We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
Ranked #127 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Nice and helpful staff. The hotel is modern and clean, and the Spa is very good.

Our room was clean and spacious (superior room), and the staff replenished our tea,coffee and mineral water supplies for free, every day.

The location of the Hotel is not a big problem, because there is a direct connection to the public transport (suburban railway - HÉV, and Trams, Buses), so you'll be in the city center in like max 20 minutes.

So it's a nice hotel, we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcellkovacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences about your recent stay at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest.

It is very important for us to understand how effectively we meet our guests' needs in order to make sure that we are able to constantly improve the standards of our services.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our staff and the services provided, the cleanliness of the hotel, the spa area and the conditions of the room.

Please rest assured that we will at all times do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,448)
There are newer reviews for The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

649 - 655 of 1,450 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

All in all a very nice hotel. Large reception area with a bar off to the right hand side. Drinks quite expensive but that tends to be the case in any hotel no matter where you are. Room clean and comfortable. Only gripe with the room was with shower head and hose which spewed water beyond the glass screen wetting the floor. Nice dining area and extensive breakfast catering for all tastes. Staff very attentive. Nice looking spa facilities too but didn't get use them due to our own hectic schedule so unable to comment further.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WHOTSOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences about your recent stay at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest.

It is very important for us to understand how effectively we meet our guests' needs in order to make sure that we are able to constantly improve the standards of our services.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our reception area, the condition of the room, the restaurant area, the friendliness of our staff and the spa facilities.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience regarding the bathroom.

Please rest assured that we will at all times do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Strongly recommend this hotel. Arrived very late at night for an early morning meeting, so it was literally a room for 6 hours and a quick breakfast, but the hotel didn't let me down. Very friendly staff (even for a 1am check-in), spacious room, quiet, clean, and overall very good value for money. Breakfast was OK too...in an East European sort of way. Hotel provided a taxi in the morning for me - also good value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StephHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel and share your experiences.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our rooms, the breakfast, the taxi service and the services provided by our staff.

Please be assured that we will at all times do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests.

In the hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for a 5 day break during the Hungarian F1. On arrival nothing was a problem. Courteous staff and bags taken to room by porter, with an explanation of facilities. We only ate breakfast at hotel, but excellent choice, good standard and staff happy, even omlettes and pancakes cooked to order and your liking. Pools and Spa excellent. Room was good, but A/C just could not keep room cool, it was 42deg outside temp. Overall happy with the hotel, although Drinks are very overpriced at the bar, and the service charge is included on your bill!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mclean184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you for recently staying in The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. Thank you for sharing your positive experiences.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our staff and the services provided, the breakfast, the spa area and the condition of the room.

Please accept our apologly for the inconvenience regarding the poor functioning of the A/C.

All times we do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

A modern well equipped hotel, fantastic spa facilities, friendly staff.

A little to far out of town for many but frequent local transport facilities available plus the hotel has its own shuttle service.

On the downside I found the breakfast a little disappointing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel and share your experiences.

We were pleased to read that you were satisfied with our spa facilities and the friendliness of our staff.

We regret to learn that you were not satisfied with the breakfast. Please accept our apology for the inconvenience that we caused to you.

Please be assured that we will at all times do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests.

In the hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We chose Budapest to spend 3 days recovering from longitude adjustment prior to the start of our real tour. We had stayed in the Aquincum on a previous trip, and liked it a lot, and we liked it again this time. Helpful staff, good email communication. We arranged for an airport pickup, and sure enough there was the driver holding a sign with our name on it as we came out of the baggage claim. We had asked if the hotel had been damaged in the Danube flood, and were told that it had not been damaged - and sure enough, the hotel had not been damaged. Good thing too, because a big draw for us was the basement spa with the four thermal pools - hot, warm, cool and jacuzzi. Clean as a whistle. Good little restaurants within a couple of blocks - we recommend Code 7 especially. The hotel is clean and comfy, with a mountainous breakfast buffet. Easy access to walking on Margaret Island. Good public transit connections. Quiet, away from downtown. We'll be back.

Room Tip: We've stayed here 3 times and always had a nice quiet room. The rooms on the riverfront are a l...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Douglas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for recently staying in The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. We highly appreciate that you shared your positive experiences.

We were happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your loyalty. Thank you that you highligted on the cleanliness of our hotel. We are happy to read your kind comments in regard to our staff and the services provided. Thank you for sharing that your bed met your expectations and it was comfortable. Thank you for your nice comments regarding to the breakfast and spa area.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel was our go to place when we went to Hungary before (we've been here with my husband 5-10 times). However after our last stay we decided that next time we will look for something else.

What is good:
- Pricing (by far the best price for a 5 star hotel in Budapest)
- Reception service
- Cleanliness of the room
- Spa
- Location (easy to access the city, yet not in the city centre)

What we didn't like this last time, and thus decided to try something else:
- Bed - we stayed in the deluxe double room, and our bed was so extremely soft (and so were the pillows), that I could just not sleep at all. I managed to find the frame in the middle of the bed, so I ended up sleeping in the middle, and my husband pushed to the side. I asked the next day if we can change the room. I got the answer that all the rooms have the same type of bed, but what they can do is to put a wood plank under the mattress to make it a bit firmer (now I understand that probably all the time when I came before they had the plank in the bed, as I never had this issue before, and I don't think that the beds were changed). I said, ok, let's do that, however it turned out that all the planks were in rooms and being used, so I had to spend the second night as well in the same way as the first. Not something I want to repeat ever again.
Suggestion to the management: maybe you want to have at least 2 types of mattresses and pillows (soft and firm) to chose from for the guests.
- Bar in the spa: this was lovely before. Before, there was a bar, where you could get fresh juices and fruit shakes, as well as some small sandwiches, etc. Now, since the change of ownership I guess, the bar is still there, but there is noone in it. So if you order at the reception of the spa, they will ask the bar in the lobby to get it done for you, and bring it down. We've waited 20 minutes for 2 fruit shakes... and then we gave up. We told them we don't want it anymore, and went up to our room. 5 minutes later room service brought it to our room. It was kind of nice to get it, however I already said before that I do not want it due to the extremely long time it took them to bring, so I was not happy to take it and pay for it.

Maybe these are small things (although not being able to get a proper sleep in a hotel is a big issue for me), but for us enough not to come back unless we find that we have the same issue in other 5 star hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellus2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel.
We were pleased to read that you were satisfied with our price, reception, cleanliness of the hotel, spa and the location.
We regret to learn that you were not satisfied with the bed mattress and we could not offer the right solution.
Please accept our apology for the inconveniences that we caused to you regarding to the fruit shakes. I would like to kindly inform you that the ownership was not changed and please be assured that we tried to operate the bar in the spa.
It is very important for us to understand how effectively we meet our guests' needs. We are constantly able to improve the standards of our services.
I deeply regret to read that you would not like to came back, but I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Budapest in the future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Margaret Island
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
Danubius Hotel Helia
#72 of 333 in Budapest
2,107 reviews
Margaret Island
Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#16 of 333 in Budapest
7,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aquincum Hotel Budapest

Address: Arpad fejedelem utja 94., Budapest 1036, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#38 Business Hotel in Budapest
#55 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#56 Family Hotel in Budapest
#85 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $80 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Aquincum Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest is located in a prime area alongside the River Danube, on the Buda side of this magnificent city and across the river from the serene Margaret Island, with its famous thermal waters. The hotel is surrounded by medieval streets, wine bars, restaurants and its own green park. With panoramic views of the Buda hills, 310 guestrooms, a lively restaurant and bar, 14 versatile meeting rooms and a 1,660m² spa, the hotel provides a relaxed atmosphere for leisure visitors and a comfortable business environment for corporate guests. All bedrooms are air-conditioned and come with free wired and wireless internet access. Aronia Wellness Centre & Spa offers relaxation in thermal pools, and a menu of unique treatments. The spa provides facilities such as an indoor pool, two thermal pools, saunas and a steam bath. Guests can also get active in the fitness room. For those wishing to dine in the hotel, the Ambrosia restaurant offers Hungarian and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Aquincum Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Budapest Hotel Budapest
Ramada Budapest
Budapest Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing