We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noisy, dusty, cold scrambled egg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Three Corners Hotel Art
Ranked #47 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Pro:

Great location, really near Raday and Vaci, plenty of cafes, bars and restaurants nearby

Its inexpensive and if, like us, your concern was more with seeing the city and having somewhere to grab a (very limited) kip and a shower, this place will do for a couple of nights

Cons:
The area around the hotel is undergoing a lot of renovation at the moment, and workmen kicked off their shift on the building bang opposite the hotel just after 5am - even with the windows shut, sleep was impossible once they started; its also really dusty on the street outside and we got completed covered in plaster dust whilst waiting for our taxi back to the airport

We booked a triple room, and whilst there were three beds in the room we had to climb over them to get to the bathroom, the window or the wardrobe - there was literally a square metre of floor space

On both mornings of our stay, the eggs (scrambled and fried) were freezing cold and tasted strongly of fish. I'm not sure whether they were supposed to be hot - they were in lidded metal containers afterall - but I'd certainly avoid them.

Room Tip: Ask for something at the back of the building if you don't want to be woken at 5.30am by workmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gemmam2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWArtHotel, Front Office Manager at The Three Corners Hotel Art, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear gemmam2402!

Thank you very much for your review.
I am sad that you were disappointed with our services.
We will continue to evaluate our services and offerings to ensure that our guests receive the best experience and leave our hotel with some positive memories.
We have changed some equipments in our Breakfast area, so there should be no more cold eggs, or any other items that should be hot.

Best regards,
David Hegedus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

321 - 327 of 739 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2012

I've chosen this hotel for you trip to Budapest because of two things: good location and Best Western chain, which is my preferred to stay around the world. Location is really good: Metro3 is around the corner, Danube embankment and Vaci ut are 3-5 minutes walk, center of Pest is 10 minutes walk. My expectation from Best Western was that I will be able to have a good rest after exploring the city and this wasn't really true.

You stay up until 11pm at least, because of two bistros just under your window and windows are not soundproof at all. Than you sleep and wake up at 6am because of garbage pickup truck outside (remember about windows). Than at 8am vacuum cleaning in the hotel starts with no respect to sleeping guests.

Moreover when we decided to do some laundry it wasn't brought to our room, but we had to go and seek for it on the reception. This is done because for some reason they do not include it into your hotel bill, but force you to pay cash on spot.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Konstantin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Dear Konstantin S!

Thank you for writing a review about the Hotel, I am sorry that we were not able to exceed your expectations, but let me comment on your letter.

In all rooms we have sound and light proof curtains, we are located in a pedestrian area so we usually do not have any noise, I have sent a letter to the restaurants in the neighbourhood to take caution regarding loud guests or music.

The Housekeeping department starts vacuum cleaning only after 10:00, your comment is under investigation and we will make all necessary action to avoid similar situations.

I would like to apologise again for all inconveniences that has occurred in the hotel and I hope that later we will be able to prove that we are a good hotel with great services.

Best Regards:
David Hegedus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

The misadventure started 4 months ago when I decided to go with this hotel at the expense of another one (a 4*) in the same district of Budapest.The reason was plain and simple: the BW claimed to offer smoking rooms.So after making the booking (with an international on-line wholesaler) I called the hotel to see if my requests could be met.Double bed ? No problem.Smoking room?Yes,of course! NO IF-S OR BUT-S. Knowing the rabid discrimination against smokers in the so-called civilized part of EU,I repeated this procedure one month later,and yet again one month later,and another month later,and two days before arrival as well.I got the same positive feedback from the front desk every time,so I rested on my laurels,at ease that finally I would have a smoking room for my holiday.

Surprise,surprise at the moment of check-in a very innocent young lady told us the smoking rooms are "fully booked" so we have to take a non smoking room or....fill in the blanks
Working in a travel agency and booking hotels for hundreds of people daily,I know that the worst case scenario is lying to a customer.Have i been told in my numerous conversations that there is a chance the smoking room would not be a certitude,I would have gone with a different choice of hotel.
For this,and only for this the BW gets a measly one point.This grave act of misconduct left a bitter taste but happily it did not spoil my wonderful experience of Budapest.It is a very lovely city,worthy of visiting.
Good night,Best western and never again,wherever you are.

PS : for those traveling during the month of May 2012 and maybe June as well,beware of the building being renovated just across the entrance.There is so much dust being generated that your black t-shirt turns to white in a matter of seconds .So take the exit and run :)

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on last floor.The windows are puny and you might find that the handle comes off (like I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Karlyis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Dear Karlyis!

Thank you for writing a review about the Hotel, I am sorry that we were not able to exceed your expectations, but let me comment on your letter.

There was a construction in front of the Hotel for 3 weeks, they have repainted the building in front, there was some dust, but we agreed with the construction company that they can only start the work after 11:00 to avoid any loud noise.

The Hungarian laws decided to decrease the areas where smoking is allowed, the country is acting according to the EU laws.

We have installed a new system at the front desk where we can keep all reservation updated for smoking rooms.

Best Regards:
David Hegedus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We spent a wonderful week in this quiet and cosy venue. Very well located for people aged over 60 wanting to visit the main monuments at walking distance, even in Buda.
Clean and sunny rooms, well-equiped bathroom, Nice breakfast and restaurant.
Very helpful staff (for instance for booking the airport shuttle or the ticket to Szchechenyi spa). We didn't try their French (our language), but their English was very satisfactory.

Room Tip: we were lucky enough to be upgraded to room 53 which happens to be an apartment with a lovely sight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWArtHotel, Front Office Manager at The Three Corners Hotel Art, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Dear Paul S!

Thank you for writing a review. I am glad that you where please with our services and I hope we can welcome you again in the future.
Best Regards:
David Hegedus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Very easy access by bus (200) and metro (M3) to Kálvin tèr and from there very short walk to hotel. Great location good metro and tram connections to everywhere. Short distances by walk also.
Very nice hotel. Everything in good shape, very clean and absolutely most helpful staff. Very good breakfast. Lot of restaurants near. Famous and very interesting Market Hall only some hunderts meters from hotel.
Easy choice for our next visit to Budapest! Great value for money.

Stayed: May 2011
2  Thank KariR349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWArtHotel, Front Office Manager at The Three Corners Hotel Art, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Dear KariR349 !

Thank you for writing a review. I am glad that you where please with our services and I hope we can welcome you again in the future.
Best Regards:
David Hegedus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Only a short walk from the shopping district, restaurants and the reception are happy to call taxis for you. We had a triple room and a double room, both excellent for the price and the large windows gave a fantastic view of Budapest snowing! Ensuite bathrooms were nice and cleaned daily, but our shower would drain properly which ended up in flooding. Staff responded quick and it was fine. WiFi wasn't always strong, but loved the egg bread for breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank l1ttlelaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWArtHotel, Front Office Manager at The Three Corners Hotel Art, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Dear l1ttlelaura!

Thank you for writing a review. I am glad that you where please with our services and I hope we can welcome you again in the future.
Best Regards:
David Hegedus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Hotel was clean and warm, staff very friendly and helpful. We had booked a twin room but ended up with a delightful two twin bedded "suite" with shared bathroom. Restaurant very pleasant. Breakfast was good in that plenty of food and plenty of variety supplied but the hot food was kept in chafing dishes with no heaters underneath and therefore got cold quite quickly. Communal seating area is very samll and not overly welcoming but that is due mainly to the building itself. That said we were there on a combination of business and sightseeing and therefore did not spend very much time in the hotel. Our only wish was tea making facilities in the room. However facilities were adequate for the purpose and we enjoyed our visit very much. That you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWArtHotel, Front Office Manager at The Three Corners Hotel Art, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2012

Dear Nicki M !

Thank you for writing a review. I am glad that you where please with our services and I hope we can welcome you again in the future.
I would like to inform you you have been places to an apartment room with an upgrade that we were able to make, the room did not have a shared bathroom, it is the bathroom to your room only.

Best Regards:
David Hegedus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 334 in Budapest
2,469 reviews
District V / Inner City
Cosmo City Hotel
Cosmo City Hotel
#49 of 334 in Budapest
797 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Estilo Fashion Hotel
Estilo Fashion Hotel
#48 of 334 in Budapest
1,167 reviews
12 Revay Hotel
#37 of 334 in Budapest
340 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Rum Budapest
Hotel Rum Budapest
#19 of 334 in Budapest
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Corners Hotel Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Corners Hotel Art

Address: Kiralyi Pal utca 12, Budapest 1053, Hungary (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Art)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Budapest
#49 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#72 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $61 - $574 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Three Corners Hotel Art 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW UPGRADED HIGH SPEED WI-FI CONNECTION!Checking mails, surfing on the internet or chatting online, we know how important it is for our guests to stay connected. This is why the management of The Three Corners Hotel Art is happy to inform you that the hotel has recently upgraded their entire Wi-Fi network. The Three Corners Hotel Art now offers complimentary high speed internet access in the entire hotel, so that you can comfortably surf and work in the lobby, in your room or in one of our meeting rooms. We have recently finished the renovation of the reception, lounge and breakfast room. With the help of modern design solutions we have gained a more spacious area with cozy and stylish atmosphere. During the renovations we kept in mind the environmental friendly solutions, so we placed in a mini fridge in the rooms. Our guests may buy refreshing drinks at the hotel reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Three Corners Hotel Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Art
Best Western Budapest
Budapest Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing