We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and solid hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Ranked #32 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great location and solid hotel”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I spent the best part of a week here for a conference. The hotel from the outside is nothing special being a bit heavy on the concrete but once inside it's really nicely finished. The location could not be better as it sits on the bank of the Danube with the terrace bar facing out which makes a great place to sit with a beer! The rooms were typical Marriott standard, clean and comfortable and the food all through the week was really very good. Recommended and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChapmanDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review here on TripAdvisor.

It was a great pleasure having you here as our guest, and that you selected Budapest Marriott Hotel for your accommodation during your stay in Budapest.

I look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip!

Sincerely,

Rick Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,680
    974
    196
    47
    25
See reviews for
391
1,237
148
597
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (779)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We arrived in Budapest around 2 AM and our original hotel had messed up the booking not accounting for us to arrive so early on the day of our check-in, (even though we had specified arrival dates prior). So they were fully booked.

Our tour guide recommended the Marriott so we went there and they were able to find us 3 rooms in a matter of minutes, we signed and were in our rooms 15 minutes after arriving at the Marriott. The staff are very friendly and helpful, they went out of their way to accommodate us on short notice.

We had been travelling for 7 hours and the original hotel booking mix up really took it out of us. Luckily the Marriott did not disappoint, rooms were great, extremely clean and some of the most comfortable beds we have ever had.

The final price was 150 Euros per room divided by two, so for a last minuted room, we were very pleased with the price as well.

Unfortunately we had to leave the next day back to our original hotel however next time we visit Budapest, Marriott is the only place where we will stay.

Room Tip: They are all good! Ask for a room with a view of the Danube, amazing at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xtianam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind comments with regards to your recent stay with us.

We do hope to welcome you again very soon!

Kind regards,

Rcik Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The hotel is right on the Danube in the heart of the activity. One block to the walking street. Lots of restaurants just outside along the river and on the walking street. Close to the hop on bus. A typical Marriott. Staff was very helpful. We came a few days before our river cruise and chose this hotel because Viking put us up the first two days of our tour. I am glad we stayed there. Several days before we left home, the hotel sent an e mail offering to pick us up at the airport in a private van for a reasonable charge- 1/2 of what the cruise company charged. Try to get the breakfast buffet included to avoid the pricy charge if it is important to you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tvlbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your review and for shaing such positive comments, it is truly appreciated.

Should your travels bring you back to Budapest again, we do hope to welcome you back to Budapest Marriott Hotel!

With kind regards,

Rick Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had fantastic views of the Danube from our room, as did many of the rooms. We also had access to the Executive Lounge which has a great outdoor seating area overlooking the Danube. You can walk into town, although the hike to City Park is a good distance. We took the hop-on/hop off bus (the one with the Giraffe) to the Buda Side and the Citadel and Castle area. The meeting spot was just a few blocks away.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your comments with regards to your recent stay.
I am delighted to read that you had a very pleasant stay with us here at Budapest Marriott Hotel.

I do hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rick Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

I've staid at this hotel several times now.
Nice hotel with spacious rooms, friendly staff and with a decent breakfast.
It's located in the heart of the city and offers a great view over the Buda height.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rosehjerte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for taking time to place a review, it is most appreciated.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Should your travels bring you back to Budapest again in the future, I do hope you elect to stay with us again at Budapest Marriott Hotel.

With warm regards,

Rick Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We pre-paid from the U.S. including the breakfast. Upon arrival, we upgraded our room using my Marriott Gold status, which gave us access to the Executive Lounge.

The hotel is very centrally located. You can walk pretty much everywhere, including across the Chain or Elizabeth bridges to the Buda side.

Our room had a view of the Buda side and the Elizabeth Bridge. It appears to have a balcony, but it's really a walkway, and you have no access from the room.

Bathroom was a very generous side. There is a hard-wired night light, an unusual feature in a hotel. Nice towels, good shower.

Bedroom is very generous size, especially for Europe. I thought the bed was soft, but I slept soundly both nights.

Buffet breakfast in Peppers or the Executive Lounge is very extensive.

Internet was free with our package. Internet is free for all in the public areas. We understand Internet is expensive in the room if not included.

On-site health club very extensive. Jacuzzi is on for 20 minutes, then off for 20 minutes. Swimsuits required in Jacuzzi, but optional in steam room and sauna (although a towel is required).

Staff was very attentive.

Cost pre-paid was about $217 U.S. per night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalTraveler91356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel.

I am most pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kindest regards,

Rick Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed here only for night (wishing more). We paid the 25 euro to upgrade to 10th floor with lounge access. Lounge itself had great views of Buda Side and river both sides and of course food and coffee and deserts in the evening. We requested a quiet floor and got one. The room itself was neat, bathroom updated, and breakfast was GRAND king style buffet! We actually left the drapes on the windows open for the lit up bridges and monument visible in the night time view blending into the morning sunrise right from the comfort of your bed.

The shopping street is right behind the hotel and the other side is the Danube accessible to hop into a quick sunset cruise in the evening.

I would stay here if I ever visit Budapest again without a doubt.

Room Tip: for a little fee, if option is there, upgrade and stay in the river view room (which most rooms seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1worldtraveller06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your comments and rest assured I will be sure to share with the entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and thank you once again,

Kindest regards,

Rick Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 334 in Budapest
3,354 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#17 of 334 in Budapest
320 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#18 of 334 in Budapest
4,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budapest Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Marriott Hotel

Property: Budapest Marriott Hotel
Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 4, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#20 Family Hotel in Budapest
#25 Business Hotel in Budapest
#28 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#31 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Budapest Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Budapest Marriott Hotel is the only hotel in Budapest offering a magnificent Danube panorama from all of its 364 newly refurbished rooms. The hotel is located in the heart of the city, within walking distance of shopping, business and entertainment areas. Offering an extraordinary blend of comfort and convenience, sophisticated guest rooms and suites have been smartly designed with work areas, high-speed Internet and thoughtful appointments...All graced by soothing river views. We offer complimentary WIFI in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Budapest Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Budapest
Budapest Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing