We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlton Hotel Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Budapest
Ranked #81 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Zagreb, Grad Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Next impressions about hotel:
- relatively small rooms
- redecoration would be welcome
- unstandable heating during night
- breakfast ok but nothing special
- small street just in front of hotel is unbelievable dirty
- everything important to see is walking distance
Complete: value for money reasonable but 4 stars are questionable

Helpful?
1 Thank Predrag T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    643
    196
    49
    19
See reviews for
192
530
84
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

The hotel is placed in a very central position. Right under Castle Buda and only five minutes walking distance from the Fishermen's Bastion and the castle district. It is also really close (like 200 meters) to one of the marks of the city, the Chain Bridge. The staff was really helpful and replied quickly to my every need like the airport shuttle arrangements, heating problems or navigation through the city.
My room needed a little renovation, it looked a little old.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank absucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Everything was moderately good. Clean, comfortable, large rooms.
Pleasant and helpful staff, fairly centrally located. 5-8 minutes walk, then you're in the middle of everything. If you're looking for a lively place, so you may not be happy in this hotel. it's so quiet in the evenings that you suspect you maybe are the only guest who staying there.
But in the morning, when you come into the restaurant for the breakfast, you will see that you were wrong.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarjanMaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We spent four nights at this hotel which is close to the Chain Bridge and Buda Castle area. Staff spoke english and were very helpful. Room was clean, if a little small, with limited hanging space for clothes. There was a reasonable selection at breakfast but hot food is limited.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robtee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsburg, Michigan
Level Contributor
211 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights for sightseeing and Christmas fairs. Located in the castle district. Pretty far from the nearest metro station, but there are two trolleys that run close to the hotel, exit at the stop for the chain bridge. The hotel offers an excellent breakfast (both hot and cold dishes) and the staff are very helpful. I couldn't find any nearby grocery stores but there are several nice restaurants. One directly across the alley was awful... okay for a beer but don't try the food there even if you're tired and looking for something fast and easy. On the other hand, there were some nice pubs next door or around the corner. Overall, this was a good experience except for one problem. It was very cold during my trip and the radiator kept the room toasty warm... but too toasty. It could not be turned off and the room became stifling. I had to open the windows at night, and that meant significant street noise. I don't know whether this is the norm in Budapest.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Ticks all the boxes for a tourist hotel. Great location within easy walking distance of many attractions, clean rooms, very comfortable beds and all at a reasonable price. As other reviewers have pointed out, the rooms are a little on the small side, but how much time do you want to spend in the room on a short city break?

If you want luxury, you should book (and pay the prices at) the Kempinsky. Otherwise, this hotel should meet your needs.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are non smoking. If you are a non smoker, make sure you ask for a non smoking room whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hairyscot1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed in the Carlton Hotel with my husband for 4 nights. Room was clean,also had a kettle which would not switch off itself, only coffee in packets supplied but we had bought our own tea bags & powdered milk. Cups were the plastic kind which we never saw in any hotel we have stayed in before. I took 2 cups up to the room from breakfast on the first morning. Breakfast was the usual continental fare. Staff at the reception were very helpful. A walk over the chain bridge brings you into the shopping district. Ate out in an Italian restaurant called 'Cucina' on Vaci St.very nice food. Also ate around the corner from the Carlton at a place called 'Lanchid Sorozo' a bar/restaurant, few locals there. Went up on the funicular railway from Adam Clark Sq to the Castle.Lovely to see the view.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DenDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
District I / Buda
Lanchid 19 Hotel
Lanchid 19 Hotel
#63 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
District I / Buda
art'otel budapest
art'otel budapest
#38 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#27 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Orion Varkert
Hotel Orion Varkert
#45 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Regency Suites Hotel Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Budapest

Property: Carlton Hotel Budapest
Address: Apor Peter utca 3, Budapest 1011, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#70 Family Hotel in Budapest
#71 Business Hotel in Budapest
#79 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Hotel Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Carlton Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapest Carlton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing