We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing break in Budapest” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Budapest Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Ranked #33 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, South Wales
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Relaxing break in Budapest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2007

Spent four nights here at the end of October beginning of November and had a wonderfully relaxing time. As previously mentioned the Marriot is a particularly ugly building from the outside but is extremely comfortable and clean inside. The refurbishments continue and the drilling/banging/crashing starts at 7.40 not 8am as mentioned by a previous reviewer. This didn't detract from our enjoyment though as we were up early anyway. However, i do think the new swirly red carpet in the hallways is hideous and reminds me of the decor in my parent's home circa 1972! Also, I don't want to be known as the reviewer who always complains about funny smells but there was a definite drain smell on the 3rd floor which abated before we reached our room fortunately and some of the windows on the city side of the corridor were smashed. All the rooms have an amazing view of the Danube and the Pest side of the city.

Budapest seemed to be winding down a bit for the winter and many places were closing or reducing their facilities. Finding a place for breakfast was difficult as restaurants/cafes didn't open till after 10am or didn't open at all. Anna's cafe was good for a basic breakfast and good coffee but it was pricey. The breakfast in the hotel was adequate but expensive for what it was.

Evening meals were excellent. We ate well during our time there. "Rustico" on the main shopping street was good value and enormous protions. Trattoria Pomodoro was good as well and the staff were friendly and good humoured. The Replay cafe had excellent goulash and the local beer is very good.

Lots of sights to see and plenty of walking around the city. The parliament building, fisherman's bastion and castle were worth walking to. Tucked away in one of the side streets by the castle was a labrynth which is really well done but not for the faint hearted! Hotel Gellert is a spectacular building but i don't think I'd like to stay there as it's quite a way from the main shopping area and restaurants. The Thermal baths in the hotel are wonderful but getting from the changing rooms to the baths and back again is like some sort of bizarre treasure hunt. Remember to take a towel as we forgot and had to get dressed as we were. Not a very pleasant experience! They do provide towels but they charge extra and it's quite expensive to get in as it is. The Terror museum on Andrassy street is very interesting and I learnt a lot. Not surprisingly all the videos etc were in hungarian and maybe subtitles would have enhanced our understanding. Finally, statue park is a bus ride away and has all the old soviet statues there. It's very interesting and rather strange, I feel there is a lost marketing opportunity there.

The hotel bar "Aqua" is a pleasant place to spend an evening and there are plenty of fascinating people- watching opportunities available. The bar staff are friendly and helpful.

I would love to return to Budapest when it is a little busier but I'd recommend the hotel for its location and amenities.

  • Liked — The view and the cleanliness
  • Disliked — Funny smell and awful carpet
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aranwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,574
    923
    184
    45
    22
See reviews for
359
1,165
137
558
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
boston
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2007

We stayed at Marriott for one night (10/8). As most people mentioned,
it is under going renovations. That said, it was noisy at all.

It has probably the most ugly look from the outside, but inside, the room has just been updated and is great! The location is also great.

We booked the hotel via priceline and got a great price for this 4 star hotel.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank yazizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clichy, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2007

It's all in the title and the previous reviews I suppose. Nothing can beat the view at this fantastically ugly on the outside wonderful on the inside hotel. Now that the renovation is nearly over it is pretty safe to go back there and enjoy your stay in Budapest.
I was there on the 20th of August (Hungary national day) and my room over Castle hill was offering a nice view over the fireworks on that side. All what was taking place over Gellert was unfortunately obstructed by the hotel wing. I would then recommend a corner room if you come and stay for this occasion. Or better a dinner on the terrace of the restaurant but it was unfortunately still closed for renovation at the time.
As we were a bit tight with time on our last day we decided to order 'In-room' breakfast but had to wait nearly 50 minutes for delivery. I was about to cancel the order but was offered the treat instead as it is part of the hotel policy. Without that gesture it would have been the only bad remark about the hotel.

  • Liked — The view from the room
  • Disliked — Room service
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Greggyfroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2007

Extremely happy with the stay. The hotel is being renovated (est. Jan 2008), it won't really bother you unless you're a late sleeper in which case you should request a room higher up (we did). They had complimentary bottled water, iced tea, and sparkling wine in the lobby to compensate for the renovation.

The Hotel breakfast is overpriced so don't bother unless it's included in your rate. 5300 HUF (about 21 EUR) for a buffet breakfast? I didn't try the hotel Internet.

Lots of good restaurants around the hotel, eat out. Preorder your airport taxis at a fixed rate, the hotel has a racket with the ones waiting outside the lobby (more than twice as expensive to the airport).

The views of the river from this Hotel are amazing. Stay here, you won't be disappointed!

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The renovation
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank corwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC_international
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2007

The hotel is in the perfect location - we could walk everywhere. It's near all the sights, dozens of great restaurants, and is convenient to two of the bridges and the subway and suburban train systems.

The refurbished rooms are nice, with wonderful beds, plenty of closet space, modern bathrooms, a great A/C system, and amazing views!

The staff is very competent and can give great suggestions.

The Executive Room includes free internet, a fairly large continental breakfast buffet, and unlimited juices, waters, and soft drinks. All floors have free English-language newspapers.

We never noticed any of the construction.

The only negative was the hotel gym. It was small and the machine very old, but I wasn't expecting much.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Gym
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank DC_international
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2007

The hotel was well located on the banks of the Danube and a short walk from the sights and shopping/restaurant areas. The room was reasonably large and very comfortable and the beds were the best we came across on our trip. The staff were friendly and helpful and not aggressive in seeking tips compared to other Marriotts we stayed in on our trip. An excellent hotel in the best location in Budapest.

  • Liked — the bed and location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Tygaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2007

Stayed here for three days in May 2007. Although there was construction in the hotel, we heard no noise at all while staying on the 2nd floor. We had to move rooms during our stay due to a power issue, but they moved us quickly and compensated us by giving us free access to the executive lounge. The hotel front desk staff are extremely helpful. Views from the rooms were the best I've ever had in any hotel. It is in the heart of the City with easy access to everything. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — Location, Location, Location
  • Disliked — Rooms could have been a little bit bigger. But it was fine.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lowfugee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#23 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,171 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#12 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budapest Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Marriott Hotel

Property: Budapest Marriott Hotel
Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 4, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#20 Family Hotel in Budapest
#25 Business Hotel in Budapest
#27 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#31 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Budapest Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Budapest Marriott Hotel is the only hotel in Budapest offering a magnificent Danube panorama from all of its 364 newly refurbished rooms. The hotel is located in the heart of the city, within walking distance of shopping, business and entertainment areas. Offering an extraordinary blend of comfort and convenience, sophisticated guest rooms and suites have been smartly designed with work areas, high-speed Internet and thoughtful appointments...All graced by soothing river views. We offer complimentary WIFI in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Budapest Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Budapest
Budapest Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing