We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$365
$348
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Casati Budapest Hotel(Budapest)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$169
$139
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $181/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$236
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $213/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$105
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$166
$135
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$231
$221
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Corinthia Hotel Budapest(Budapest)
$504
$168
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$505
$480
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,603)
Filter reviews
1,603 results
Traveler rating
531
571
314
105
82
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
531
571
314
105
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrenice hotelmargaret islandthermal poolspublic transportthai massagegreat spathe rivershuttle serviceexecutive roomspa facilitiestrain stationsteam roomreception staffbuda sidebuffet breakfastkehli
Filter
Updating list...
707 - 712 of 1,603 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The value for the price paid is super amongst 5 stars hotel. The staff is very friendly, the welcome was very warm. The breakfast is amazing. The room and spa were clean and the staff pay attention for the importance of it. Lot of guests were stayed during the same period and I saw lot of efforts by the staff. I liked the Margaret Island, which is situated next to the hotel. The fountain is amazing. I reccomend this hotel for everybody!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary_sunflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences about your recent stay at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest.

It is very important for us to understand how effectively we meet our guests' needs in order to make sure that we are able to constantly improve the standards of our services.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our staff, the breakfast, the room, the spa area and our location.

Please rest assured that we will at all times do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I booked this hotel specifically for the spa/swimming pool, it's location, star rating & services offered. The booking was for B&B basis.

Negatives:
Housekeeping service - on several occasions we had to ask for items e.g. bath robes were taken away after the first night but not replaced. We had to contact reception to sort this out. On 2 x occasion we had to track down the maid and ask her for toilet rolls, hand towels etc.

Breakfast offers a huge range of choices including freshly made pancakes and omelettes. However, quality was very dependent on who was on shift on any given day. Both are made from pre-mix rather than freshly cracked eggs or small quantities of mixture on request. This leads to pancake mixes being stodgy and were often undercooked and the egg mix too salty.

Spa area - I had read a previous review that advised that the pools were dirty and had people's skin floating around in them. I read the review and thought perhaps the person had just been unfortunate on a particular day however, after using all 3 pools the Jacuzzi and a small pool to walk through I discovered the same problem which left me feeling very squeamish and as a result I didn't use the facility after this. (As this was one of the reasons I had booked the hotel I was very disappointed)

Air conditioning - very poor. No amount of fiddling offered anything other than a weak flow of coolish air and I came to the conclusion that it is actually centrally controlled to limit usage. As temperatures reached in excess of 36 degrees outside on some days the air conditioning was next to useless.

bed - one of the most uncomfortable I've slept in (or in this case was unable to sleep in) as they dipped in the middle and every spring could be felt.

Positives:

On arrival reception staff were excellent. It was our wedding anniversary and I mentioned it would be nice to wake up to looking at the river. Reception kindly ensured we had a room that did just that and also sent a surprise bottle of Champagne which was lovely.

Restaurant staff and housekeeping staff were all friendly and helpful

Breakfast choices offer a huge selection from fruit, cereals, veg, cooked items, pastries etc and someone would need to be very specific not to find something which they liked.

Room/corridors/restaurant etc was generally clean and the room kept well stocked with tea/coffee

Atmosphere was relaxed throughout

We were there for a week 15/8-22/8/2013

NB: It's very expensive to eat in the hotel of you do not have a package but there are good quality restaurants within the surrounding area and just a short walk away, 2 just behind the hotel and several in a square near the train station.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Inca102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Madam,

First of all thank you for choosing our hotel.
Thank you for taking the time to provide us a valuable customer's feedback during your recent stay at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. It is very important for us to understand how effectively we meet our guests' needs.

We deeply regret to read that you were not satisfied with our services and they did not meet your expectations. We also regret to read that our staff members did not care about you as you expected. Please accept our deepest apology for the inconvenience regarding the bathrobe, the case in the show kitchen and the cleanliness of the pool water. Please rest assured that I have followed-up with the people in charge to avoid the same incident in the future. It indeed is our goal to fulfill or even exceed expectations of our clients. Please be assured that I do take your comments very seriously and we always try to improve the standards of our services.

Besides this we read with pleasure that we succeeded in surprising you with the champagne. In this way we would like to wish you again a happy anniversary.

Let me express my deepest apology again for the inconveniences that we caused to you.
It would be our pleasure if you were to give us a second chance, when your travel plans bring you back to Budapest.
In the hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the in The Aquincum Hotel Budapest not too distant future, we remain with our best regards

Gabor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Very very clean!!!!, infront of the river, rooms are just fine, not very spacious but enough to just get there by night and sleep.
Breakfast is perfect!!!
It has a swimming pool with thermal water, which I didn´t have the chance to use, but I wanted to!!!!, because it looked great!
I thought it was very far from downtown, and they recommend to get there on tram, but I walked from the market to the hotel, and it was good, because I had a chance to know Budapest very well from side to side walking, I thought it was a very safe place, and I had a great rest at the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cesblake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences about your recent stay at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest.

It is very important for us to understand how effectively we meet our guests' needs in order to make sure that we are able to constantly improve the standards of our services.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to the cleanliness of the room, the breakfast, the swimming pool and our location.

Please rest assured that we will at all times do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

All in all, the hotel was fine. Nothing fancy, nothing horribly wrong. The policy for charging payment on extra services on the other hand was down right wrong. They have a custom of demanding an advance cash deposit in case of mini bar purchases, property damage, breakfast or restaurant use. We stayed at the aquincum for four days, which summed up to 40.000HUF, or about 140€. There was no mention of this policy at the time we booked our room. Now, if it took a day for them to dismiss the deposit off your bank account, that I could accept, but it's been two weeks now and they still haven't managed to return it. You don't have to use a dime and they still take your money for half a month. The system they use may be convenient for them, but It certainly isn't for their customers, and that's not exactly the way it's supposed to work in the hotel business.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jorma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Madam/Sir,
Thank you for recently staying with us at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest.
First of all let me express my deepest apology for the inconveniences that we caused to you during your stay.
I would like to inform you that requesting for guarantee - either credit card or cash - upon check-in from guests is an official standard, that used in all Corinthia hotels all over the world.
Observing official standards is obligatory for each Corinthia hotel and team members.
Therefore I would kindly ask you to send us your name, room number and the staying period to our e-mail address (info@aquincumhotel.com), so that we can personally check the situation. To speed up the procedure you are kindly requested to contact your own bank and ask them to check the transactions.
Please accept our apology again. It would be our pleasure if you were to give us a second chance, when your travel plans bring you back to Budapest. In the hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the in The Aquincum Hotel Budapest not too distant future,
we remain with our best regards,
Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel was spotless and the location is priceless. The hotel is located close to the river and is easy to get to in the O Buda area. We would recommend this hotel to anyone that would travel to the Budapest area. The service was very good here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BubbieTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences about your recent stay at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest.

It is very important for us to understand how effectively we meet our guests' needs in order to make sure that we are able to constantly improve the standards of our services.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our location and the services provided by our staff.

Please rest assured that we will at all times do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews