We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel - good service - interesting location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Budapest
Ranked #82 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“good hotel - good service - interesting location”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I stayed here a couple of nights and had a very pleasant stay.
The staff was nice, comfy rooms, breakfast with enough choice, fast wifi connection...
Nothing to complain about.
There's a night shop just nearby on the street of the french restaurant and french institute (pretty good lunch at their restaurant) where to buy drinks anytime for cheap.
On the other side of the hotel, there's a belgian pub.
There's no gym in this hotel, but I really recommend just taking a walk outside, there are stairs leading you up a hill where one can see all the city.
It's also just a few minutes away from the spa resort of a big & famous hotel...

Room Tip: I just heard my friends complaining that having rooms at the end of a corridor, they could hear to l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghost_object
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    663
    204
    52
    19
See reviews for
200
549
84
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We had an excellent stay here - good value for money - an excellent location and very friendly staff - could not complain about anything. The staff bent over backwards for my special dietary needs - and the rooms were clean a& comfortable and provided everything a guest could possibly need - well thought through - could not fault this hotel at all

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRLONDONW5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Once we arrived @ the hotel we were welcomed by a friendly staff and we noticed the position is remarkably good, right near Buda’s embarquement.
The impression of the room is that this is not really a 4 stars hotel, rather a 3.
Though, the position, as I mentioned, is worthy.
The hotel is quiet. You can relax.
We chose a transfer service to the airport for our return trip, it was priced 8500 HUF

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birkinbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg, Västra Götaland, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Very nice hotel located on the Buda side, you would not think that it's so nice when approaching. The center is within walking distance, and it is easy to use public transport if you like.
Recommendable

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The location is amazing. It's located directly at the beautiful Chain Bridge and just below the Buda Castle.
The rooms are clean and spacious, but a little bit outdated.
The breakfast is good, but lacks variation.
The staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristof P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I was starting to regret booking this hotel, having read other recent reviews. I travelled with my elderly parents and reviews regarding it's location I was nervous. Although on arrival we did have to make our way up the steps to get to the Hotel with our luggage, we asked at reception and there is actually a lift that brings you down from reception to the garage. Reception then open the door for you and you are almost on the street level. When coming back in we just had to ring the bell and reception would open the door again.

This hotel is in an amazing position. It is a three minute walk to Chain Bridge and about the same to the funnicular railway which brings you up to the Castle Dristrict. It is also only about a three minute walk to an area where you can pick up any of the Hop-on/Hop off buses.

The rooms are a little basic and small but are very clean. The style of the room is visible on the web site so it wasn't a surprise.

Breakfast is a little limited but it is sufficient to set you up for the day.

One hint if you like tea bring your own tea bags, they have every kind of fruit tea you could wish for, but no ordinary Tea.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the rear of the hotel as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NiamhoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The highest point of the hotel is its location, about 100m from the Danubio river and the most famous bridge of the city - Bridge of Chains -.
Its lowest score goes also to to the location, placed in the middle of a streeet with a serious slope, so the options are to climb a high staircase (in the lower street) or to slip down about 40m of a cobbled street when arriving trough the upper side, and both are rather inconvenient when you are carrying a suitcase.
The staff is very helpful and fluent in English and they can help you with information and touristic servicies.
It has acceptable wi-fi connection (free) in all the facilities and the breakfast is ok though not so varied as could be expected.

Room Tip: A tip to avoid the staircases/cobbled slope when arriving with heavy suitcases: in the lower street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tacho8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Lanchid 19 Hotel
Lanchid 19 Hotel
#55 of 333 in Budapest
683 reviews
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
District I / Buda
art'otel budapest
art'otel budapest
#38 of 333 in Budapest
2,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#31 of 333 in Budapest
883 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Orion Varkert
Hotel Orion Varkert
#45 of 333 in Budapest
536 reviews
Hotel Regnum Residence
#80 of 333 in Budapest
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Budapest

Property: Carlton Hotel Budapest
Address: Apor Peter utca 3, Budapest 1011, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#70 Family Hotel in Budapest
#71 Business Hotel in Budapest
#79 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Hotel Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapest Carlton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing