We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect tourist hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Budapest
Ranked #84 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Ticks all the boxes for a tourist hotel. Great location within easy walking distance of many attractions, clean rooms, very comfortable beds and all at a reasonable price. As other reviewers have pointed out, the rooms are a little on the small side, but how much time do you want to spend in the room on a short city break?

If you want luxury, you should book (and pay the prices at) the Kempinsky. Otherwise, this hotel should meet your needs.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are non smoking. If you are a non smoker, make sure you ask for a non smoking room whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hairyscot1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

472 - 478 of 1,417 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed in the Carlton Hotel with my husband for 4 nights. Room was clean,also had a kettle which would not switch off itself, only coffee in packets supplied but we had bought our own tea bags & powdered milk. Cups were the plastic kind which we never saw in any hotel we have stayed in before. I took 2 cups up to the room from breakfast on the first morning. Breakfast was the usual continental fare. Staff at the reception were very helpful. A walk over the chain bridge brings you into the shopping district. Ate out in an Italian restaurant called 'Cucina' on Vaci St.very nice food. Also ate around the corner from the Carlton at a place called 'Lanchid Sorozo' a bar/restaurant, few locals there. Went up on the funicular railway from Adam Clark Sq to the Castle.Lovely to see the view.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights at the Carlton Hotel end of November on business trip.
The plus was the cost and the location - Right by the end of the chain bridge within easy walking of the city centre attractions. Couldn't beat the cost in other similar hotels.
It was clean and the staff quite helpful. Breakfast was average for this type of hotel. Nothing special but lots of choices, mostly continental options. Plenty of room to sit even though the hotel was busy for time of year.
Room was O.K. but make sure you don't get put near the lifts as they are noisy (Mine was!)
Negatives - Plastic cups for coffee in room (1st time ever come across this!)
Lack of facilities - No food in hotel other than breakfast (but plenty of places to eat very nearby) If all you want is a bed to sleep then it's fine - Anymore, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

This hotel is definitel not a 4 star hotel, however it is located at a very good spot. Everything is in walking distance. It does have a good breakfast buffet and they have 2 computers with printer free to use. (handy for boardingpasses) The rooms are very smal, dark and basic. This hotel was half the price of the 5 star hotel I stayed in before.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilco K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Overall good hotel with clean and modern rooms in a quiet area. Close walking distance (20 mins.) to many attractions. There's also a Belgian beer bar right next door (for non-celiacs) if your thirsty. I obviously had a few wines. (Riesling).

The breakfast buffet was fine with many choices, nothing spectacular. But upon request (email) they did bring out Schar gluten free rolls, bread, and chocolate wafers both mornings for breakfast. There's also many choices for safe gluten free meals. I ate at Due Fratelli's Italian Restaurant, Pata Negra's and Free From Finom (a snack bar in all shopping malls with g/f burgers/hot dogs/desserts) and did not get sick at all. All places knew about the g/f diet so it was no problem at all.
I did meet two woman (1 with a gluten intolerance, whom I forgot her name, So Sorry) and her friend Jill. Hello!! They both ate at the Gong Restaurant around the corner from the Carlton. (I believe she had pork and mashed potatoes) with no problems. So there are choices out there. I would highly recommend the Faust wine tasting excursion underneath the Hilton in a wine cellar. We opted for the 9 wines instead of the 6 wines offered. The 6 would of been more then enough. We were there 3.5 hours, yup 3.5 hours, unreal time. And they did give me some gluten free snacks to go with the wine.

And if the two woman I met at breakfast read this review shoot me an email, it was really nice talking to you guys.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I'm writing because having just stayed here, I can vouch that, unlike some of the comments below, our room was spotlessly clean, the linen was spotlessly clean and freshly ironed, the loos in the public area were spotlessly clean...... There was an extremely well-stocked breakfast buffet. The staff at the front reception were polite and helpful. The rooms are on the small side - but we didn't come to Budapest to hang about in a hotel room: this is a great hotel if you want somewhere central from which to explore, safe and clean, and a hearty breakfast. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We found the hotel to be much more than we had expected for the price with a clean and modern twin room which contained tea/coffee making facilities with teabags/coffee/sugar/sweeteners replenished daily, a mini-bar, safe, and television. The room was cleaned daily if we left the sign on the door and towels replaced. Breakfast was varied and of a good overall quality with staff replenishing supplies and trying to meet all needs, when I mentioned that I did not want scrambled eggs with bacon they went and made me a plate of plain scrambled eggs. Reception staff were very helpful with directions and suggestions for places of interest to visit. Location wise the place is perfect, up a cute little cobbled street on the very quaint and historic Buda side of the Danube yet within easy walking distance of Pest and all attractions.
I would only suggest that the shower in our room was not very powerful and also it might be better to supply pot cups rather than plastic ones in the rooms, however, these are just trifles.
A wonderful time was had at this hotel and I can only thank all the staff for their help and professionalism.
Room 102 - 20th - 24th Nov.

Room Tip: There is an elevator so all rooms are easy to access, ours was perfect on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thenumberthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
art'otel budapest
art'otel budapest
#43 of 336 in Budapest
2,909 reviews
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#49 of 336 in Budapest
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Starlight Suiten Hotel
Starlight Suiten Hotel
#36 of 336 in Budapest
1,275 reviews
Fraser Residence Budapest
#22 of 336 in Budapest
1,241 reviews
NH Budapest City
#74 of 336 in Budapest
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Budapest

Address: Apor Peter utca 3, Budapest 1011, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#71 Business Hotel in Budapest
#79 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $65 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Hotel Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carlton Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapest Carlton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing