We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
Ranked #129 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a really nice long weekend at this hotel. The staff is very helpful and very kind. Hotel rooms are fully met our expectations. Modern with a very comfortable bed, mini bar, wi-fi, coffee (two different types), satellite television, very neat.
The view from the window is nothing special but we did`t care that much.
Breakfast is phenomenal. Different types of food, and even gluten-free product of course have to satisfy everyone.
The hotel has a spa, so we spent a lot of time there. If you are able to definitely try one of several spa packages. I used the De Luxe Chochol Treatment Body Scrubbing and my boyfriend used relaxing "Manager" back massage and Indonesia Vanilla Bath. We really enjoyed it.
Hotel is not in the city center but the taxi took us about 15 minutes and cost is somewhere around 13 euros. To the town and it is possible to arrive by public transport, but we have not tried.
If you are coming from the airport, take the "door to door" shuttle ... a return ticket for both cost us 36 euros (only one way taxi is somewhere around 28 euros)
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanja1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for recently staying in The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. Thank you for sharing your positive experiences.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our staff and the services provided. We were happy to read that our rooms met your expectations, you liked our beds and room facilities. Thank you for your nice comments regarding to the breakfast and spa massages.

All times we do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

719 - 725 of 1,487 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

Nice Hotel and very close to the city center. The rooms are large and the beds are very comfortabel. We have eaten a few times in the restaurant and the food and service is very good. The Spa area is really nice but I have been a bit disappointed because I did book a massage for my boyfriend and myself and it was even confirmed via Email but when we arrived they said its not possible and I had to do a Thai Massage which was not fantastic and we were not together. Its one of the first Hotels I have been were we got free Wifi and it worked very well.
I woudl recomand this Hotel for a stay in Budapest.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cri3553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comment and thank you for your recent stay at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest.

Thank you that you expressed your dissatisfaction about the services in the spa - you received while staying with us. Certainly these services do not reflect the standards of a five star hotel and I fully understand your disappointment about it.

Please do accept my apologies and rest assured that I will follow-up with the people in charge. Please be assured that we continuously improve our service & product standards and anticipate the needs of our clients.

Thank you for your nice comments regarding to our room, bed, food and service in the restaurant and spa area.

It would be our pleasure if you were to give us a second chance, when your travel plans bring you back to Budapest. In the hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future,

we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at the Aqincum 4 nights for the New Year .Here are the aspects which made me be dead against rating this hotel with 5 * : The first impression was definitely not up to our expectations - we had to carry our luggage and find the room ourselves, while a guy who looked like a porter chose to stand and watch us graciously....The pools area was somehow unkept, always with little poodles-ok, it's a spa, but they could mop the floors more often. The so-called shuttle to the city centre is actually an old car which seats 4 beside the driver, it's rather old and scruffy. The location is quite far from the city centre, one has to use two different means of transport to reach the centre and taxis are about 4-5 thousand Huf. One couple from our party complained of a very cold room, so they called reception at 6 a.m. to have it fixed. One day we had to request a maid to do our room, as they had only spread out the cover on the bed- no change of towels, no vacuuming....rather disappointing ! The hotel used to be a Ramada, which still shows on the bathrobes embroidered as such....
Now the good sides, but not exceptionally good - only what one would expect from a hotel 4 * and above : the breakfast choice was really good, with produce to cater for all tastes, from vegans to heavy meat eaters. The reception staff are friendly, helpful, eager to please and offer information. The New Year reception was ok, with a buffet replenished constantly and decent decorations.

Room Tip: Always ask for rooms with a view to the danube banks, such as 228 and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Adamoroianu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Madam.

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments in Trip Advisor and provide us with valuable customer's feedback during your recent stay at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. It is very important for us to understand how effectively we meet our guests' needs.

We highly appreciated that you gave us all the information and expressed your dissatisfaction about the poor services –no service for carry your luggage and show your room, in addition the cleaning service - you received while staying with us. Certainly this service does not reflect the standards of a five star hotel and I fully understand your disappointment about it.

Please do accept my apologies and rest assured that I will follow-up with the people in charge. It indeed is our goal to fulfill or even exceed expectations of our clients. Only through comments like yours, we are able to continuously improve our service & product standards and anticipate the needs of our clients.

Thank you for your nice comments regarding to our reception, breakfast and New Year's Eve dinner.

It would be our pleasure if you were to give us a second chance, when your travel plans bring you back to Budapest. In the hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future,

we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed here recently for two nights as part of an organised tour. The rooms are comfortable, clean and spacious. I actually found the room very hot and had to open a window during the night.The hotel staff is friendly and service is good. The breakfast was very good with a huge variety. The hotel offers a spa and wellness centre. Unfortunately I did not have the chance to use the spa. They have a business centre with free internet access. A hotel I can recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saartjie189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for staying in The Aquincum Hotel Budapest and that you will recommend our hotel.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay and thank you that you mentioned our room, breakfast and wellnes area. Thakn you that you highligted on the cleanliness of the room. We highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our staff and the services provided.

We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest.

Sincerely,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I found the Aquincum hotel very comfortable, clean and full of services all for a incredibly low price (27 Euros per night, booking via otel.com website). I stayed there in November and i enjoied hot swimming pools, sauna and jacuzzi so much. DEfinetively a hotel i would suggest.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Filippo_Bottegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to shared your positive comments in Trip Advisor.

We were happy to read that you were satisfied with the cleanliness of our hotel. We highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our staff and the services provided. In addition, thank you that you mentioned our wellness area.

We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest.

Best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Very good hotel close to the city centre of Budapest. The rooms are big and clean. The bed is the best bed I ever slept in hotel..very,very comfy :). The spa is fantastic also. It has 3 pools and big jacuzzi,saunas,etc. The staff were very friendly and informative and everybody was always smiling. The location is good,you can use tram,bus or a train to get t the city centre and its probably about 15 minutes.We didn't have breakfast in our package so I cant comment on this :)
Overall very good hotel in good location for sightseeing in Budapest.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barabbas_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you that you shared your positive experiences.

We highly appreciate that you highlighted on the size and cleanliness of our room and thank you for your nice comment in regard to our bed. We were please to read that you were satisfied with our spa, our staff and the services provided. Your words inspire our employees and the Management as well.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I and my boyfriend spent severel weekends in this hotel. We were very satisfied with the all hotel. Staff were very nice, meals were very delecious, rooms were clean and we used car parking. So I suggest it who want to visit Budapest. The city is very beautiful especially during Advent, before Xmas or if you want to go out on 31 of December Evening.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments in Trip Advisor.

It is very important for us to understand how effectively we meet our guests' needs in order to make sure that we are able to constantly improve our services.

We were pleased to read that you were satisfied with the room cleanliness and the meals at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our staff and the services provided. Thank you that you mentioned our parking area.

In the hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Danubius Hotel Helia
#70 of 334 in Budapest
2,286 reviews
Margaret Island
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
Margaret Island
Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#40 of 334 in Budapest
4,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aquincum Hotel Budapest

Address: Arpad fejedelem utja 94., Budapest 1036, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#38 Business Hotel in Budapest
#55 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#56 Family Hotel in Budapest
#87 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $64 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Aquincum Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest is located in a prime area alongside the River Danube, on the Buda side of this magnificent city and across the river from the serene Margaret Island, with its famous thermal waters. The hotel is surrounded by medieval streets, wine bars, restaurants and its own green park. With panoramic views of the Buda hills, 310 guestrooms, a lively restaurant and bar, 14 versatile meeting rooms and a 1,660m² spa, the hotel provides a relaxed atmosphere for leisure visitors and a comfortable business environment for corporate guests. All bedrooms are air-conditioned and come with free wired and wireless internet access. Aronia Wellness Centre & Spa offers relaxation in thermal pools, and a menu of unique treatments. The spa provides facilities such as an indoor pool, two thermal pools, saunas and a steam bath. Guests can also get active in the fitness room. For those wishing to dine in the hotel, the Ambrosia restaurant offers Hungarian and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Aquincum Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Budapest Hotel Budapest
Ramada Budapest
Budapest Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing