We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“American hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Ranked #31 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Clarkston, MI
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“American hotel”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was our last stop of a central Europe vacation. I was hesitant to book an American business hotel because we were looking for charm and adventure. Since our young adult daughter was meeting us and staying with us for a few nights we decided to go ahead and book at Marriott so we could be certain to get a room with at least 2 beds. The location was great, central to the things we wanted to do and see. The hotel has a modern feel and look unlike the buildings surrounding it (Personally I am not sure this is a good thing.) Upon check in the lobby was pretty packed with tourists checking in and out. After a short wait we got our room - which although it was what we asked for - was quite disappointing. It had 2 double beds and a rollaway. It had a view of the river but not of the castle. There was absolutely no room to move. We went to inquire about getting a room with a queen/king and a roll away thinking there might be more room. For an additional charge we were offered a suite with executive privileges which we grabbed. The suite was spacious but weird. It had a king size bed and they brought a roll away. It had a dining table with 6 cushioned arm chairs. It had a desk and another easy chair - but no real sitting area. No sofa. Not sure what one would ever do with a dining table for 6. There was a counter with a coffee maker and a mini bar. The bathroom was totally unremarkable. The view was of the river but again not of the castle . Executive privileges were well worth the price. Breakfast, snacks, hot appetizers, beer, wine, spirits, and a beautiful outdoor patio on the 10th floor overlooking the river. Service in the lounge was impeccable. There was also a computer and free wifi. it was a nice stay - but nothing about the hotel screams Budapest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,699
    982
    197
    47
    25
See reviews for
395
1,251
151
601
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (786)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Budapest Marriott Hotel certainly enjoys a perfect location - riverside on the Danube. Within a 5 minute walk is the main pedestrian walking street and certainly within walking distance or short tram ride to most of the Pest tourist attractions. I found the hotel staff very accomodating to any of my requests and the concierge desk was always manned with knowledgeable staff. This hotel is also used by many tour companies, (especially River Cruise's by Tauck and Viking so you know their service must be good.

Room Tip: Be sure to book a room overlooking the Danube.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Marriott Budapest s nicely located on the riverside with fantastic views over to the Buda side. The river walk outside is really nice and only a short walk to the shopping streets.

Rooms are ok, but the bathroom definitely needs refurbishment.

Fitness room works nice and got the same river view. Breakfast are very good, but costly.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank macbergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

First let me say I am a long time Marriott Platinum member, have stayed in Marriott hotels all over the world. So I am a bit discerning as to what impresses me or frustrates me.

The Marriott Budapest hotel was the best hotel stay we had on our two week 4 city vacation. We rented 4 rooms for the family and was very pleased with all of the rooms. Even though I was the only Platinum member in the family, the hotel, took very good care of all of my family and upgraded all of the rooms.

Two rooms I can recommend for a family that needs two room, is 1073 and 1073. 1073 is a suite with a hu8ge balcony that has an incredible view of Palace, river and city. It truly was magnificent! 1072 is a connecting room, so effectively made the suite a two bedroom suite.

Get club access! it has a wonderful breakfast, in the morning, great snacks all day long, and hors d'oeuvres for dinner, that if you are not very hungry will take the p0lace of dinner in a pinch! Very-Very worth the cost...

The staff was wonderful and very accommodating (well most of them anyway). The Peppers restaurant was fairly good and we ate there two times, two dinners. The restaurant/bar was the only place where we had a small issue. One of the young ladies on our Sunday morning late breakfast (the restaurant is closed to set-up for a fancy brunch midmorning Sunday's), was very rude and even said several things to me and my wife in the native language with anger. Come to find out, my wife and I who were suffering from jet lag was reading the menu and she had asked us if the menu was ok, and I simply smiled at her and nodded , for which she felt I was being rude. So she decided to cuss (well I can't verify she actually cussed as it was in Hungarian) us out in Hungarian! LOL, I was very shocked as you can imagine, but decided to let it go; even so she came back after we finally got her attention after 20 minutes to try to make an order and she then informed us of how rude we were and that she was not happy with us! I was thinking WOW! I have to admit I am still a bit upset that wait staff in a hotel bar would think it appropriate to correct my interaction (even though I did not really do anything wrong in my mind) with them (in that a big smile and an affirmative nod is not enough for them), but also feel it was appropriate to berate me in anger in her native language! I am not exaggerating here.

But even this episode did not distract from the rest of the experience and I would definitely stay at the hotel again, just not eat or drink at the restaurant bar. I would highly recommend staying here and hope you have a chance to experience the good that my family did! BTW, they can set-up airport transfers and even set-up a wonderful driver to take us to Krakow (which is cheaper if you have at least 4-5 people than the awful overnight train!

Final note: I want to state that Diana Rendek and David Buzas assisted me through our planning and made sure everything was perfect. I wish to commend them both and if Marriott manage reads this, please commend them for their service to your Platinum members.

Room Tip: I loverd the room combination of 1073 and 1072. But 1073 is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl_Shea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, NL, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Great view of the Danube River from all rooms.
Location is good-close to main pedestrian walk through with shops and restaurants.
Our travelling companions had arranged a "tasting menu" (wine/food) while we there-great food-alot of fun-great price.
We booked breakfast with our room which was less expensive than paying for breakfast each morning -great hot/cold buffet with omelette station.
Ask the hotel to recommend the Greek and Italian restaurants that are within walking distance (along the river)-we ate at both and had great food and service at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vmcrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

What a fantastic city. Have dinner in Spoons restaurant. It is a boat which is docked beside chain bridge. Watch the lights of Buda Castle and chain bridge as you eat wonderful food at great prices. Visit St. STEPHENS Bascillica. Go have a spa treatment in Hotel Saint Gillert. Fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Being a fan of the Marriott chain of hotels, when i visited Budapest, i saw a great price for it for the dates I was visiting, and it was located in the perfect place right on the Danube river front. I've never had a bad experience at a Marriott hotel so far.

The location was just absolutely perfect, a few mins walk to quite a few of the sites we wanted to visit (Gresham Palace, Chain Bridge, Budda Bar Restaurant) as well as being within a mile of nearly all the sites on my list.

We rarely had to use the hotel staff (which is a great sign) apart from when ordering dinner in the restaurant named Poppers, where the staff were very polite and quick.

The rooms were very clean. The AC wasn't quite as powerful as we required during the time we went where the temperatures were mid-30's. But it was just about okay enough.

The views from the window at night are just as stunning as the daytime views. The Chain bridge is beautifully lit up.

At the end of our stay in the very early hours of the morning I checked out and ordered a taxi to the airport and, in my tired state, paid the full taxi fare twice. Once at the hotel desk and again to the taxi driver when he dropped us off. I phoned the hotel from the airport soon after and they were happy to refund the desk charge which I thought was very good of them.

Room Tip: All rooms face the river, but try and get a room on the higher floors for the best views of the Danu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naresh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#26 of 334 in Budapest
3,375 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#20 of 334 in Budapest
335 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#16 of 334 in Budapest
4,168 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budapest Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Marriott Hotel

Property: Budapest Marriott Hotel
Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 4, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#20 Family Hotel in Budapest
#25 Business Hotel in Budapest
#28 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#31 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Budapest Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Budapest Marriott Hotel is the only hotel in Budapest offering a magnificent Danube panorama from all of its 364 newly refurbished rooms. The hotel is located in the heart of the city, within walking distance of shopping, business and entertainment areas. Offering an extraordinary blend of comfort and convenience, sophisticated guest rooms and suites have been smartly designed with work areas, high-speed Internet and thoughtful appointments...All graced by soothing river views. We offer complimentary WIFI in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Budapest Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Budapest
Budapest Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing