We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice, comfortable, very good located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Budapest
Ranked #81 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“nice, comfortable, very good located”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

this hotel is really good for people who want to discover the city as good as possible, because it's located in the center and you can get to all most important and beautiful sights on foot from this place. After your big trip during the day you will find the rest in the hotel, because it's calm and comfortable. Rooms there are quite small, but nice. The stuff is helpful and polite. Every morning you can have good breakfast. It's not so various, but you can find everything not to be hungery then. Wi-Fi connection is not so fast in rooms, but you can contact with your friends and relatieves using it :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuscha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    649
    197
    50
    19
See reviews for
195
536
84
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We found The Hotel Carlton much to our liking. The Reception staff were English-speaking and always helpful, providing us with maps, etc for local attractions and tips as to which restaurants may suit us. The hotel is within walking distance of all the Buda attractions, it is not far to walk to a Metro station to get to Pest, or you could walk over the Chain Bridge. Our room was well appointed with two king single beds pushed together. We found the room a bit small to accommodate our two suit cases and for us to spread our belongings about. There are many stairs to climb if approaching from Fo utca so that is a problem if carrying luggage – best to approach via Hunyadi Janos utca. Breakfast was very good and consisted of an array of food items such as cereals, yoghurt, breads, Hungarian meats and salami, local cheeses, fruit as well as juices and tea and coffee. The local area caters for the tourist trade so it is better to head over to Pest for a larger range of restaurants, cafes, etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith-Di
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
113 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is nice but you'll have to get used to the Hungarian swinging shower door and not soak the bathroom. ;)

The breakfast is dynamite. I usually skip continental breakfasts because they're coffee and a donut. This has eggs, wieners,toast jelly juice coffee milk and fruit. I'm sitting there finishing up breakfast now!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarlMessner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Very reasonably priced with lots of breakfast options on the buffet, extremely helpful staff, immaculately clean. Very convenient to all parts of city, yet in a quiet neighborhood. Three computers with internet for guests in lobby! Repeat: friendly and helpful staff with good English. Note: no pool, no fitness center, small bar, no operating restaurant (but many good ones nearby).

Room Tip: Ask for in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidhstanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in February. The hotel is about a 3 minute walk to the Chain Link Bridge connecting Buda and Pest. The room was clean and had everything you would need for a short break including tea and coffee. The room also had a very powerful heater - very handy when we had snowy weather! There is a lovely restaurant next door to the hotel which is very handy if you don't want to walk too far. The breakfast was varied and had something for everyone to include hot items, continental, juice and fruit. The reception staff were very helpful, they organised a taxi to the shooting range and we were able to book our river cruise there too. All in all a very good hotel and a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LE0788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
259 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Very impressed with the quality of the hotel, breakfast, rooms and location. Wifi is good. Room has tea and coffee maker and few english news channel. Comfortable bed. Only two negatives, reception staff have a grumpy face, never smile during our three days stay, only after the check out the guy offered a smile. No iron in the room, charged FT 450 to iron a t shirt, even though not properly done. Never mentioned in advance about the charges. Basic breakfast offered. No views from the hotel. Located 5mts from the chain bridge. Near by there is hop on and off stop. Overall a good stay and experience.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ajesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The hotel is in a really central position for visiting all the sights of Budapest and as is located in a quiet street. This means you can easily get to all the attractions and benefit from a good night’s sleep.

The staff are helpful and the hotel is kept spotlessly clean. The breakfast, which is included in your booking, is very good. There is quite a choice including a couple of hot items. The coffee is really good, as is the choice of bread!

Each room has free Wi-Fi (password from reception), a minibar, tea/coffee making facilities and the TV has BBC World and CNN in English. My only complaint is that the tea supplied is Earl Grey so take your own tea bags is you don’t like it!

Tips:

To get to the hotel from the airport book the Airport Shuttle – you can do it online. It is really efficient and at only £5.50 per person per trip it takes all of the stress out of the journey.
Also you get a better rate of exchange for the Forint if you do it in Budapest. I bought mine at a local travel agent and got a poor rate and a rip-off rate for changing the left-over notes back to Stirling. If you decide to get a coffee from Costa ask them to heat the glass/cup - they don't do it unless you do!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Lanchid 19 Hotel
Lanchid 19 Hotel
#56 of 342 in Budapest
659 reviews
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
District I / Buda
art'otel budapest
art'otel budapest
#38 of 342 in Budapest
2,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#28 of 342 in Budapest
837 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Orion Varkert
Hotel Orion Varkert
#45 of 342 in Budapest
521 reviews
Hotel Regnum Residence
#69 of 342 in Budapest
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Budapest

Property: Carlton Hotel Budapest
Address: Apor Peter utca 3, Budapest 1011, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#70 Family Hotel in Budapest
#71 Business Hotel in Budapest
#79 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Hotel Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapest Carlton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing