We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot fault”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
Ranked #125 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night last week and I really cannot fault it. It is located on the Buda side of the city, facing Marguerite Island on the Danube and has easy access to all parts of the city. I stayed in a executive bedroom which was very large and the bed very comfortable (exec room also have access to the Executive Lounge which offers breakfast - the made to order omlette was delicious), only comment was the room was quite warm. Dinner in the restaurant was fantastic, excellent quality and utterley delicious. Spent a morning in the spa with thermal pools, saunas, steam rooms and fantastic treatments.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel and share your experiences.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to the executive room, the dinner and the spa area.

Please be assured that we will at all times do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests.

In the hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,447)
There are newer reviews for The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

603 - 609 of 1,448 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

My husband and i had a pleasant stay.we stayed for 3 nights location is excellent, it is close to the river, and is within the inner town. From the moment we walked in, we feel welcome by everyone on duty. The staffs were friendly and always there to help you.Fabulous spa service and outstanding breakfast buffet. The room was relaxing and comfortable.Very cool and modern hotel

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences about your recent stay at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest.

It is very important for us to understand how effectively we meet our guests' needs in order to make sure that we are able to constantly improve the standards of our services.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our staff and the services provided, the spa area, the breakfast buffet and the room.

Please rest assured that we will at all times do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I spent a week at Aquincum 18 - 25 November 2013 and I will give you my honest opinion of this Hotel. If you are 2 or so persons at the airport, I suggest you use the Aiprort Suttle since they deliver you to the hotel and it much cheaper but you will share the van with maybe a few other travellers.

When I checked in the hotel upgraded me to a room facing the Danube since I was staying 7 nights, very nice. They do charge you a deposit fee on arrival but that fee is returned to you on checkout, if all is well. If there is a delay with your deposit then the fault lies with your bank, not the hotel. To avoid this I gave them cash and it was given back to me at checkout.

The hotel is about 4 miles form the city center. They do have shuttle car but the times are inconvenient. You can use the HEV which is just across from the hotel and that will take you to the city center in about 20 minutes. Once you know how to use the metro , it is very easy to get around Pest.

I did use the thermal baths and they were very good. I did not go to breakfast but I am sure that they were good.

I found the rooms a bit hot at night but I adjusted and no problems for me.

You can get to a beautiful small town Sezentre in 20 minutes from the hotel. Go.

The hotel staff were all excellent. My only disappointment was not being able to rent bikes but the season was over and I was also planning to go on the island but it rained that day.

I will tell you honestly that I got value for money at this hotel and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: there are a few good restaurants close by.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BikerToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel and share your experiences.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our rooms, spa area and the staff and their services provided.

Please be assured that we will at all times do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests.
In the hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We had a really pleasant stay in Aquincum hotel. Rooms are clean nad spacious, but a wooden furniture needs some refreshment, it is really old. Aquincum stuff was very kind and helpful, both at reception, bar and restaurant. We had one of the best breakfasts ever, really exceptional! The location of a hotel is not very convenient; points of interest are not in a walking distance, especially not in a late autumn. Train station is close to the hotel, not very nice, but the easiest to reach main attractions. For travelers who need transportation to airport I suggest taxi (buy return ticket at the airport and hotel stuff will make reservation for your departure). For a night life, I recommend Kehli restaurant, just near the hotel, well known restaurant with traditional Hungarian dishes and live Gypsy music!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikica_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel and share your experiences in Trip Advisor.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate that you highlighted on the cleanliness of the room. Thank you for your nice comments for our staff and the services provided. We were happy to read that you liked our breakfast.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Just returned from 4 nights staying at Aquincum Hotel, Budapest. Arranged airport pick-up and drop-off extremely easily, check-in and out was stress free and efficient, information from reception was accurate and forthcoming. Room was clean and functional however, shower screen was a little short and no matter how careful, overspray was inevitable. Found the bed and pillows to be too soft but that's only a personal preference. I know people don't go to Budapest to watch TV but the hotel could provide a more rounded package for international choice instead of news and local soap operas. Even though the hotel location is a little 'out of town', transport links are so good it was never an issue. Hotel Spa and other facilities were first class, restaurant good and breakfast was more than anyone could hope for. Would recommend this hotel for short stay; no good if clients want everything on door-step.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 106; outlook was toward the rear of the hotel, nice and quiet. Careful of shower scre...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richielec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for recently staying in The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. Thank you for sharing your positive experiences.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our reception and the services provided. We highly appreciate that you highlighted on the cleanliness of the room. Thank you for your nice comments regarding to our restaurant, breakfast and spa area.

All times we do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Location not very convenient, but overall a good, semi-luxurious hotel. The spa and the swimming pool is very good and the staff was friendly and helpful. Bathrobe in every room. The taxi to the main attractions costs about 15 euros.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iulia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences about your recent stay at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest.

It is very important for us to understand how effectively we meet our guests' needs in order to make sure that we are able to constantly improve the standards of our services.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to the spa area and our staff and the services provided.

Please rest assured that we will at all times do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I just stayed in this hotel. I choose this hotel because of it's good review. My first day was a disaster. I booked a transportation from the hotel to pick me up at the airport but guess what... Nobody came to picked me up so i had to take the airport taxi to be able to get to the hotel. When i got there i told the receptionist. The way she talks was irritating...i dont knop if she's mocking me or not. For my compensation Thea upgraded my room. And of course i need to try their spa services... The first 2 spa was ok. But the third time...it was very unpleasant.... Really, really unpleasant... It was an old man... I was shocked.. Because i had to take off all my clothes all through the spa treatment...and i asked him if he can talk and understand english and he said no... IT was a very traumatic experience and to make the matter worst...after my spa, the receptionist at the spa department was laughing and talking in their language (hungarian). The next day i told about the incedent to the receptionist in the front desk, she was helpful, she immediately told there manager about it. And the manager told me that they can speak and understand english. So i was fooled, again racist, because i'm originally from an asian country but now living in norway. I find it unprofessional, rude and racism. AS a compensation, the manager gave back the money i paid. But the trauma and experience is there already.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ciejay10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Madam / Sir,

First of all thank you for staying in The Aquincum Hotel Budapest.

Thank you for taking the time to provide us a valuable customer's feedback regarding your recent stay at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. It is very important for us to understand how effectively we meet our guests' needs.

We deeply regret to read that our staff did not care about you as you expected. We deeply apologize that our taxi driver did not find you at the airport and you had to choose another taxi.

Let me express my deepest apology again for the inconvenience that we caused to you and for the behaviour of the staff.

It indeed is our goal to fulfill or even exceed expectations of our clients. Please rest assured that we will at all times do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Margaret Island
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
Danubius Hotel Helia
#71 of 332 in Budapest
2,106 reviews
Margaret Island
Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#16 of 332 in Budapest
7,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aquincum Hotel Budapest

Address: Arpad fejedelem utja 94., Budapest 1036, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#38 Business Hotel in Budapest
#55 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#56 Family Hotel in Budapest
#85 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $80 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Aquincum Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest is located in a prime area alongside the River Danube, on the Buda side of this magnificent city and across the river from the serene Margaret Island, with its famous thermal waters. The hotel is surrounded by medieval streets, wine bars, restaurants and its own green park. With panoramic views of the Buda hills, 310 guestrooms, a lively restaurant and bar, 14 versatile meeting rooms and a 1,660m² spa, the hotel provides a relaxed atmosphere for leisure visitors and a comfortable business environment for corporate guests. All bedrooms are air-conditioned and come with free wired and wireless internet access. Aronia Wellness Centre & Spa offers relaxation in thermal pools, and a menu of unique treatments. The spa provides facilities such as an indoor pool, two thermal pools, saunas and a steam bath. Guests can also get active in the fitness room. For those wishing to dine in the hotel, the Ambrosia restaurant offers Hungarian and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Aquincum Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Budapest Hotel Budapest
Ramada Budapest
Budapest Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing