We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Ranked #30 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stayed here on business trip and WOW this was well located hotel.
Had great views along the Danube and good site of the bridges, citadel etc. - awesome !
The rooms were a good size and hotel clean. Staff were friendly and helpful.
The hotel restaurant served delicious breakfast and lunch/dinner.
The Danube boat trip was right on its doorstep and plenty of dining places within walking distance close by. Plenty of things to see in Budapest.
I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NayaabNet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our very convenient location in the heart of Budapest.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Robert Grader
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,098)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,589 - 1,595 of 3,099 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

My husband I were at this fantastic just before Christmas.
It is an amazing hotel with the best location in Budapest but what makes it so special is the very welcoming, well trained staff. Everyone from the maids to the front desk do a wonderful job.
The location right on the Danube offers incredible unobstructed views of the Buda side.
It is walking distance to many tourist sites, we particularly enjoyed walking to the marvelous Christmas market, only about 3 blocks away. This market is far superior to the markets in Vienna.
The breakfast buffet is very good, with an international selection of food.
I would recommend this hotel for excellent service and great location.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony is a great bonus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank natty3816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review of your recent stay.
It sounds like a very enjoyable pre-Christmas time spending with us and at Peppers Mediterranean Grill.
We appreciate you taking the time to share feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again!

Warmest regards,
Robert Grader
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed here in December for a few nights to celebrate husbands birthday. Hotel, although rather drab and ugly from the outside, was very comfortable and provided us with almost everything we needed for a short stay. Its location (with every room overlooking the Danube) was perfect for the tourist. It was within walking distance of many sights eg Royal Opera House, Cheyn Bridge, river Cruises, shopping areas, traditional Christmas markets, St Stephens Etc. Furthermore, it was served by excellent public transport should one wish to travel further afield. Restaurants and cafes were abound in the immediate area, most at very reasonable prices for what we found to be interesting and good quality cuisine (far more exciting and far less costly than eating in the hotels restaurant). Whilst breakfast was good and varied, serving staff were rather glum and unfriendly. In fact, I think this is one aspect of our stay that let the Marriott side down somewhat. I think it fair to say that generally speaking the staff were on the whole quite polite. However, they most certainly didnt have the knack or ability to make one feel valued. Certain behaviour was far less than the polished service one has come to expect from the Marriott brand eg tea, coffee and glasses were not replenished in our room daily, no bread plates available in restaurant at breakfast and when I requested some I was handed a cereal bowl instead! Other examples of the lack of polished service...the usually delicious daily cake and pastry Buffett in the reception lounge area was half empty at 8.45pm even though it was meant to be served until 10pm. I, and others, were keen to purchase the Buffett when we returned to the hotel after a long day sightseeing. It was very off-putting to see that it hadn't been refreshed as it should have, so we simply walked away and chose not to buy. On another occasion, shortly after arrival, we were running late for a prime performance at The Royal Opera House. Having had a long journey and not yet being familiar with our whereabouts we somewhat anxiously asked reception if they could get us a reliable taxi as quickly as possible. Reply? "You can find one outside". I think the biggest disappointment for me was that my request for a high floor room with a view of Buda Castle (to celebrate my husbands birthday) was completely ignored even though we were informed by reception that the hotel was half empty as it was approaching Christmas and their usual business travellers were long gone, leaving just a few tourists to use the rooms. No, something was lacking in the staffs ability to make their guests feel valued. Would I stay here again? Probably not. Budapest is a wonderful city, well served by many well regarded hotels. I shall definately return to see more of this great city but will next time look for a more traditional and characterful hotel, one which places more importance on going the extra mile for their tourist clientele. The Marriott, whilst fine in a number of ways, felt impersonal and more geared towards the short stay business traveller.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkWelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We recently spent a week at this hotel and had a wonderful time in Budapest. The staff is great and helped with anything asked.
The location can NOT be beat, views fantastic,the hotel was very clean and close to everything.

We were upgraded to a lovely suite on the executive lounge level--Thank you.(platinum member)
The room was quite warm--hard time cooling it down for sleeping.
Breakfast was downstains--not in the exec. lounge due to "not enough participants."
No problem--lovely buffet, great selection of meats/cheese/fruits/cerael/bread & pastries/eggs cooked to order--/bacon/susages--you get the picture.
Again the staff was great and always there for you.

The evening exec. lounge was pretty sad - compared to other Marriott Hotels.
They put out the bare essentials and shut down fairly early??? If this was due to the "not enough participants"--why bother at all.
We would return after a long day and like to enjoy a glass--or 2--of wine before going to bed--sometimes finding things being carted away---at 7:30 ish???

All in all I would recommend this Marriott, esp for their location and hope for the best with the exec. lounge!
PJ

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank pjnstuie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Wonderful experience at the Budapest Marriott. Arrived a day early for the Viking Christmas Market Cruise (Budapest to Nurnberg). Accomodations were excellent. View was fantastic. A short walk to our first Christmas Market and it was a delightful time.

Room Tip: All rooms are "River View" and the Hotel is constructed with all rooms facing the Danube R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnAmeliaIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We were fortunate to get to stay at this lovely hotel prior to our Viking River Cruise this past August. We loved this location. The concierge was very helpful in lining up an excellent local guide for our group of fourteen to explore this beautiful city. We enjoyed drinks and lunch in the river front hotel bar on our first day. The location and views were just outstanding!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank MargieLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We recently stayed at the Marriott while visiting Christmas Markets in Budapest. The hotel was not only in a great location but was beautiful, clean, trendy, and had great service. The views were wonderful as all rooms look out onto the river. The breakfast was super and there was a "cake buffet" in the evenings that was a real treat after coming back from very long walks around the city. DO NOT MISS the Christmas markets here, they were hands down the best we have visited in Europe.

Room Tip: GREAT location!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smartypants5659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#28 of 334 in Budapest
3,482 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#16 of 334 in Budapest
4,351 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budapest Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Marriott Hotel

Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 4, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#20 Family Hotel in Budapest
#25 Business Hotel in Budapest
#27 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#31 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $166 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Budapest Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Budapest Marriott Hotel is the only hotel in Budapest offering a magnificent Danube panorama from all of its 364 newly refurbished rooms. The hotel is located in the heart of the city, within walking distance of shopping, business and entertainment areas. Offering an extraordinary blend of comfort and convenience, sophisticated guest rooms and suites have been smartly designed with work areas, high-speed Internet and thoughtful appointments...All graced by soothing river views. We offer complimentary WIFI in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Budapest Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Budapest
Budapest Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing