We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“carlton hotel budapest” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlton Hotel Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Budapest
Ranked #82 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Edwardsburg, Michigan
Level Contributor
211 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“carlton hotel budapest”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights for sightseeing and Christmas fairs. Located in the castle district. Pretty far from the nearest metro station, but there are two trolleys that run close to the hotel, exit at the stop for the chain bridge. The hotel offers an excellent breakfast (both hot and cold dishes) and the staff are very helpful. I couldn't find any nearby grocery stores but there are several nice restaurants. One directly across the alley was awful... okay for a beer but don't try the food there even if you're tired and looking for something fast and easy. On the other hand, there were some nice pubs next door or around the corner. Overall, this was a good experience except for one problem. It was very cold during my trip and the radiator kept the room toasty warm... but too toasty. It could not be turned off and the room became stifling. I had to open the windows at night, and that meant significant street noise. I don't know whether this is the norm in Budapest.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    643
    196
    49
    19
See reviews for
192
530
84
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Ticks all the boxes for a tourist hotel. Great location within easy walking distance of many attractions, clean rooms, very comfortable beds and all at a reasonable price. As other reviewers have pointed out, the rooms are a little on the small side, but how much time do you want to spend in the room on a short city break?

If you want luxury, you should book (and pay the prices at) the Kempinsky. Otherwise, this hotel should meet your needs.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are non smoking. If you are a non smoker, make sure you ask for a non smoking room whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hairyscot1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed in the Carlton Hotel with my husband for 4 nights. Room was clean,also had a kettle which would not switch off itself, only coffee in packets supplied but we had bought our own tea bags & powdered milk. Cups were the plastic kind which we never saw in any hotel we have stayed in before. I took 2 cups up to the room from breakfast on the first morning. Breakfast was the usual continental fare. Staff at the reception were very helpful. A walk over the chain bridge brings you into the shopping district. Ate out in an Italian restaurant called 'Cucina' on Vaci St.very nice food. Also ate around the corner from the Carlton at a place called 'Lanchid Sorozo' a bar/restaurant, few locals there. Went up on the funicular railway from Adam Clark Sq to the Castle.Lovely to see the view.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DenDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights at the Carlton Hotel end of November on business trip.
The plus was the cost and the location - Right by the end of the chain bridge within easy walking of the city centre attractions. Couldn't beat the cost in other similar hotels.
It was clean and the staff quite helpful. Breakfast was average for this type of hotel. Nothing special but lots of choices, mostly continental options. Plenty of room to sit even though the hotel was busy for time of year.
Room was O.K. but make sure you don't get put near the lifts as they are noisy (Mine was!)
Negatives - Plastic cups for coffee in room (1st time ever come across this!)
Lack of facilities - No food in hotel other than breakfast (but plenty of places to eat very nearby) If all you want is a bed to sleep then it's fine - Anymore, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alphen aan den Rijn
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

This hotel is definitel not a 4 star hotel, however it is located at a very good spot. Everything is in walking distance. It does have a good breakfast buffet and they have 2 computers with printer free to use. (handy for boardingpasses) The rooms are very smal, dark and basic. This hotel was half the price of the 5 star hotel I stayed in before.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilco K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uden, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Overall good hotel with clean and modern rooms in a quiet area. Close walking distance (20 mins.) to many attractions. There's also a Belgian beer bar right next door (for non-celiacs) if your thirsty. I obviously had a few wines. (Riesling).

The breakfast buffet was fine with many choices, nothing spectacular. But upon request (email) they did bring out Schar gluten free rolls, bread, and chocolate wafers both mornings for breakfast. There's also many choices for safe gluten free meals. I ate at Due Fratelli's Italian Restaurant, Pata Negra's and Free From Finom (a snack bar in all shopping malls with g/f burgers/hot dogs/desserts) and did not get sick at all. All places knew about the g/f diet so it was no problem at all.
I did meet two woman (1 with a gluten intolerance, whom I forgot her name, So Sorry) and her friend Jill. Hello!! They both ate at the Gong Restaurant around the corner from the Carlton. (I believe she had pork and mashed potatoes) with no problems. So there are choices out there. I would highly recommend the Faust wine tasting excursion underneath the Hilton in a wine cellar. We opted for the 9 wines instead of the 6 wines offered. The 6 would of been more then enough. We were there 3.5 hours, yup 3.5 hours, unreal time. And they did give me some gluten free snacks to go with the wine.

And if the two woman I met at breakfast read this review shoot me an email, it was really nice talking to you guys.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

I'm writing because having just stayed here, I can vouch that, unlike some of the comments below, our room was spotlessly clean, the linen was spotlessly clean and freshly ironed, the loos in the public area were spotlessly clean...... There was an extremely well-stocked breakfast buffet. The staff at the front reception were polite and helpful. The rooms are on the small side - but we didn't come to Budapest to hang about in a hotel room: this is a great hotel if you want somewhere central from which to explore, safe and clean, and a hearty breakfast. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
District I / Buda
Lanchid 19 Hotel
Lanchid 19 Hotel
#64 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
District I / Buda
art'otel budapest
art'otel budapest
#39 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hotel Orion Varkert
Hotel Orion Varkert
#45 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#26 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Hotel Regnum Residence
#68 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Budapest

Property: Carlton Hotel Budapest
Address: Apor Peter utca 3, Budapest 1011, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#70 Family Hotel in Budapest
#71 Business Hotel in Budapest
#79 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Hotel Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Carlton Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapest Carlton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing