We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Normal, nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Ranked #32 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Hotel with a nice view, if you have a view to the Danube. Nice location. Stuff normal, the room is quite ok. Strange smell at the corridor, as you step out of the elevator. Bath-tub in the bathroom, comfy bed, plastic cups for tea - could be a normal cup with a spoon at least. For breakfast you can choose from 3 variations, but quite busy in the morning, cannot think too much, as people stand in line. All ok, nothing special. The hotel from outside does not look too nice, but it is ok. I was there in May 2013, but went around in November 2013, and there is some work done outside near the hotel (digging, or fixing the pavement..?), could be noisy possibly. Did not try the pool, they did not inform me about the opening hours nor any services.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiccaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,006)
There are newer reviews for Budapest Marriott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,569 - 1,575 of 3,006 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013

This was a business trip and the hotel was about 5 minutes walk from the local metro. So very convenient for getting to the office and for getting about the city. Sadly, the weather was very wet indeed but there were some dry periods to get around. The room was nice and the bed very comfortable with fine bed linen. I particularly liked the neck pillow provided and other pillows of various sizes - you will be sure to find one (or two!!) to suit you. Towels were soft and fluffy and the maid service was fine. The included buffet breakfast in the room rate had a wide variety of offerings - whether you wanted porrage, cold meats, omelettes, bacon or whatever. Staff at the front desk were courteous and helpful. Some building work going on outside the hotel made it less attractive when looking out of the window across the Danube but that disappeared in our third floor room. The view from there to the buildings on the hill in Buda were splendid. Public transport in Budapest is good and the weekly "all-in" ticket is good value at around £16. You can go anywhere on any form of transport for that amount. Interesting restaurants abound and I have done a couple of reviews separately for them. Above all, we enjoyed the quietness of our room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Budapest Marriott is right on the bank of the Danube, overlooking the river. Every room has a Danube view. The sightseeing boats leave from the dock in front of the hotel and it is quite easy to get around from here. The room was spacious and well lighted, with a modern bathroom. The staff was courteous and efficient. Restaurant was very good. There is work going on in the front of the hotel which made it difficult to walk out on the patio but everything else worked fine. Wi-Fi was free and very easy to access.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view across the Danube to Pest mountains. Your choice is a Castle View or a Parlia...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelharmony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Budapest Marriott hotel ideally situated on the bank of River Danube overlooking the stunning view of the Buda(mountain side of the city). All rooms have the view of Riven Danube and the hotel is in the heart of the city. Only few minutes walk to the shopping street. Rooms are very spacious but the bathrooms are comparatively small. Staffs are extremely helpful and very courteous. A good spread of breakfast with fresh fruits. unfortunately no swimming pool but the health club is also facing the river Danube. Spa is average.
I enjoyed my stay and would like to visit again.

Room Tip: all rooms are facing the river Danube
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacob t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We visited Budapest around Christmas time and main objective was to visit the Christmas Market. This hotel could not be a better choice. It was about 2 to 3 blocks from the market and was an easy walk through Vacci Street, a pedestrian street. The hotel is very nice. The rooms are modern and clean. Our room had a view to the river and the Buda Castle. What a threat!! In the morning and in the evening was a pleasure to look out the window. The Club Lounge was very good as well. Good food and variety in the morning and in the evening. It also has a great view of the Castle. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Braziliantraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We only stayed one night but found the experience to be very memorable. From the moment we arrived the staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room was spacious with a well stocked mini bar although we did not use it. The bedding was exceptionally comfortable providing us with a wonderful nights sleep. Also we had a most wonderful view of the Danube which was a sight to behold. Breakfast was also wonderful with a vast array of food choices to suit every palate. The hotel was also located in an excellent position with shops and restaurants just a short stroll away. There was a charge for Wifi which is disappointing as this is something I would expect to be included in the hotel charge. Overall I found my visit very pleasant and would recommend

Room Tip: A room with a view of the Danube is very special
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish_123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights. The room was comfortable, clean and good size. The housekeeping staff were very accommodating and helpful. The front desk staff were somewhat brusque, but professional. The views from the room and the Executive Lounge were incredible - especially at night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hubbledouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#30 of 332 in Budapest
3,410 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#19 of 332 in Budapest
361 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#15 of 332 in Budapest
4,251 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budapest Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Marriott Hotel

Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 4, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#20 Family Hotel in Budapest
#25 Business Hotel in Budapest
#28 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#31 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $167 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Budapest Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Budapest Marriott Hotel is the only hotel in Budapest offering a magnificent Danube panorama from all of its 364 newly refurbished rooms. The hotel is located in the heart of the city, within walking distance of shopping, business and entertainment areas. Offering an extraordinary blend of comfort and convenience, sophisticated guest rooms and suites have been smartly designed with work areas, high-speed Internet and thoughtful appointments...All graced by soothing river views. We offer complimentary WIFI in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Budapest Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Budapest
Budapest Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing