We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel with good facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
Ranked #127 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Clean hotel with good facilities”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

On arrival we were given our room key only to find we had been put in a room with two single beds instead of a double. The staff at reception were extremely rude and not understanding or helpful, and it took some "persuading" to change our room to what we had booked (and what was clearly printed on the booking confirmation). One member of reception told us to "push the beds together" which I thought was completely unprofessional considering we had obviously paid for a certain room.
When we finally got to our correct room, it was very clean and spacious. The spa in the hotel was relaxing and quiet, different temperature baths, a steam room, sauna and jacuzzi.
Location wise, it was a little bit further out than we would have liked, but the tram line is straight across from the hotel and is easy enough to use. It took about 15/20 minutes to be in the centre and where everything is happening.
As long as you can turn a blind eye to rude staff, this hotel was great value for money.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KatieRose2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel and share your experiences.

We regret to read that our staff did not care about you as you expected and you were not satisfied with their services. Please accept our apology for the inconvenience.

On the other hand were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our rooms and the spa area.

Please be assured that we will at all times do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests.

In the hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    517
    263
    71
    67
See reviews for
190
614
66
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I use this hotel when in town. The staff is very professional, the location is great if you don't mind staying out of the busy city centre, like to walk and wish to explore the Marguerite island and the neighbouring Old Buda (Obuda) quarter and the Buda hills. I wish to point out the Spa and its facilities, they are excellent both for treatments and just for a leisurely morning or late afternoon swimming. The Spa /gym space is clean, well kept, well lit with a skylight above the main pool, the sauna and the two hot thermal water tubs of different temperature let yourself indulge in pampering and relaxation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judit88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for recently staying in The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. Thank you for sharing your positive experiences.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our staff and the services provided. We were happy to read that our location met your expectations. Thank you that you highlighted on our spa area, the thermal pools, swimming pool and treatments.

All times we do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night last week and I really cannot fault it. It is located on the Buda side of the city, facing Marguerite Island on the Danube and has easy access to all parts of the city. I stayed in a executive bedroom which was very large and the bed very comfortable (exec room also have access to the Executive Lounge which offers breakfast - the made to order omlette was delicious), only comment was the room was quite warm. Dinner in the restaurant was fantastic, excellent quality and utterley delicious. Spent a morning in the spa with thermal pools, saunas, steam rooms and fantastic treatments.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel and share your experiences.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to the executive room, the dinner and the spa area.

Please be assured that we will at all times do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests.

In the hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2013

My husband and i had a pleasant stay.we stayed for 3 nights location is excellent, it is close to the river, and is within the inner town. From the moment we walked in, we feel welcome by everyone on duty. The staffs were friendly and always there to help you.Fabulous spa service and outstanding breakfast buffet. The room was relaxing and comfortable.Very cool and modern hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences about your recent stay at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest.

It is very important for us to understand how effectively we meet our guests' needs in order to make sure that we are able to constantly improve the standards of our services.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our staff and the services provided, the spa area, the breakfast buffet and the room.

Please rest assured that we will at all times do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I spent a week at Aquincum 18 - 25 November 2013 and I will give you my honest opinion of this Hotel. If you are 2 or so persons at the airport, I suggest you use the Aiprort Suttle since they deliver you to the hotel and it much cheaper but you will share the van with maybe a few other travellers.

When I checked in the hotel upgraded me to a room facing the Danube since I was staying 7 nights, very nice. They do charge you a deposit fee on arrival but that fee is returned to you on checkout, if all is well. If there is a delay with your deposit then the fault lies with your bank, not the hotel. To avoid this I gave them cash and it was given back to me at checkout.

The hotel is about 4 miles form the city center. They do have shuttle car but the times are inconvenient. You can use the HEV which is just across from the hotel and that will take you to the city center in about 20 minutes. Once you know how to use the metro , it is very easy to get around Pest.

I did use the thermal baths and they were very good. I did not go to breakfast but I am sure that they were good.

I found the rooms a bit hot at night but I adjusted and no problems for me.

You can get to a beautiful small town Sezentre in 20 minutes from the hotel. Go.

The hotel staff were all excellent. My only disappointment was not being able to rent bikes but the season was over and I was also planning to go on the island but it rained that day.

I will tell you honestly that I got value for money at this hotel and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: there are a few good restaurants close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BikerToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel and share your experiences.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our rooms, spa area and the staff and their services provided.

Please be assured that we will at all times do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests.
In the hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zadar, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We had a really pleasant stay in Aquincum hotel. Rooms are clean nad spacious, but a wooden furniture needs some refreshment, it is really old. Aquincum stuff was very kind and helpful, both at reception, bar and restaurant. We had one of the best breakfasts ever, really exceptional! The location of a hotel is not very convenient; points of interest are not in a walking distance, especially not in a late autumn. Train station is close to the hotel, not very nice, but the easiest to reach main attractions. For travelers who need transportation to airport I suggest taxi (buy return ticket at the airport and hotel stuff will make reservation for your departure). For a night life, I recommend Kehli restaurant, just near the hotel, well known restaurant with traditional Hungarian dishes and live Gypsy music!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikica_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel and share your experiences in Trip Advisor.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate that you highlighted on the cleanliness of the room. Thank you for your nice comments for our staff and the services provided. We were happy to read that you liked our breakfast.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Gábor Nemes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Just returned from 4 nights staying at Aquincum Hotel, Budapest. Arranged airport pick-up and drop-off extremely easily, check-in and out was stress free and efficient, information from reception was accurate and forthcoming. Room was clean and functional however, shower screen was a little short and no matter how careful, overspray was inevitable. Found the bed and pillows to be too soft but that's only a personal preference. I know people don't go to Budapest to watch TV but the hotel could provide a more rounded package for international choice instead of news and local soap operas. Even though the hotel location is a little 'out of town', transport links are so good it was never an issue. Hotel Spa and other facilities were first class, restaurant good and breakfast was more than anyone could hope for. Would recommend this hotel for short stay; no good if clients want everything on door-step.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 106; outlook was toward the rear of the hotel, nice and quiet. Careful of shower scre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richielec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for recently staying in The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. Thank you for sharing your positive experiences.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our reception and the services provided. We highly appreciate that you highlighted on the cleanliness of the room. Thank you for your nice comments regarding to our restaurant, breakfast and spa area.

All times we do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Danubius Hotel Helia
#73 of 334 in Budapest
1,944 reviews
Margaret Island
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Margaret Island
Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#40 of 334 in Budapest
4,277 reviews
Lion's Garden Hotel
#78 of 334 in Budapest
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aquincum Hotel Budapest

Property: The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
Address: Arpad fejedelem utja 94., Budapest 1036, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#38 Business Hotel in Budapest
#55 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#56 Family Hotel in Budapest
#87 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Aquincum Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest hotel overlooks the Danube on the historic Buda side, at the Arpad Bridge, opposite Margaret Island. Providing an exquisite balance between business, leisure and relaxation, the hotel offers comfortable accommodation, versatile conference facilities, and a natural thermal spa. We are located near some of Budapest's most fascinating attractions including the ruins of ancient Aquincum and the hills and forests of Buda. Downtown Budapest and the Danube Bend are also within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Aquincum Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Budapest Hotel Budapest
Ramada Budapest
Budapest Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing