We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Ranked #32 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Good place to stay.perfect staff.friendly greeting.very clean hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cool0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,010)
There are newer reviews for Budapest Marriott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,985 - 1,991 of 3,011 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2012

Last week I traveled to Budapest on Business, I stayed at the Marriott , the rooms are delightful - extremely spacious. The view from your room is superb - it overlooks the Danube river.
Food was fresh and well presented. All hotel personnel were professional and helpful.

well done - I will definatly return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHBreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

we have arrived to hotel somewhere around 10PM, so we went straight to the bed and didn't notice that the heating wasn't working properly. then i woke up in the middle of the night realising that the cold air is blowing out of the AC. i have turned the heating to the maximum, but it only got worse, so had to turned it off completely. In the morning i also noticed that the radiator in the bathroom was also turned off. Usually i would forget about such experience instantly, but i've stucked cold that night and had 3 airplane flights in the same day with terrible sinus headaches!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kindercountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

we have just come back from staying at the marriot we were in a deluxe room two massive beds so comfy everything was to a high standard as it should be just be carefull you can be charged even for using the tv so check first
all the staff were very friendly and nothing was any trouble loads to choose at brekfast you wont go hungrey yes the marriot was a great place to stay with great views i dont think you could get any better so close to everything

Room Tip: they all overlook the river 6th floor good
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrismick12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Only had one night, but could have spent a week. Beautiful hotel. Nice staff. Great location.

Room Tip: All rooms have a river view, so I don't think you can get a "bad" room
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

The location couldn't be better, very close to Vorosmarty ter metro station, Vaci Utca shopping area and has a great view overlooking the Danube river and Buda. Unfortunately, the staff was not so friendly. When I booked from booking.com, I asked for a smoking room but the staff said it was full, they only have executive smoking room for an additional EUR50 per night (we got EUR 90 per night for standard room). We did not take it since it's too pricey. And we also asked if there is money changer around and the staff said there was ONE near the hotel but probably it's already closed (it was around 5pm). When we checked there, there ARE plenty of money changer in Vaci Utca and open until late at night!
They did not provide coffee or tea in the room, and also there was no free wi-fi connection. But overall, I enjoy staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susanpradja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

It seems trivial to dock this hotel a star for having no kettle, but as a Brit, I need my tea!

It really is a fantastic location, with the main shopping streets, tourist sites, public transport and the river all within easy reach. The view from the rooms varies from average to stunning depending on side of hotel (go for even numbered rooms, from x10 upwards, for the best views) and floor.

We weren't disturbed by noise from the riverside walk underneath the hotel, nor by traffic or other guests. The soundproofing is great. However, the aircon is a little loud and the room got warm, even in Feb, so might cause some people an issue (although it didn't really bother us). Room was a good size, with a good sized bathroom too, and the furnishings (not really 5 star, but not bad by any means) were fine.

It's a business-focused hotel (or that's how it felt), so it's functional and clean, but the broadband fees are ASTRONOMICAL, and the cost of breakfast made my eyes water (we had breakfast out every day).

All in all though, a good hotel in Budapest (well, Pest to be specific) and there are some great rates to be found; we got ours for £68 per night from "notfirst60second".com (don't know I'm allowed to say the real site, so a cryptic clue will have to do!).

Some restaurants worth mentioning: Callas (next to the Opera House), Kőleves Vendéglő / Stonesoup Restobar (not far from Opera House), Vén Hajó Etterem (riverboat restaurant - moored - opposite the Sofitel, by the Chain Bridge) and Százéves Etterem (round the corner from the hotel). Also, an pizzeria between the hotel and the Sofitel, facing the river looked and smelled fantastic but was fully booked when we were free.

Room Tip: Go for even numbered rooms, from x10 upwards, for the best views, as they face the Chain Bridge and...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hugocornelius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 333 in Budapest
3,413 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#19 of 333 in Budapest
365 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#15 of 333 in Budapest
4,258 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budapest Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Marriott Hotel

Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 4, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#20 Family Hotel in Budapest
#25 Business Hotel in Budapest
#28 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#31 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $167 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Budapest Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Budapest Marriott Hotel is the only hotel in Budapest offering a magnificent Danube panorama from all of its 364 newly refurbished rooms. The hotel is located in the heart of the city, within walking distance of shopping, business and entertainment areas. Offering an extraordinary blend of comfort and convenience, sophisticated guest rooms and suites have been smartly designed with work areas, high-speed Internet and thoughtful appointments...All graced by soothing river views. We offer complimentary WIFI in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Budapest Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Budapest
Budapest Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing