We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 06/02
Book now, pay at stay
$567
$542
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$192
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$185
$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$105
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Budapest(Budapest)
$190
$177
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
New York Palace(Budapest)
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $176/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 06/02
Book now, pay at stay
$291
$211
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$152
$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$199
$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$364
$310
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,570)
Filter reviews
1,570 results
Traveler rating
524
565
305
96
80
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
524
565
305
96
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrenice hotelmargaret islandthermal poolspublic transportthai massagegreat spathe rivershuttle servicesziget festivaltrain stationspa facilitiesexecutive roomsteam roomreception staffbuda sidebuffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
732 - 737 of 1,570 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I seriously don't know how everybody can say that this hotel is good. The rooms are dirty, the moquette smells like dog pee, there was no soap and after have asked for a couple of time they still didn't refill it. The air conditioning was NOT working and with the sun hitting the rooms all day long it was SO hot inside: so we went to the receptionist to say that and he unpolitely replied that there was no air conditioning in the room, it was just regular air blowing out ( still there was a goldenplate in the room saying please tur off the AC when not in the room) . They were so unfriendly and unpolite.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S_fiaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Madam / Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us a valuable customer's feedback during your recent stay at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. It is very important for us to understand how effectively we meet our guests' needs.

I deeply regret to learn that you were unsatisfied with your stay in our hotel.

It indeed is our goal to fulfill or even exceed expectations of our clients. Therefore I would kindly ask you to advise us directly on our e-mail address (info@aquincumhotel.com), so that we can personally act accordingly to avoid similar incidents in the future. Unfortunately we don’t know your room number and the staying period, so we can not follow-up with the people in charge.

Dear Madam/Sir, please be assured that I do take your comments very seriously. Only through the honest feedback of our guests we are constantly able to improve the standards of our services.

In the hope of hearing from you soon, I remain with my best regards,

Gábor Nemes

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

On a map, it looked like the Aquincum was not too far from many "must see" places in Budapest. It came highly recommended from our travel agent. It turned out that it is not close to much - but, is very convenient to public transit. So, if you don't mind riding a train, then a trolley, bus or subway to get you where you want to go, then its great. My wife and I didn't mind the public transit at all, in fact it helped us get a better feel for the city, so I won't say the location is necessarily a drawback. My one complaint is that there isn't a single non-news english channel on the TV availability. For an hour of so after an extremely full day, would've liked something to watch and veg that wasn't CNN, BBC, CNBC or Bloomberg. On the plus side, room was large for Europe, clean, staff was great. I would stay again if fortunate enough to return to Budapest (lots of other places still to see)

Room Tip: If you want a non-smoking room, ask them to double check it - our non-smoking room had definitely been smoked in, but we were lucky they had more avail rooms. Since the primary clientele is Europeans and Chinese (two huge Chinese tour groups while we were there), its not surprising, as the smoking rate much higher than for Americans
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StP81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences about your recent stay at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest.

It is very important for us to understand how effectively we meet our guests' needs in order to make sure that we are able to constantly improve the standards of our services.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our staff and rooms. I would like to kindly inform you that we are planning to install new TV channels.

Please rest assured that we will at all times do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests.

We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The non smoking room had a faint smell of smoke and the room was very warm even with the cooling on Max.Very large choice for breakfast and the spa was very pleasant.Overall we enjoyed our stay.The staff were very friendly and helpful.We would go back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 501PEDRO48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel and share your experiences.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to the breakfast and spa area. Thank you for your nice comments regarding to our staff.

Please be assured that we will at all times do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests.

In the hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed in the Aquincum Hotel with my girlfriend over the Easter weekend, 2013. Overall, the hotel was good - the room was clean, and quiet, and the spa was great (3 main swimming pools, which were lovely. It wasn't especially busy when we were there, either.)
Its location is a negative, but one which I knew about when booking. But there is a train station 150m away, which takes you near to the centre in about 8 minutes, so it's actually not so bad.

Now, for my little niggles:
- As some other reviewers have alluded to, there is a complete lack of plugs near the bed for charging phones and things. The only ones there are turn off and on with the lights, which is ridiculous. It sounds trivial, but it is actually extremely irritating!
- The air conditioning was poor, and the room was always warm, even with the heating off.
- The restaurant, whilst of decent enough quality, was absolutely empty when we ate there. Again, this sounds trivial, but when you're out of the centre it's sometimes nice to eat in the hotel, but there was absolutely no atmosphere. The waiter was pretty poor as well, having absolutely no knowledge of the wine list.


However, all in all the Aquinqum is a nice spa hotel, and for a very good price if you find the right deal. The breakfast was great, with a fantastic selection.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobs553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel and share your experiences.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our rooms, spa area and the breakfast selection.

We regret to learn that you were not satisfied with heating and with the atmosphere of the restaurant. Please accept our apology. Please be assured that we will at all times do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests.

In the hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed at the Aquincum early April 2013. I had a Superior Room which is their lowest level but was still excellent...a room with a view of the Danube is extra but are you going to stand at your window all day and look at the river?....NO!!, so I wouldn't waste my money paying the extra if I were you. Beds were very comfortable (NOT soft!!), adequate plug sockets and a good flat screen television. Spa looked good but I only had an anti-stress massage which was excellent. All staff were friendly and efficient. Very nice restaurant very close by called the Kehli...has live traditional music and very extensive menu and prices are mid-range.....2 course meal for two with drinks comes to about equivalent of £35.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnMackey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel and share your experiences in Trip Advisor.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our staff and the services provided. We were happy to read that our rooms met your expectations, you liked our spa.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews