We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$387
$308
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$160
$133
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$105
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$222
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $214/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$138
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $177/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$164
$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Corinthia Hotel Budapest(Budapest)
$474
$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$157
$135
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$244
$221
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$499
$480
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,603)
Filter reviews
1,603 results
Traveler rating
531
571
314
105
82
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
531
571
314
105
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrenice hotelmargaret islandthermal poolspublic transportthai massagegreat spathe rivershuttle serviceexecutive roomspa facilitiestrain stationsteam roomreception staffbuda sidebuffet breakfastkehli
Filter
Updating list...
715 - 720 of 1,603 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Strongly recommend this hotel. Arrived very late at night for an early morning meeting, so it was literally a room for 6 hours and a quick breakfast, but the hotel didn't let me down. Very friendly staff (even for a 1am check-in), spacious room, quiet, clean, and overall very good value for money. Breakfast was OK too...in an East European sort of way. Hotel provided a taxi in the morning for me - also good value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StephHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel and share your experiences.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our rooms, the breakfast, the taxi service and the services provided by our staff.

Please be assured that we will at all times do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests.

In the hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for a 5 day break during the Hungarian F1. On arrival nothing was a problem. Courteous staff and bags taken to room by porter, with an explanation of facilities. We only ate breakfast at hotel, but excellent choice, good standard and staff happy, even omlettes and pancakes cooked to order and your liking. Pools and Spa excellent. Room was good, but A/C just could not keep room cool, it was 42deg outside temp. Overall happy with the hotel, although Drinks are very overpriced at the bar, and the service charge is included on your bill!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mclean184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you for recently staying in The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. Thank you for sharing your positive experiences.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our staff and the services provided, the breakfast, the spa area and the condition of the room.

Please accept our apologly for the inconvenience regarding the poor functioning of the A/C.

All times we do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

A modern well equipped hotel, fantastic spa facilities, friendly staff.

A little to far out of town for many but frequent local transport facilities available plus the hotel has its own shuttle service.

On the downside I found the breakfast a little disappointing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel and share your experiences.

We were pleased to read that you were satisfied with our spa facilities and the friendliness of our staff.

We regret to learn that you were not satisfied with the breakfast. Please accept our apology for the inconvenience that we caused to you.

Please be assured that we will at all times do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests.

In the hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We chose Budapest to spend 3 days recovering from longitude adjustment prior to the start of our real tour. We had stayed in the Aquincum on a previous trip, and liked it a lot, and we liked it again this time. Helpful staff, good email communication. We arranged for an airport pickup, and sure enough there was the driver holding a sign with our name on it as we came out of the baggage claim. We had asked if the hotel had been damaged in the Danube flood, and were told that it had not been damaged - and sure enough, the hotel had not been damaged. Good thing too, because a big draw for us was the basement spa with the four thermal pools - hot, warm, cool and jacuzzi. Clean as a whistle. Good little restaurants within a couple of blocks - we recommend Code 7 especially. The hotel is clean and comfy, with a mountainous breakfast buffet. Easy access to walking on Margaret Island. Good public transit connections. Quiet, away from downtown. We'll be back.

Room Tip: We've stayed here 3 times and always had a nice quiet room. The rooms on the riverfront are a little more expensive, if that's important to you. They offer spa relaxation/resort packages that we found difficult to understand on the website, but we had no problems using the spa services once we got there.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Douglas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for recently staying in The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. We highly appreciate that you shared your positive experiences.

We were happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your loyalty. Thank you that you highligted on the cleanliness of our hotel. We are happy to read your kind comments in regard to our staff and the services provided. Thank you for sharing that your bed met your expectations and it was comfortable. Thank you for your nice comments regarding to the breakfast and spa area.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel was our go to place when we went to Hungary before (we've been here with my husband 5-10 times). However after our last stay we decided that next time we will look for something else.

What is good:
- Pricing (by far the best price for a 5 star hotel in Budapest)
- Reception service
- Cleanliness of the room
- Spa
- Location (easy to access the city, yet not in the city centre)

What we didn't like this last time, and thus decided to try something else:
- Bed - we stayed in the deluxe double room, and our bed was so extremely soft (and so were the pillows), that I could just not sleep at all. I managed to find the frame in the middle of the bed, so I ended up sleeping in the middle, and my husband pushed to the side. I asked the next day if we can change the room. I got the answer that all the rooms have the same type of bed, but what they can do is to put a wood plank under the mattress to make it a bit firmer (now I understand that probably all the time when I came before they had the plank in the bed, as I never had this issue before, and I don't think that the beds were changed). I said, ok, let's do that, however it turned out that all the planks were in rooms and being used, so I had to spend the second night as well in the same way as the first. Not something I want to repeat ever again.
Suggestion to the management: maybe you want to have at least 2 types of mattresses and pillows (soft and firm) to chose from for the guests.
- Bar in the spa: this was lovely before. Before, there was a bar, where you could get fresh juices and fruit shakes, as well as some small sandwiches, etc. Now, since the change of ownership I guess, the bar is still there, but there is noone in it. So if you order at the reception of the spa, they will ask the bar in the lobby to get it done for you, and bring it down. We've waited 20 minutes for 2 fruit shakes... and then we gave up. We told them we don't want it anymore, and went up to our room. 5 minutes later room service brought it to our room. It was kind of nice to get it, however I already said before that I do not want it due to the extremely long time it took them to bring, so I was not happy to take it and pay for it.

Maybe these are small things (although not being able to get a proper sleep in a hotel is a big issue for me), but for us enough not to come back unless we find that we have the same issue in other 5 star hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellus2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel.
We were pleased to read that you were satisfied with our price, reception, cleanliness of the hotel, spa and the location.
We regret to learn that you were not satisfied with the bed mattress and we could not offer the right solution.
Please accept our apology for the inconveniences that we caused to you regarding to the fruit shakes. I would like to kindly inform you that the ownership was not changed and please be assured that we tried to operate the bar in the spa.
It is very important for us to understand how effectively we meet our guests' needs. We are constantly able to improve the standards of our services.
I deeply regret to read that you would not like to came back, but I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Budapest in the future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews