We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views and location from an otherwise mediocre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Ranked #32 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

From this hotel, you get excellent views over the Danube river. The hotel including rooms and common area are tired and in need of renovation. The hotel is also well-located with access to interesting destinations within a short walk or subway ride.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crheimy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,006)
There are newer reviews for Budapest Marriott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,562 - 1,568 of 3,006 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

The staff at the Budapest Marriott was courteous and professional. We spent two nights at this hotel on October 10th and 11th. It is located on the Pest side right along the Danube River Walkway. Our room had a wonderful view across the Danube with Buda Castle, Fisherman's Bastion, the Chain Bridge, and Buda Hill. What an amazing sight at night! Conveniently located only about 1/2 mile from the Chain Bridge area. It was an easy walk along the Danube embankment to the Bridge and on further to the Shoes on the Danube. The Korzo statue was just a step away outside the back entrance to the hotel. The market area of Budapest is about a 15 minute walk as well.

The hotel was very clean and they have an outstanding restaurant, Peppers. The Aqva Lounge was nicely appointed and we enjoyed a couple nights lounging in the bar area after a day sightseeing. In the late afternoon in the lobby lounge area, a nice dessert bar was set up and for about $10, you can enjoy unlimited desserts and a nice drink.

I would definitely recommend staying in this hotel but be sure to ask for a room with a view of the Buda side!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Buda side!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed here for three night in Nov 13 having used Avios points .

I was ready to give this hotel a pretty good review until about my last couple of hours in Budapest. As normal the hotel had requested a credit card swipe at check in for any extras. Not a problem. However, after we checked out with NOTHING having been charged to this card' we found ourselves in the incredibly embarassing position of having our card declined at a restaurant because the Marriott had not cleared the "swipe" they had taken. I was left in the situation of having to run around central Pest trying to find an open ATM to get cash to pay for our our meal. Needless to say the bank charges far more for the cash withdrawal than the credit card would have. Additionally all this time wasting caused us to be running late so we had to pay for a taxi to get us back to the hotel in time for our airport transfer instead of walking back as we had planned.

Besides this major hiccup the hotel had been fine - well situated, comfortable with a good breakfast. The rooms and bathrooms looking a little dated by todays standards but nothing to worry about, although I do wish housekeeping would daily replace all the toiletries that have been opened. When you're on a short trip with strict weight on the airline you tend to rely on the hotels shower gel etc. I also have to agree with a previous reviewer about the number/size of the towels for hair washing.

Overall if it hadn't been for the credit card fiasco I would have recommended the hotel as good value for money,

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaD1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Hard to beat the location with a spectacular view over the Danube from all rooms (even better from the large Executive (concierge) Lounge on one of the top floors). Staff was efficient and helpful. Even my housekeeper was personable. Rooms are typical Marriott, perhaps slightly more spacious than in the average U.S. property. They appeared to have been updated/redecorated relatively recently which was nice. Lobby bar and restaurant are attractive and inviting. If you qualify for the executive lounge, this is an excellent amenity. Not only is the view great but breakfast and evening hors d'oeuvres were ample and of a good variety and generally seemed to be a cut above the usual Marriott concierge lounge fare. The on-site fitness center is large and well-equipped. My stay here was really excellent in all regards. Some on TripAdvisor complain about the rather plain architecture, but how much time does one spend outside gazing at the hotel exterior? Pretty small issue in the scheme of things.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sparcouvol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly located and the rooms are a nice size. The bathroom is small but fine but problem with towels... Only two large towels and nothing to wrap my hair in! The rooms are clean and do the job but that's why I gave the hotel an average score... That's it... It's just average.. Nothing special, no extras in a room you'd expect from a hotel of this standing, nothing special about the bar/cafe area, no indication that you are staying in a special hotel. The staff do what they need to do and are helpful but again just average... They do just what they need to do. I have one major plus point however, the breakfast was amazing and if you are into sightseeing like we were its a great way to start the day, they have everything you would want and all freshly prepared, porridge and cereals, fresh fruit, breads, pastries, eggs, omelettes, bacon, sausages I could go on because they had EVERYTHING!! I just wish they made the same effort with the rest of the hotel!!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mojitolovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I was only there for 1 night on a business trip. I really like the fact that all the rooms have views over the Danube. Staff was friendly, room was clean and well appointed, i would strongly recomend this place and will surely go back again on my next trip to beautiful Budapest

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura_Simon_Birt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

best location nor best for architectural style.
Location and hotel food and comfort best but hostel style of hotel not as expected for river location.
Bar great but drinks expensive.
Breakfast ok more options on cooked food expected

Room Tip: higher the better
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roberta_underwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#30 of 332 in Budapest
3,409 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#19 of 332 in Budapest
362 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#15 of 332 in Budapest
4,252 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budapest Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Marriott Hotel

Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 4, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#20 Family Hotel in Budapest
#25 Business Hotel in Budapest
#28 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#31 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $167 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Budapest Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Budapest Marriott Hotel is the only hotel in Budapest offering a magnificent Danube panorama from all of its 364 newly refurbished rooms. The hotel is located in the heart of the city, within walking distance of shopping, business and entertainment areas. Offering an extraordinary blend of comfort and convenience, sophisticated guest rooms and suites have been smartly designed with work areas, high-speed Internet and thoughtful appointments...All graced by soothing river views. We offer complimentary WIFI in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Budapest Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Budapest
Budapest Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing