We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
Ranked #123 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a lovely hotel”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My friend and a I recently stayed in Aquincum for 3 days while exploring Budapest and there is nothing negative I can say. Our room was large, immaculately clean and attractively furnished. The staff were welcoming, friendly and always available to help and advise us, especially Csilla on the reception desk. Breakfast was delicious with a very wide variety of food and lots of healthy options. We also made use of the spa, which was free of charge and a nice way to relax after a long day of sightseeing. The hotel is not in the city centre but you can get to Buda within 15 minutes on the very regular train, which stops 2 mins from the hotel. From there you can easily explore further on foot or using the metro. A 24 hour ticket only costs 1400ft. We had a wonderful time in Budapest and a lot of it was down to Aquincum.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABBIOSBISTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for recently staying in The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. Thank you for sharing your positive experiences.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our staff and the services provided. We were happy to read that our rooms met your expectations.Thank you for your nice comments regarding to the breakfast and spa .

All times we do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    515
    261
    68
    65
See reviews for
190
610
66
198
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Recently stayed in this hotel for 4 nights from 11th - 15th March. The hotel was outstanding and as shown in the pictures. Hotel staff was extremly polite and very friendly and went out of there way for you. We booked the superior room which was fantastic very clean and spacious. We had full use of the swimming pool, sauna, steam bath jaccuzi which was excellent we spent one morning there. Breakfast was lovely with loads to choose from and i recommend the pancakes with maple syrup outstanding.

I will be going back there between July and September and will definately be staying in this hotel

Room Tip: Definately book the superior room its amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1963Vincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you for recently staying in The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. Thank you for sharing your positive experiences.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our staff and the services provided.

We were happy to read that our room met your expectations. Thank you for your nice comments regarding to the breakfast and spa.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Gábor Nemes

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

After a lot of research on Trip Advisor our biggest concern was the location of the hotel, as a lot of people had commented that it was a long way from the central areas. However, when we got there the train station is less than a five minute walk from the hotel, to jump on the train was cheap and easy and about a 15 minute journey into Buda - slightly longer to get to Pest with an added Metro journey but again this is easy to navigate around.

The room was clean and had a free to use safe inside. We were also blessed with particularly active neighbours, one of whom was noisy with it and was clearly enjoying herself. Oh yeah!

The swimming pool and spa facilities were great and free for residents.

The only downside was being asked to leave 30,000 HUF (about £90) as a deposit in case we used anything from the mini bar etc. Not a huge inconvenience to us but we'd rather have known we had to pay that before we arrived rather than having it sprung upon us as we checked in. The next day we saw someone else getting charged 40,000 HUF for the same thing so it seems that cost may vary, possibly dependant on length of stay?

When you are arranging your travel, we would absolutely recommend getting a 24 hour travel card which allows you to travel on any tram, metro, train or bus and it really means a full 24 hours rather than just the same day! The travel cards cost about 3,100 for the two of us - roughly £9.00 and make getting around really straightforward.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vix8323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences about your recent stay at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest.

It is very important for us to understand how effectively we meet our guests' needs in order to make sure that we are able to constantly improve the standards of our services.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to the room, swimming pool and spa facilities.

I would kindly inform you about the fact that requesting for guarantee - either credit card or cash - upon check-in from guests is an official standard, that used is all Corinthia hotels all over the world and the amount depends on the length of stay.

We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great hotel. Staff were really helpful, considering English wasn't their first language. The room was clean and spacious for 2 of us. We loved using the spa facilities and it was right next to a metro and tram. Especially loved the fact we had this massive snack (4 toasties, salad and chips) all for 3 euros...amazing!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lannah1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel and share your experiences in Trip Advisor.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our staff and the services provided. We were happy to read that our rooms met your expectations and you liked our spa.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Gábor Nemes

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had to stay in Budapest for a night because of the weather. We went to this hotel, because the price was good for us, especially because of it is a 5 star hotel. The receptionist was very kind with us, we could say in which floor we would like to get a room. But our room was not clean. The bed-sheet was dirty (it was not used, but it was not clean), the bathroom was not good cleaned, fingerprints, hair, water drops on the mirror and on the tile around the tap. In the room was a lot of dust, so I couldn't find this room clean. I thought that we get in every 5-star-hotel evening service (from housekeeping), but we didn't get it (for us it was not important, because we only stayed for a night, so I only marked it).
However, the breafast was excellent, a lot of choice, so it was 5-star!
In the morning we got a bad news, that we could't go home because of the weather, so we have to stay in Budapest for one more night, but we left this hotel and we found another one, because of the room. I'm sorry.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveller12347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for recently staying in The Aquincum Hotel Budapest.

We regret to learn that you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of your room. We apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Please accept our apology for the inconveniences that we caused to you.

We highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to the breakfast and our staff.

Please rest assured that we will at all times do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
279 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Previously Ramada hotel, turned back recently to its first name, belonging now to Corinthia chain.
Despite new owners still it has (keeps) the good, and reliable quality, pleasant rooms, good spa. All together a good choice for a reasonable price. hopefully the new owner will keep not only the quality but the prices as well. maybe with the time the new (unexperienced?) staff will also learn some rutine, some better service.

Room Tip: For a business trip it is very good choice to ask for an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kito9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel and share your experiences.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our rooms, spa area.

Please be assured that we will at all times do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests.

In the hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed staying here for a couple of nights. Friendly staff and great ambience . The hotel is at a great location very close to public transport and easy access into city. Highly recommended. Take your swimming trunks/suit to enjoy the spa experience

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Haribo_Delft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel and share your experiences in Trip Advisor.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our staff. We were happy to read that our hotel met your expectations, you liked our spa and location.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Gábor Nemes

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Margaret Island
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
Danubius Hotel Helia
#72 of 333 in Budapest
1,873 reviews
Margaret Island
Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
District I / Buda
St. George Residence
St. George Residence
#90 of 333 in Budapest
463 reviews
Lion's Garden Hotel
#75 of 333 in Budapest
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aquincum Hotel Budapest

Property: The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
Address: Arpad fejedelem utja 94., Budapest 1036, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#38 Business Hotel in Budapest
#55 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#56 Family Hotel in Budapest
#86 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Aquincum Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest hotel overlooks the Danube on the historic Buda side, at the Arpad Bridge, opposite Margaret Island. Providing an exquisite balance between business, leisure and relaxation, the hotel offers comfortable accommodation, versatile conference facilities, and a natural thermal spa. We are located near some of Budapest's most fascinating attractions including the ruins of ancient Aquincum and the hills and forests of Buda. Downtown Budapest and the Danube Bend are also within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Aquincum Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Budapest Hotel Budapest
Ramada Budapest
Budapest Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing