat180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We came here for a four night Christmas break and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location was brilliant, only a few minutes walk from the Vaci Utca, making it very easy to get to the lovely Christmas market and to explore further parts of the city via the metro. Rooms were clean, towels and beds made every day and very spacious especially for the price we paid. Only complaint to make would be the fact that there wasn't a hairdryer in the room, I had to go and ask for use of one each morning. We didn't have the breakfast while there so can't comment on this.

Jack Doyles bar next door to the hotel was a lovely place for a drink and one of the best things we could recommend here is Faust Wine Cellar in the castle district. Would definitely stay again when next visiting Budapest.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABandFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
City Hotel Matyas
City Hotel Matyas
#136 of 334 in Budapest
731 reviews
City Hotel Ring
#124 of 334 in Budapest
397 reviews
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#76 of 334 in Budapest
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
#70 of 334 in Budapest
2,082 reviews
District V / Inner City
Leo Panzio Hotel
Leo Panzio Hotel
#126 of 334 in Budapest
196 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Orion Varkert
Hotel Orion Varkert
#44 of 334 in Budapest
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Pilvax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Pilvax

Property: City Hotel Pilvax
Address: Pilvax koez 1 - 3, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#84 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Pilvax 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Hotel Pilvax is located on a quiet side street just a few minutes walk from the heart of the downtown and the famous Vaci Street, with its most exclusive shops and restaurants. The hotel has 32 rooms and a Cafe, where the buffet breakfast is served. Traditional and international dishes are available for lunch or dinner at Pilvax Cafe. Thanks to its central location the city’s main attractions are easily accessible by walk or public transportation. The hotel is a perfect place for both business and leisure stays in Budapest. Standard room: comfortable, bright, air-conditioned standard rooms have bathroom with shower. Rooms can be requested with twin beds or a double bed. Average size of rooms: 20 m2. Room fittings: bathroom with shower, refrigerator, telephone, TV with satellite channels, pay-TV, free safe, Internet access at reception. Other services: free Internet corner, safe at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel Pilvax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing